+
|
 |
| ARCHITECTURAL
RESOURCES BIBLIOGRAPHY |
I.
Finding Facts
General
Resources - Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Directories
Encyclopædia
Britannica: Includes complete encyclopedia (15th ed.). Users can
simultaneously search the encyclopedia, reviews of the Web sites, articles,
and related books. More than 65,000 subjects are addressed in articles ranging
from concise explanations to comprehensive expositions and from historical treatments
of subjects to current-events coverage. Print versions available in Sterling's
Starr Reference Room - AE5 E52 2001 (LC)+ Coverage: 2001 - Present
Grove
Dictionary of Art: The Dictionary of Art Online is a fully searchable
copy of the print dictionary (published in 1996), including some but not all
of the illustrations and photographs in the print version. Online version includes
annual additions of new material. Although not specific to architecture, the
dictionary includes biographical entries (signed and incl. biblioography) for
architects and a broader coverage of the discipline in general. Print version
available in A&A Reference - N31 D5X 1996 (LC). Coverage: 1996
- Present
Architecture
Related Resources
archINFORM:
This database includes information over more than 14000 built and unrealized
projects from various architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th
century is the main theme of this database. It's possible to look for a special
project via an architect, town or keyword with the indices or by using a query
form. For most entries you get the name, address, keywords and information about
further literature. Some entries include images, comments, links to other Websites
or internal links. You may have to register (for free.)
Contemporary
Architects, 3rd ed.(1994): Biographical dictionary which
broadly covers architects and partnerships working over the last fifty years
from publication (1944 - 1994); includes landscape architects, theorists, and
engineers. Each entry includes biographical data, awards received, listings
of works / projects, major exhibitions, publications by and about, and evalutive
essay by an architect or academic. A&A Reference - NA53 +P76 (LC).
History
of Architectural Theory: From Vitruvius to the Present (1994):
Core resource on the history of architectural theory. Available in CCL
and the A&A Libraries - NA2500 K7513 1994 (LC).
International
Dictionary of Architects & Architecture (1993):
Available through the Biography Resource Center. The first volume features biographical
information on 523 architects, theorists, engineers, interior designers, landscape
architects, and urban planners; the second volume features 467 buildings ranging
from Ancient Greece to postmodernism and deconstructivism. Entries on buildings
will include dates of construction, architec (if known), listings of additions
or alterations. Focus is primarily on Western architects and structures with
special attention given to Eastern European architects and architecture. 1993
edition available online through the Biographical Resource Center and in print
at the A&A Reference - NA40 I48X 1993 (LC)+.
Macmillan
Encyclopedia of Architects (1982): Biographical entries for 2,450
architects, planners, engineers, designers, landscape architects, and firms.
Includes discussions of architects and their works, lists works with dates and
locations. Coverage from ancient Egypt to architects born before 1931 or those
already deceased. Available in Starr Reference and A&A Reference - NA40
M25 1982 (LC)+.
ProFile:
Sourcebook of U.S. architectural design firms: (2003): Entires include
vital details, e.g., services rendered and the types of project expertise, staff
make-up and key individuals, street and website addresses, phone and fax numbers,
other office locations, and a listing of representative projects. Searchable
commercial database available online.
18th ed. available at A&A Reference - NA53 P76 2003 (LC)+.
II. Finding Journal
& Newspaper Articles
General
Resources
Academic
Search: Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing
full text for 4,450+ scholarly publications, including 3,500+ peer-reviewed
publications. Offers full-text and indexing and abstracts for all 7,888 journals
in the collection. Covers most disciplines. Although this resource is not specific
to architecture, it covers magazines / journals specific that do, e.g. Architectural
Heritage, Architectural Digest, Architectural Review, etc. Coverage: Varies
with each magazine but general coverage is 1975-Present.
Historical
Newspapers Online: Features the index to The Times (London) - based
on Palmer's Index to the Times - which covers the period from 1790 to 1905.
Palmer's Full Text Online covers 1785-1870, providing access to the full articles
referenced in Palmer's Index to The Times. Coverage varies: Palmer's
Index to the Times - 1790 to 1905; Official Index to the Times - 1906 to 1980;
Historical Index to the New York Times - 1863 to 1905, and 1913-September 1922;
Palmer's Index to the Times 1790-1905 and the Official Index to The Times, 1906-1980
are complete and fully available.Print version of Palmer's is in SML Reference
Ai21 T543 (LC).
Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe: Full-text news and information service that provides
access to newspapers, magazines, transcripts, business and legal information.
Coverage varies with each title: 1990s - Present.
New
York Times Online: 1) 1851
- 1999 (Proquest); 2) 1980
- Present (Academic Universe); 3) 2001
- Present (Proquest)
Nineteenth
Century Masterfile: This index searches across six periodical indexes
and seven patent and government indice. Dates of coverage vary with each index:
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906); Index to Legal Periodical
Literature (1786-1922)l Index to Periodical Articles in Religion (1890-1899);
Psychological Index (1894-1905); Index to Periodicals (1890-1906); Cumulative
Index to a Selected List of Periodicals (1896-1899).
Web
of Science: The ISI Citation Databases collectively index more than
8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover, providing users with
complete bibliographic data, full-length author abstracts, and cited references
from the world's most influential research with online backfiles access now
completely matching the print editions. Years of coverage for: Science Citation
Index Expanded 1945 to present; Social Sciences Citation Index: 1956 to present;
Arts & Humanities Citation Index: 1975 to present. For a source list of
all titles indexed, click here.
Architecture
Related Resources
Architectural
Index: Indexes architects,
designers, and architectural firms; searches combinations of architect / designer,
location, magazine (~ 20), building type or subject. Less scholarly than the
Avery Index, but great for architect information. Coverage varies w/each magazine.
General Coverage:
1982-Present
ARTbibliographies
Modern: Index to full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays,
exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms
of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being
added each year. While the emphasis is on art, there is modest coverage of modern
architecture and architects. Useful for interior design topics. For a complete
list of journals indexed, click here.
Coverage: 1974 to Present.
Art
Full Text: Indexes articles from American and foreign periodicals
(300+ titles) and museum bulletins dealing with the arts and related disciplines,
e.g., archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, fine arts, industrial
design, interior design, landscape architecture, photography, films and museums.
For a list of journals covered, click here.
Print equivalent is "Art Index"; Art & Architecture Library has
volumes 1 (1929) through 44 (1996). Later volumes are located at Sterling and
the British Art Center. Indexing coverage began in 1984; abstracting coverage
began in 1994; full-text coverage (of select journals) began in 1997.
Art
Index Retrospective: Citations to articles from American and foreign
periodicals (300+ titles) and museum bulletins dealing with the arts and related
disciplines such as archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, fine
arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, photography,
films and museums. Cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed
index published between 1929-1984. Print equivalent is "Art Index";
Art & Architecture Library has volumes 1 (1929) through 44 (1996). Later
volumes are located at Sterling and the British Art Center.
Avery
Index to Architectural Periodicals: Comprehensive listing of journal
articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning,
interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international
scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional
associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications
on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded
coverage includes obituary citations. Include is the entire Burnham Index to
Periodical Literature. Coverage: 1930s (with selective coverage dating back
to the 1860s) to the Present.
BHA:
Bibliography of the History of Art: Extensive and comprehensive index
of current writing on Western fine arts (architecture, sculpture, painting,
drawing, and prints) as well as decorative and applied arts, industrial design
and architecture, popular and folk art, and material culture of interest to
art historians. Photography, new media and the performing arts are also covered
in connection with the visual arts. Indexes and abstracts articles, art-related
books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's
catalogs. BHA includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes:
RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) from 1973 to 1989 and RILA (International
Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989. Print versions of the
following are available in A&A: BHA (1991-1999), RAA (1910-1989);
in LSF or Sterling: RILA (1975 - 1989). BHA Coverage: 1973 to Present.
Burnham
Index to Architectural Literature: Begun in 1919, this index covers
approximately 600+ monographs and serials with an emphasis on Midwestern materials;
3% overlap with the Avery Index before 1940 and 30% overlap afterwards. Also
includes entries for Burnham Library scrapbooks. Available in print it
the A&A Reference - Z5944 U5 B87 1989 (LC)+ or online in the Avery
Index. Coverage: 1919 to 1960s.
Design and Applied Arts Index: Covers 450+ design and craft journals;
includes data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops,
firms etc., making the largest database of its kind in the world. Specific areas
covered include industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design,
environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass,
jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile
design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration,
book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging,
exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft
theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and
craft education and design management. Coverage: 1975 - 2001
Index
to19th Century American Art Periodicals: Indexes and abstracts 42
art journals published in the US during the 19th century. Provides the entire
journal contents articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements
and information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting,
sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales,
decorations, and collecting. Coverage: 1800s-1900
III. Finding Books
Catalogs
ORBIS:
Yale's online library catalog. Includes records for over 10 million items located
in 22 Yale libraries. Orbis does not contain articles in journals.
Eureka:
Includes more than 22 million records of books and other materials held in Research
Library Group's member libraries including research libraries, specialized libraries,
museum libraries and academic libraries. Use the Request link in Eureka to request
items that Yale does not own through Interlibrary Loan.
Dissertations
& Theses: With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single,
central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations
and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word
abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward
include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase
in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or
image PDF formats for immediate free download. 1861-
Worldcat:
Includes more than 50 million records of books and other materials held in thousands
of OCLC academic, public, special and national libraries around the world.
Virtueller
Katalog Kunstgeschichte: This catalog is an initiative of a working group
of German art libraries, formerly known as the AKB (Arbeitsgemeinschaft der
Kunstbibliotheken). The VKK has been accessible since September 1999 and is
still "under construction" but offers well over 2 million bibliographic
records from 20+ European libraries including many articles and reviews from
periodicals and collections.
Karlsruher
Virtueller Katalog: Allows users to simultaneously search library catalogs
from Germany, Austria, and Switzerland, as well as major catalogs worldwide.
IV. Finding Images
For a complete list of the Arts Library's image resources, click here.
American
Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920: This teaching collection
from the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University comprises the lantern
slides from the schools of Architecture, Landscape Architecture and City Planning,
which were combined in 1936 to form the Graduate School of Design. Approximately
2,800 images are available.
AMICA:
With over 100,000 images in the database, AMICO is a growing online collection
of high-quality, digital documentation of works of art from around the world.
Images, text and multimedia represent a broad range of works of art in AMICO
Member collections, highlighting the creative output of cultures around the
world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range
of expressive forms. Cultures and time periods represented range from contemporary
art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works,
along with Japanese and Chinese works. (For Insight Version, you must install
the client on your PC.)
ArtServe:
Art and Architecture mainly from the Mediterranean Basin:
Searchable access to around 150,000 images - all concerned in some way with
the history of art and architecture. Results come up in pages with thumbnail
images, usually expandable to maximum width or height of 400 pixels. Can also
be browsed by artist, country, or medium, as well as survey area. Covers primarily
ancient, Gothic, Renaissance, through 19th century periods.
Associated
Press Photo Archive: Image database of over one million primary-source
photos from the 1840s to date. The AP Photo Archive is update daily. Every photo
contains a complete caption and citation information.
Digital
Imaging Project (Bluffton College): A collection of images from the
classical Greek period to the Post-Modern consisting of architecture and sculpture
that is arranged by name of the architect or artist, location, or date. There
is also a section of women architects' work, with information on more than 60
buildings by Julia Morgan. All images include a date and a description. Though
it's a personal web page, the images are helpful and several will cover a single
building or monument.
Historic
American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record
(HAER): These
collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and design in
the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building
types and engineering technologies including examples as diverse as the Pueblo
of Acoma, houses, windmills, one-room schools, the Golden Gate Bridge, and buildings
designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. Administered since 1933 through cooperative
agreements with the National Park Service, the Library of Congress, and the
private sector, ongoing programs of the National Park Service have recorded
America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising more than 350,000
measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more
than 35,000 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to
the twentieth century.
Medieval
Architecture in France: A collection of images of French architecture
from the Middle Ages. Included for many of the buildings are maps of locations,
floor plans, photos, and brief descriptions. There is an illustrated Glossary
of Medieval Art and Architecture.
Philadelphia
Architects & Buildings: As of August 2004, this database contained
216,850 projects and buildings, 20,164 architects, engineers and contractors,
and over 49,920 images. Includes structures primarily in Philadelphia, Bucks,
Chester, Delaware and Montgomery Counties, all the Philadelphia Historical Commission
list of significant buildings, and the Pennsylvania Historical & Museum
Commissions inventory of historic structures. All local buildings represented
in the Athenæum and the University of Pennsylvania architectural collections,
as well as the original architectural holdings of such institutions as the Historical
Society of Pennsylvania and the Library Company of Philadelphia are included
in the database.
SPIRO:
This is the online image database for the Architectural Visual Resources Library
at UC-Berkeley.As of January 2004, SPIRO included 63,000 records linked to images
(~20% of AVRL's total slide collection). Covers all periods and all dates.
Visual
Resources Collection (via Insight): The Visual Resources Collection
supports courses in the history of art and American studies that use slides
or digital images in the classroom. Its collection of digital images is available
using the Insight software. For information about using Insight or reporting
server problems consult the Insight
5.0 page or contact Hannah
Bennett, 436-8052. Access
the Cross Collection Search including the Visual Resources Collection here.
|