|
|
||
| › Library Catalogs
› Databases: Find Articles
› Online Journals
› Research Guides by Subject
› IM Reference Service › Print Accounts › Reference Blog: How to use the Yale Library effectively |
|||
| Anthropology Databases | |||
ABELL: Records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. The subject areas covered include: English language, English literature, bibliography, and traditional culture of the English-speaking world. Africabib.org: Combination of databases providing access to periodical and other material on Africa. The two major databases are Africana Periodical Literature, a bibliography of over 36,000 citations from 300 periodicals, and the African Women's Database. African Studies: Combination of databases providing access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa. Included are the catalogs of the African Studies Center (Leiden), the Africa Institute (Pretoria), the School of Oriental and African Studies, the Africana Collection of the University of Natal, and the International Library of African Music at Rhodes University. AgeLine: A searchable database of citations with original abstracts to the interdisciplinary literature of social gerontology. Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Index Archive: Covers 1969 - present. Citations are drawn from roughly 250 alternative, radical, and left publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Alt-Press Watch: Provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media and serves a broad spectrum of subject areas. American Drama: Plays by American dramatists that chronicle the history and culture of America through its dramatic writing. Anthropological Index Online (Royal Anthropological Institute): Anthropological Index to Current Periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library (incorporating the former RAI library). Anthropological Literature: A bibliographic index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. ASTIS (Arctic Science and Technology Information System): Contains over 47,000 records describing publications and research projects about the physical, earth, biological and social sciences, engineering and technology, natural resources, government, economic and social conditions, land management, native peoples, archeology, history, travel, art and literature of northern Canada. Biosis/Biological Abstracts: Contains literature references from all of the life sciences including: agriculture, cell biology, nutrition, public health, botany, biochemistry, biophysics, genetics, zoology, psychology. This is the premier database for coverage of botany research. Black Studies Database: Includes more than 170,000 citations drawn from significant and influential journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, pamphlets and reports relevant to the Black experience from 1948-1986. Communication & Mass Media Complete: Combines bibliographic and keyword references to journals in communication studies with citation coverage of articles related to mass media and published in research journals, journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment: This database, assembled from hundreds of primary sources, documents the relationships among peoples and with the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850. Early English Books Online (EEBO): Based on the Bell & Howell microfilm collections Early English Books 1475-1640 and Early English Books 1641-1700. eHRAF Collection of Ethnography: Contains more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Eighteenth Century Collections Online: Digital images of English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. When complete, the product will allow full-text searching of more than 33 million pages of material, in essence, every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, and science. Encyclopaedia Iranica: The only precise and reliable reference work on the lands, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies. Ethnic Newswatch: A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Ethnologue: Languages of the World (12th ed. 1992): A catalogue of the world's languages including information on alternate names, number of speakers, location, dialects, linguistic affiliation, and other sociolinguistic and demographic information. Evans Digital Edition: Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36,000 works issued in America from 1639 to 1800 Francis: A multilingual, multidisciplinary information source in the humanities, social sciences, and economics. FRANCIS is strong in religion, history, and current trends in European and world literature. Updated monthly. GenderWatch: A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, and gender and women's studies. Handbook of Latin American Studies: An annotated bibliography of works on Latin America covering various fields in both the humanities and social sciences. History of Science, Technology and Medicine: Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science and technology and allied historical fields. Humanities Abstracts Full Text: A bibliographic database that covers the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, folklore, general scholarship, history, journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion and theology. Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals: Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: Indexes the information contained in over 2,600 social sciences journals and 6,000 books each year. Coverage includes both core and specialized material from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. International Index to Black Periodicals: Indexes articles in 150 international scholarly and popular Black studies periodicals in numerous humanities-related disciplines. The full text of some recent articles is included. International Medieval Bibliography: An online bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500) providing the entire run of the print copy of the IMB from 1968-2000, with articles in journals and miscellany volumes worldwide. JSTOR (Journal Storage Project): Consists of full text PDF images of articles in over one hundred journal titles in the areas of anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. These journals are fully searchable. Oral History Online: Provides in-depth indexing to more than 1,800 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. The collection also provides keyword searching of more than 75,000 pages of full-text by some 2,500 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to some 500 audio and video files and nearly 7,900 bibliographic records. Oxford Dictionary of National Biography: Source for biographical information on persons connected with the British Isles from all periods of history. Oxford Reference Online: The Core Collection brings together over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. It contains over 2 million dictionary definitions, facts, figures, people, places, dates, and quotations. It is also possible to search each title in the collection individually. POPLINE: Provides citations with abstracts of the worldwide literature in the fields of family planning, population law and policy, and primary health care, including maternal/child health in developing countries. Population Index: Presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. The site provides a searchable and browsable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000. PrimateLit: Provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to present and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas. Social Science Full Text: A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from more than 415 English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere plus the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals. Sociological Abstracts: Features journal citations and abstracts; book, chapter, and association paper abstracts; and book, film, and software review citations. Entries cover sociological aspects of twenty-nine broad topics. St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture: A cross-curriculum resource which includes major topics such as television, movies, theater, art, books, magazines, radio, music, sports, fashion, health, politics, trends, community life and advertising. Web of Science. ISI Citation Databases collectively index more than 8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover, providing users with complete bibliographic data, full-length author abstracts, and cited references. This source includes the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Women's Resources International: Collection of ten electronic files with over 200,000 records pertaining to women's studies. Zoological Record: Articles from 6500 journals, books, conference proceedings (international).
National Archaeological Database Social Science Databases: Social Science Library listing of more general databases and specialized databases in all social science subjects
|
|||
![]() |
|||
| © 2007 Yale University Library | |||
|
Last update:
12/13/07
|
|||
| Send comments to Gwyneth Crowley | |||