|
Guides to Anthropological Literature
Search Orbis by Subject Heading:
Brown, Samuel
R. Finding the Source in Sociology and Anthropology: A Thesaurus-index
to the Reference Collection. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987.
Arranged by subject and serves as a general guide to a multitude of
sources.
Z7164 S68 B75 1987 (LC) ANTHRO, SML SUBJ BIB & SSL REF
Kibbee, Josephine Z. Cultural Anthropology:
A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. Littleton, CO: Libraries
Unlimited, 1991.
Best guide to general reference material in
anthropology. Coverage is given to all fields of anthropology and to
area studies. Includes 688 fully annotated entries. Also lists major
anthropological journals, organizations and institutions, libraries,
archives, and publishers. The index includes authors, titles, and subject.
Z5111 K53X 1991 (LC) ANTHRO REF & SML SUBJ BIB
Ogburn, Joyce L. "Anthropology," in The Social Sciences: A Cross-Disciplinary Guide to Selected
Sources, 3rd ed.. Edited by Nancy L. Herron. Littleton, CO: Libraries
Unlimited, 2002.
Provides an introduction to anthropology
and library research problems. Core reference sources are listed with
annotations. Other chapters provide good access to the basic literature
of the social sciences.
Z7161 S64 2002 (LC) SML SUBJ BIB & SSL REF
Webb, William H. et al. Sources of Information
in the Social Sciences. 3rd. ed. Chicago: American Library Association,
1986.
Classic work on the social sciences
with an extensive list of anthropological monographs and reference works.
Z7161 S666 1986 (LC) SML SUBJ BIB, Bass & SSL REF
Weeks, John M. Introduction to Library
Research in Anthropology. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1991.
Although extensive in coverage of numerous
relevant international resources, most entries are unannotated. Includes
general information on the use of libraries in conducting research in
anthropology. Organized by type of resource. Appendices comprise Library
of Congress classifications, major anthropological collections in the
U.S. and Canada, the arrangement of the HRAF Outline of Cultural Materials,
and the HRAF Outline of World Cultures. Indexed by authors, ethnic groups,
and geographic areas.
Z5AAA W44X 1991 (LC) ANTHRO & SML
Westerman, Robert C. Fieldwork in the
Library: A Guide to Research in Anthropology and Related Area Studies.
Chicago: American Library Association, 1994.
Exhaustive guide to useful literature, but
flawed and difficult to use. Approach is topical. Includes author and
title indices.
Z5111 W47X 1994 (LC) ANTHRO REF & SML SUBJ BIB
Williams, John T. Anthropology Journals
and Serials: An Analytical Guide. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.
Describes an enormous range of serials and
includes annotations. Dated. Divided by archaeology, cultural anthropology,
linguistics, and physical anthropology. Includes a section on indices
and abstracts, and three indices for title, subject, and geographic
area.
Z5112 W54 1986 (LC) ANTHRO & SML SUBJ BIB
Woodhead, Peter. Keyguide to Information
Sources in Archaeology. London. New York: Mansell Pub, 1985.
Covers the world of information on
archaeology, including the literature, reference materials, and non-traditional
sources of information. Also gives the general historical development
of archaeology, and provides a section on organizations arranged by
country. Indexed.
CC120 W66 1985 (LC) SML SUBJ BIB
back
to top Guides
and Handbooks
Search Orbis by Subject Heading
AAA Guide. Washington, DC: American
Anthropological Association, 1989/90-.
Supersedes the Guide to Departments of Anthropology.
Continues the coverage of the previous guide and also includes the AAA
membership directory and membership by unit of AAA. Most useful for
ready reference for finding names, addresses, and statistics; but does
not provide a description of AAA and its units.
GN34.7 G85 (LC) ANTHRO REF & SML
Archaeology
Handbook. London: Current Archaeology Magazine, 2001-.
SML (LC) DA90 D56.
See also The Directory of British Archaeology, 1997 -. SML (LC)
DA90 D56+.
Cantrell, Karen. Funding for Anthropological Research. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1986.
Funding programs are listed alphabetically.
Discusses the profiles of the program and lists relevant information
for applying. Indexed by subject and sponsor (by type). Includes bibliography
and a list of useful online databases.
GN42 +C36 1986 (LC) ANTHRO REF & SML REF
Folsom, Franklin. America's Ancient
Treasures: A Guide to Archaeological Sites and Museums in the United
States and Canada. 3rd ed. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico
Press, 1983.
Arranged geographically, divided by
state. Format is confusing for it intersperses topical articles with
the main articles. Like a travel guide with basic descriptive information.
Includes a glossary, references, and an index.
E56 F65 1983 (LC) ART
Frantz, Charles. The Student Anthropologist's
Handbook: A Guide to Research, Training, and Career. Cambridge,
MA: Schenkman Pub. Co., 1972.
A basic guide to becoming an anthropologist.
Now very dated, but attempts to cover a world of research. Includes
information on library research, museums, and university anthropology
departments, but lacks an index.
GN42 F7 (LC) ANTHRO & Bass
Guide to Departments of Anthropology.
Washington, DC: American Anthropological Association, 1969/70 - 1988/89.
Contains information on academic, museum,
research, and government departments of anthropology in the United States
and Canada. Provides statistics on enrollments, employment, and degrees
granted. Included is a list of dissertations by author from 1954 on.
Indexes of people and departments. Superseded by the AAA guide.
GN34.7 G85 (LC) ANTHRO & SML
McMillon, Bill. The Archaeology Handbook:
A Field Manual and Resource Guide. New York: John Wiley & Sons,
1991.
Similar to The Student Anthropologist's
Handbook. Intended to be a guide for students, but it also serves a
good ready reference source since it lists addresses for museums, field
schools, state archaeology offices, and archaeological organizations.
M ostly devoted to the nature of archaeology and excavations. Includes
suggested readings and an index.
CC76 M38 1991 (LC) ANTHRO & SML
back
to top Bibliographies
Erickson, Paul
A. History of Anthropology Bibliography. Halifax, Nova Scotia:
Department of Anthropology, St. Mary's University, revised ed., 1991.
Compilation of titles published in this subject
and in related areas. The main body is organized alphabetically. The
revised edition incorporates all of the titles of the first edition
and the supplements; it also includes newer publications. Indexed by
authors, subjects, geographic areas, and individuals.
GN17 Z99 +E74 1991 (LC) SML
Heider, Karl G. Films for Anthropological
Teaching. 8th ed. Washington, DC: American Anthropological Association,
1995.
Lists many useful films for the classroom
by title and indexed by geographical area, subject, distributor, and
persons involved.
PN1998 A1 H45 1995 (LC) ANTHRO
Kemper, Robert V. and John F. S. Phinney. The History of Anthropology: A Research Bibliography. New York:
Garland, 1977.
Useful for beginning researchers in the history
of anthropology. Dated. Newer bibliographies contain more sources, but
none is arranged topically. See also Erickson's History of Anthropology
Bibliography.
Z5111 K44 (LC) ANTHRO REF & SML SUBJ BIB
Library-Anthropology Resource Group, comp. Anthropological Bibliographies: A Selected Guide. Edited by Margo
L. Smith and Yvonne M. Damien. South Salem, NY: Redgrave Publishing
Co., 1981.
A guide to more than 3,200 bibliographies,
filmographies, and discographies relevant to anthropology. Arranged
by geographical area, with a topical section following. An extensive
index is included. A new edition is in progress.
Z5111 +A58 (LC) ANTHRO REF & SML SUBJ BIB
Library-Anthropology Resource Group, comp. Serial Publications in Anthropology. Edited by F.X. Grollig and
Sol Tax. 1st ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1973. 2d ed.
South Salem, NY: Redgrave Pub. Co., 1982.
Details publishing information on serial titles.
Includes an index. Primarily useful because it groups anthropological
serials in one source. Dated. Anthropology Journals and Serials, also
dated, is more current and contains annotations.
Z5112 L53 1982 (LC) ANTHRO REF & SML SUBJ BIB
McDonald, David R. Masters' Theses in
Anthropology: A Bibliography of Theses from United States Colleges and
Universities. New Haven: HRAF Press, 1977.
Only listing specifically of masters theses
in anthropology. Contains over 3,700 titles, from 1898 through 1975,
arranged by the major subdivisions of anthropology. Indexed by subject,
culture, geographical area, author, title, and institution.
Z5111 M23 (LC) SML REF
[back to top]
 |