|
Architecture
| Art & Art History
| Classics | Drama
& Theater Arts | General
Humanities |Multiple
Database Searching in Arts Disciplines |Now
that you've found a citation, where is the article?|
Individual
Architecture-Related Databases
| Art
Full Text |
Citations
to articles from American and foreign periodicals and museum bulletins
dealing with the arts and related disciplines such as archaeology,
architecture, art history, city planning, fine arts, industrial
design, interior design, landscape architecture, photography, films
and museums.Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also
included. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions
of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. For complete
list of indexed journals, click here.
Coverage: 1984 - Present; select full-text coverage: 1997 - Present;
abstracting coverage: 1994 - Present.
|
| Art
Index Retrospective |
Cumulates
citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published
between 1929-1984. Features citations to articles from American and
foreign periodicals and museum bulletins dealing with the arts and
related disciplines such as archaeology, architecture, art history,
city planning, fine arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape
architecture, photography, films and museums. Coverage: 1929 - 1984.
|
| Arts
& Humanities Citation Index |
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary
index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals,
and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800
major science and social science journals. For journal directory,
click here.
Coverage: 1975 - Present. |
| Avery
Index to Architectural Periodical Literature |
Indexes
articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology,
city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes
not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature,
but also the publications of professional associations, US state and
regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture
and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded
coverage includes obituary citations providing an excellent source
of biographical data often the only information available for
less-published architects. Coverage: 1930s (with selective coverage
dating back to the 1860s) to the present. For a list of journals indexed,
click here. |
| Bibliography
of the History of Art |
Citations
and abstracts of art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations,
exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500
periodicals covering current writing on Western fine arts (architecture,
sculpture, painting, drawing, and prints), decorative and applied
arts, industrial design and architecture, popular and folk art, and
material culture of interest to art historians. Photography, new media
and the performing arts are also covered in connection with the visual
arts. Click here
for journal list. Coverage: 1973 - Present. |
| Building Green Suite |
The BuildingGreen Suite of online tools provides information on green design. This online resource features comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building--from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land-use planning and indoor air quality. BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News, and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies. This wealth of information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED™ credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources. |
| Design
& Applied Arts Index |
Covers
annotated references to articles in design and craft journals. It
focuses primarily on research articles but also includes references
to some feature articles, brief articles and news items, conference
and seminar reports, book and video reviews, obituaries and illustrations.
DAAI provides four supplementary files: 1) Education Directory, an
international listing of colleges and universities offering courses
in design and craft subjects; 2) Organisation Directory, profiling
design and craft associations, societies and research centers; 3)
Archives Directory, a listing of design- and craft-oriented archives
and special library collections; and 4) Periodicals Directory, a listing
of the publications indexed in DAAI including contact information,
publication history and brief description of contents. Coverage: 1973
- Present. |
|
This retrospective of Design and Applied Arts Index, provides broad, international coverage on a wide range of subjects in the fields of design. This database includes a particular emphasis on European publications. In addition, access to Design ProFILES™ (DP) is included in the subscription; this is the largest collection of profiles of designers and design organizations of its kind. DAR provides coverage of more than 100 design and design-related journals most of which have ceased publication, but which are distinctly important to the development of design concepts in the early 20th century. DAR contains more than 24,000 abstracts and is updated quarterly, with 15,000 records added per year.
|
| Grove
Art Online |
Over
41,000 articles of varying length on topics from all areas of art,
art history and architecture, including including painting, sculpture,
architecture, performance art, photography and decorative arts. Includes
over 15,000 web links to color images, and over 500,000 citations
to bibliographic works. Types of articles include: artist biographies;
surveys of art in various countries, cities and towns; archeological
sites; artisitic styles, schools and movements; art patronage; and
materials and techniques. Articles are signed and have been authored
by experts in the field from around the world. The online Dictionary
is updated frequently. Corresponds to and updates the 34-volume Dictionary
of Art published in 1996. |
| Index
Islamicus |
Indexes
literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Records
included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with
some going back to 1906. The print edition extends coverage back to
1605. Material cited in Index Islamicus includes not only work written
about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas
of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world.
Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together
with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, and
book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and
chapter level. Click here
for journal list. |
| Index
to 19th Century American Art Periodicals |
The
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals indexes 42 art journals
published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete
coverage of journals from this period. The Index describes the entire
journal contents articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems,
and advertisements and offers information on popular culture and industry,
artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography,
architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting.
The file includes 27,000 records. Click here
for journal list. |
| MAD CAD |
MAD CAD contains building codes, knowledge-based design solutions and, guidelines to meet the codes. MAD CAD provides access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA. MAD CAD includes comprehensive state and local codes. |
| Material Connexion |
Material ConneXion's materials database includes over 1,400 materials and processes. The online materials database allows you to discover the latest and most exciting materials originating from a large spectrum of industries—typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. All the materials are juried into the database by a panel of material specialists and knowledgeable professionals |
| RIBA Online Catalogue |
The RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue includes an index to over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals held in the RIBA Library, a catalogue of the books and audio visual materials acquired by the RIBA Library, including details of books available for loan to RIBA members,
a catalogue of the RIBA Library Photographs Collection, including listings of slides available for hire, a catalogue of drawings and other materials acquired by the RIBA Library Drawings Collection since 1986, with brief entries for all earlier acquisitions,
a catalogue of the RIBA Library Manuscripts Collection, and a biographical database of architects.
Coverage is from 1494 through the present. |
-back to top-
Individual
Art & Art History Related Databases
|
ARTbibliographies Modern on the Web |
Covers
modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation
works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti,
artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, and more,
as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture,
and drawing. Scope extends from artists and movements beginning with
Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works
and trends. Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles,
books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition
reviews. Click here
for list of indexed journals. Coverage: 1974 - Present. |
| Art
Full Text |
Citations
to articles from American and foreign periodicals and museum bulletins
dealing with the arts and related disciplines such as archaeology,
architecture, art history, city planning, fine arts, industrial
design, interior design, landscape architecture, photography, films
and museums.Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also
included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions
of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. For complete
list of indexed journals, click here.
Coverage: 1984 - Present.
|
| Art
Index Retrospective |
Cumulates
citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published
between 1929-1984. Features citations to articles from American and
foreign periodicals and museum bulletins dealing with the arts and
related disciplines such as archaeology, architecture, art history,
city planning, fine arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape
architecture, photography, films and museums. Coverage: 1929 - 1984.
|
| Arts
& Humanities Citation Index |
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary
index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals,
and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800
major science and social science journals. For journal directory,
click here.
Coverage: 1975 - Present. |
| artlibraries.net – Virtual Catalogue for Art History |
Formerly the VKK, this free search tool a European specialized meta catalogue allowing the integrated retrieval of bibliographic records and, should the occasion arise, other objects of distinctive art historical databases. Currently, artlibraries.net gives access to more than 6 million records (as of November 2007), including a high percentage of records for articles in periodicals, conference papers, festschriften, exhibition catalogues and exhibition books, etc. |
| Bibliography
of the History of Art |
Citations
and abstracts of art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations,
exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500
periodicals covering current writing on Western fine arts (architecture,
sculpture, painting, drawing, and prints), decorative and applied
arts, industrial design and architecture, popular and folk art, and
material culture of interest to art historians. Photography, new media
and the performing arts are also covered in connection with the visual
arts. Click here
for journal list. Coverage: 1973 - Present. |
| Conservation
Information Network (BCIN) |
The
Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network (BCIN)
provides access to over 190,000 bibliographic citations for conservation
literature. BCIN includes citations from the Art and Archaeology Technical
Abstracts (prior to 1998), technical reports, conference proceedings,
journal articles, books and audiovisual and unpublished materials.
The database also includes previously unavailable material from private
sources, as well as new information gathered by a worldwide network
of contributors. Coverage: 1987 - Present. |
| Design
& Applied Arts Index |
Covers
annotated references to articles in design and craft journals. It
focuses primarily on research articles but also includes references
to some feature articles, brief articles and news items, conference
and seminar reports, book and video reviews, obituaries and illustrations.
DAAI provides four supplementary files: 1) Education Directory, an
international listing of colleges and universities offering courses
in design and craft subjects; 2) Organisation Directory, profiling
design and craft associations, societies and research centers; 3)
Archives Directory, a listing of design- and craft-oriented archives
and special library collections; and 4) Periodicals Directory, a listing
of the publications indexed in DAAI including contact information,
publication history and brief description of contents. For list of
journals indexed, click here.
Coverage: 1973 - Present. |
|
This retrospective of Design and Applied Arts Index, provides broad, international coverage on a wide range of subjects in the fields of design. This database includes a particular emphasis on European publications. In addition, access to Design ProFILES™ (DP) is included in the subscription; this is the largest collection of profiles of designers and design organizations of its kind. DAR provides coverage of more than 100 design and design-related journals most of which have ceased publication, but which are distinctly important to the development of design concepts in the early 20th century. DAR contains more than 24,000 abstracts and is updated quarterly, with 15,000 records added per year. |
| DYABOLA |
Dyabola
contains electronic subject catalogs of publications on the history
of art and the ancient world. Our subscription includes the subject
catalogue of European pre- and early history and the archeology of
the Roman provinces in the RGK (Roman-Germanic Commission) in Frankfurt,
and the Realkatalog of the DAI (German Archaeological Institute) in
Rome. |
| FRANCIS |
FRANCIS
covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information
in the humanities (67%), social sciences (30%), and economics (3%).
FRANCIS is strong in religion, the history of art, psychology, and
literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European
and world literature. FRANCIS represents a wide range of materials,
including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference
papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching
materials, and reports. Click here
for journal list. Coverage: 1984 to present. |
| Grove
Art Online |
Over
41,000 articles of varying length on topics from all areas of art,
art history and architecture, including including painting, sculpture,
architecture, performance art, photography and decorative arts. Includes
over 15,000 web links to color images, and over 500,000 citations
to bibliographic works. Types of articles include: artist biographies;
surveys of art in various countries, cities and towns; archeological
sites; artisitic styles, schools and movements; art patronage; and
materials and techniques. Articles are signed and have been authored
by experts in the field from around the world. The online Dictionary
is updated frequently. Corresponds to and updates the 34-volume Dictionary
of Art published in 1996. |
| Humanities
Full Text |
Humanities
Abstracts is a bibliographic database that cites articles from more
than 350 English-language periodicals, plus the full text of over
95 of those periodicals. It covers the fields of archaeology and classical
studies, art and photography, folklore, general scholarship, history,
journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and
political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion
and theology. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known
scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized
magazines. Coverage: 1984 - Present. |
| Index
Islamicus |
Indexes
literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Records
included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with
some going back to 1906. The print edition extends coverage back to
1605. Material cited in Index Islamicus includes not only work written
about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas
of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world.
Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together
with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, and
book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and
chapter level. Click here
for journal list. |
| Index
to 19th Century American Art Periodicals |
The
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals indexes 42 art journals
published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete
coverage of journals from this period. The Index describes the entire
journal contents articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems,
and advertisements and offers information on popular culture and industry,
artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography,
architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting.
The file includes 27,000 records. Click here
for journal list. |
| SCIPIO |
SCIPIO:
Art and Rare Book Sale Catalogs is the only online union catalog of
auction catalog records in existence. This database provides bibliographic
access to auction sales catalogs from all major North American and
European auction houses as well as important private salesvaluable
sources of information on the provenance of art objects and rare books,
the history of collecting, and contemporary and historical market
trends. |
-back
to top-
Classics
| L'Année
philologique |
Thirty-three
years (1969-2001) of the Année philologique (volumes 40 to
71) have now been put on-line. Each spring a new volume will be added
to the database with the next update planned for the spring of 2004
when bibliography from 2002 will be added. Features 375,000 bibliographic
records for the years 1969 to 2001, with 12,500 new records added
each year.Over 1,500 journals are indexed and information for articles
is accompanied by a brief abstract. Covers all aspects of classical
studies. |
| Art
Full Text |
Citations
to articles from American and foreign periodicals and museum bulletins
dealing with the arts and related disciplines such as archaeology,
architecture, art history, city planning, fine arts, industrial
design, interior design, landscape architecture, photography, films
and museums.Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also
included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions
of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. For complete
list of indexed journals, click here.
Coverage: 1984 - Present.
|
| Art
Index Retrospective |
Cumulates
citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published
between 1929-1984. Features citations to articles from American and
foreign periodicals and museum bulletins dealing with the arts and
related disciplines such as archaeology, architecture, art history,
city planning, fine arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape
architecture, photography, films and museums. Coverage: 1929 - 1984.
|
| Arts
& Humanities Citation Index |
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary
index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals,
and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800
major science and social science journals. For journal directory,
click here.
Coverage: 1975 - Present. |
| Biblical
Archaeology Society Online Archive |
BAS
Online Archive contains the editorial content of each issue of the
bimonthly magazine Biblical Archaeology Review, as well as five books
published by the Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS): Ancient Israel:
From Abraham to the Roman Destruction of the Temple; Aspects of Monotheism:
How God Is One; Feminist Approaches to the Bible; The Rise of Ancient
Israel; and The Search for Jesus: Modern Scholarship Looks at the
Gospels. The site allows users to browse the entire corpus of material
and perform boolean searches by title, author, subject, any word,
issue, date range, or a combination of these categories. |
| Bibliography
of the History of Art |
Citations
and abstracts of art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations,
exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500
periodicals covering current writing on Western fine arts (architecture,
sculpture, painting, drawing, and prints), decorative and applied
arts, industrial design and architecture, popular and folk art, and
material culture of interest to art historians. Photography, new media
and the performing arts are also covered in connection with the visual
arts. Click here
for journal list. Coverage: 1973 - Present. |
| DYABOLA |
Dyabola
contains electronic subject catalogs of publications on the history
of art and the ancient world. Our subscription includes the subject
catalogue of European pre- and early history and the archeology of
the Roman provinces in the RGK (Roman-Germanic Commission) in Frankfurt,
and the Realkatalog of the DAI (German Archaeological Institute) in
Rome. |
| Humanities
Full Text |
Humanities
Abstracts is a bibliographic database that cites articles from more
than 350 English-language periodicals, plus the full text of over
95 of those periodicals. It covers the fields of archaeology and classical
studies, art and photography, folklore, general scholarship, history,
journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and
political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion
and theology. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known
scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized
magazines. Coverage: 1984 - Present. |
| Oxford
Classical Dictionary |
Covering literature, art, philosophy, law, biography, mythology, science,
geography, daily life, and broad cultural and historical trends, the
OCD presents clear, authoritative information on all aspects of the
ancient world. In over six thousand entries ranging from long articles
to brief definitions, the OCD continues its historical tradition of
authoritative, signed articles with bibliographies and incorporates
the insights and interests of a new generation of classical scholars.
There is substantial coverage of women in the ancient world, sexuality,
Asia and the Far East, Jews, and early Christians. In addition new
thematic articles reflect the current emphasis on multidisciplinary
approaches to classical studies. *Scroll down to the link for Oxford
Classical Dictionary from the PastMasters Welcome page. |
| Past
Masters |
Full-text,
searchable versions of many important philosophical writings, including
the collected works in English of Aquinas, Aristotle, Berkeley, Calvin,
Dewey, Hume, Locke, Santayana and Sidgwick; the Collected Dialogues
of Plato, Anselm's Opera Omnia, Hegel's Werke, Nietzsche's Werke,
Kierkegaard's Journals and Papers and Samlede Værker, Luther's
Sermons, Ockham's Work of Ninety Days and Wittgenstein's Published
Works.. |
| Patrologia
Latina Database |
The
Patrologia Latina Database (PLD) is a comprehensive electronic version
of the Latin portion of Jacques-Paul Migne's massive Patrologiae Cursus
Completus, including notes, glosses and indexes. The Patrologia Latina,
though originally published in the 19th century, still represents
the only scholarly edition of many works. |
| Patrologiae
Graecae |
Patrologiae
Graecae contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin
translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian
Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
J.-P. Migne, a priest from 1824-1833, moved to Paris and began the
work of assembling an enormous body of early texts from 1833 till
his death in 1873. His work consists of the The Patrologiae Cursus
Completus, Series Graeca (Paris, 1857-1866), 161 volumes (a.k.a PG),
and the Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Latina (Paris, 1844-1855),
221 volumes. |
| Perseus
Project |
This
innovative multimedia database contains interactive sources and studies
on Ancient Greece, including primary texts such as Homer's Iliad and
Odyssey, with an English translation by A.T. Murray; Apollodorus,
the Library, with an English translation by Sir James George Frazer;
and Aeschylus, with an English translation by Herbert Wier Smyth.
For visual texts, Perseus has a vast library of over 4,000 vase, sculpture
and coin images from collections such as the Agora Museum and the
Acropolis Museum in Athens; the Antikensammlungen in Munich; the British
Museum in London; and the Arthur S. Dewing Collection in Cambridge,
Massachusetts. There are two versions of the Perseus Project, one
on CD-ROM and one on the Web. |
| Regesta
Imperii |
Principally a chronological index of source documents, with brief
summaries and genealogical charts. Also includes online historical
monographs and a searchable catalog of over 130,000 books, journals
and periodical articles on European medieval history and electronic
documents (full text and page images) with ancillary bibliographical
database. Site navigation in German; text chiefly in German, with
some French and Latin. |
| Thesaurus
Linguae Graecae |
The
TLG Canon of Authors and Works is a bibliographic guide to the authors
and works included in the TLG® Digital Library. The Canon represents
many years of research conducted by TLG staff members. A printed version
of the Canon is available (Luci Berkowitz and Karl A. Squitier, Thesaurus
Linguae Graecae Canon of Greek Authors and Works, third edition, Oxford
University Press, 1990); an electronic file is included in all TLG
CD ROMs. The web Canon database is regularly updated to include new
entries added to the TLG® Digital Library. Before you begin, you
may select a Greek font for your session. A polytonic Greek font must
be installed on your computer in order to view some work titles that
appear in Greek. To save your searches and set your default preferences,
you need to establish a personal account. |
| TOCS
- IN |
TOCS-IN
provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern
Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a
Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles
of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%).
Collection list here.
|
-back
to top-
Individual
Drama & Theater Arts Related Databases
| Arts
& Humanities Citation Index |
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary
index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals,
and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800
major science and social science journals. For journal directory,
click here.
Coverage: 1975 - Present. |
| Editions
and Adaptations of Shakespeare |
Editions
and Adaptations of Shakespeare contains eleven major editions from
the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty-eight
separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected
apocrypha and related works. In addition, it contains more than one
hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth,
eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries, including the whole of Bell's
Acting Edition of Shakespeare's Plays (1774). |
| English
Prose Drama |
English
Verse Drama and English Prose Drama are now combined in this database
of 4,000 plays by 1,200 authors from the late thirteenth century to
the early twentieth century. |
| Humanities
Full Text |
Humanities
Abstracts is a bibliographic database that cites articles from more
than 350 English-language periodicals, plus the full text of over
95 of those periodicals. It covers the fields of archaeology and classical
studies, art and photography, folklore, general scholarship, history,
journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and
political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion
and theology. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known
scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized
magazines. Coverage: 1984 - Present. |
| International
Index to the Performing Arts |
IIPA
provides citations and abstracts to articles published in more than
200 international journals and magazines in the performing arts, including
dance, film, drama/theater, stagecraft, broadcast arts, circus performance,
comedy, storytelling, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and performance
business. The database also includes citations to performance-related
feature articles and obituaries published in the New York Times and
Washington Post. Users may search by author, subject, publication,
date, or by keywords within various fields. While the majority of
citations are for current literature, IIPA also includes retrospective
citations from 46 periodicals dating back to 1864. |
| Inter-Play |
On-line
index to plays in collections, anthologies, and periodicals and in
a variety of languages. Contains approximately 16,130 citations to
plays, many of which are not included in the standard printed play
indexes such as Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections or H. W.
Wilson's Play Index. The sources indexed range from the late 19th
century through the current year. Where possible, editor and translator
information for each play has been included and page numbers in the
various sources where the plays are located have been provided. Cross
references are provided for variant spellings of an author's name,
for pseudonyms, and for variant titles of a single play. The call
numbers cited are those assigned by the Portland State University
Library. |
| MLA
Bibliography |
The
MLA International Bibliography consists of bibliographic records pertaining
to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The database provides
access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series.
It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies,
and other formats. Users may search or browse by author, title, subject
and by several other fields using the 'Search Builder' feature. In
addition, searches may be limited by language, publication type and
publication year or range of years. The database includes a searchable
thesaurus, and allows subject searches to be focused using 'role indicators'
and 'subfield codes.' Coverage: 1963 - Present. |
-back
to top-
General
Humanities
| Academic
Search Premier |
Academic
Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions,
is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database
containing full text for more than 3,600 scholarly publications, including
more than 2,700 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full
text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 4,500 journals
in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in
nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities,
education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language
and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, medical
sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. |
| Alternative
Press Index & Alternative
Press Index Archive |
The
Alternative Press Index and its archive, covering 1969 - present,
are widely regarded as the leading guide to the alternative press
in North America. Citations are drawn from roughly 250 alternative,
radical, and left publications, that report and analyze the practices
and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
API indexes such important periodicals as: Cineaste, Environmental
Action, Socialist Review, and Women's Review of Books. 90% of the
publications indexed in API are unique; you won't find them indexed
in the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature or the Social Sciences
Index. Approximately 17,000 new records (some with abstracts) are
added each year. |
| America:
History & Life |
America:
History and Life is a bibliographic reference to the history of the
United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published
since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries,
covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering
all key English-language historical journals, America: History and
Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries,
state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds
of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the
articles included are published in English-language journals. All
abstracts are written in English. Coverage: 1964-present. |
| Book
Review Digest Plus |
Book
Review Digest Plus, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, is a bibliographic
database that cites and provides excerpts of reviews of current English-language
fiction and non-fiction books for children and adults. An abstract
of each book is also provided. Periodical coverage includes approximately
109 leading magazines from the United States, Canada and Great Britain.
Coverage: 1983-present. |
| Dissertations
& Theses |
Dissertation
and Theses - Full Text (ProQuest) contains more than 2 million entries
with information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
It is the same database as Dissertation Abstracts, but with the significant
advantage that titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital
format and have 24 page previews available. |
| Essay
and General Literature Index |
Essay
and General Literature Index (EGL), produced by The H.W. Wilson Company,
is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained
in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the
United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 300 volumes are
indexed annually. Additionally, more than 20 annuals and serial publications
are indexed. EGL also provides full bibliographic information on collective
titles indexed. EGL focuses on the humanities and social sciences,
with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and
history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film. Click here
for a journal list. Coverage: 1985-present. |
| Humanities
Full Text |
Humanities
Abstracts is a bibliographic database that cites articles from more
than 350 English-language periodicals, plus the full text of over
95 of those periodicals. It covers the fields of archaeology and classical
studies, art and photography, folklore, general scholarship, history,
journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and
political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion
and theology. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known
scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized
magazines. Coverage: 1984 - Present. |
| IBZ
Online |
The
IBZ is an "international bibliography of periodical literature
covering all fields of knowledge." It indexes periodical articles
in all subject areas from around the world in German, French and English.
Coverage of the printed volumes, including earlier titles, goes back
to 1896.* |
| Periodicals
Index Online |
Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents
Index - a database of millions of articles published in the arts,
humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. |
| WilsonWeb |
A
collection of periodical indexing databases covering the Arts, Humanities,
Sciences, and Social Sciences. You can search the databases separately,
or use WilsonWeb's Check Relevant Databases feature at the bottom
of the initial search screen to search across multiple databases simultaneously.
WilsonWeb replaces the Expanded Academic Index which was available
through Orbis. |
Not
sure where to start or want to cross search several databases at once?
Try the following multiple database searches (full-text resources / indexes
/ image databases) in the following areas:
Architecture
/ Art
& Art History
Now
that you've found a citation, where is the article?
- YALE
Links Tool: Look for Yale Links button when searching YUL databases.
When you click on the the Yale Links button, a menu will open in a new
browser window with options for the citation. The citation will be displayed
first, and then a link for full text (if available). Click on the full
text link, and Yale Links will get you either to the article or as close
as it can to the article (some publishers only let us link to the journal
level, not to the specific article).For more information on the SFX
button, click here.
- Citation
Linker:
Citation Linker is a quick tool to use when you have a citation for
an article you need to find. Enter the information you know about the
citation into the Web form and Citation Linker will search for the article
in Yale's online content. Citation Linker will create a menu of options
for you. If it finds full text, that link(s) will display at the top
of the menu. Additional links for searching Yale Library catalogs or
list of online journals will also display.
- Search in Orbis
by journal title (Not the title of the article). You may use
the "Quick Limit" feature to limit your results to only online journals;
however, not all of our online journals are listed in Orbis. Note
the location and call number.
- Head to the Art + Architecture Library
stacks to find back issues. Current issues are kept in the Periodical
section. Journals do not circulate, so what you want should be there.
- Can't find the volume you want? Ask
at the circulation desk in Art + Architecture.
Need
more help?
Contact the Public Services Librarian, Hannah
Bennett, at 436-8052 or use our electronic
reference question form.
-back
to top-
|