ARCHITECTURAL RESOURCES COMPARISON CHART    

Dates refer to time periods covered by sources. Please note the publication date of each source listed in parentheses in the first column.

I. Finding Facts
*available online † available in print
DICTIONARIES / ENCYCLOPEDIAS / DIRECTORIES
1700-1849
1850-1900
1901-1950
1951-2000
2001-Present
General Resources
     
Encyclopaedia Britannica*† (2001)
all periods
X
X
X
X
Grove Dictionary of Art*† (1996)
all periods
X
X
X
X
Architecture Related Resources
         
   
X
X
X
Contemporary Architects† (1994)    
1944 -
- 1994
 
International Dictionary of Architects & Architecture*† (1993) (avail. through Biography Resource Center)
all periods
X
X
- 1993
 
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects (1982)
all periods
X
X
- 1982
 
ProFile : Sourcebook of U.S. architectural design firms†* (avail. through Reed First Source)      
X
X


II. Finding Articles
†available in print
ONLINE PERIODICAL INDEXES
1700-1849
1850-1900
1901-1950
1951-2000
2001-Present
General Resources
         
Academic Search Premier
     
1975 -
- Present
Historical Newspapers Online (UK Newspapers & NYT Index)
1790 -
X
X
- 1980
 
Historical Newspapers Complete (US Newspapers)
x
x
-1980s
 
Lexis-Nexis Academic      
1990s -
- Present
19th Century Masterfile
1786 -
X
- 1920s
   
New York Times (Proquest)      
1980 -
- Present
New York Times (Historical)  
1851 -
X
X
- 2001
Web of Science‡ (dates vary)     1945 (SCI) - 1956 - (SSCI) 1975 (AHCI) -
Architecture Related Resources
     
Art Full Text      
1984 -
- Present
ARTbibliographies Modern      
1974 -
- Present
Art Index Retrospective    
1929 -
- 1984
 
Avery Index to Periodical Literature    
1934 -
X
- Present
BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art      
1974 -
- Present
Design and Applied Arts Index      
1973 -
- 2001
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals
1800s -
X
     

III. Finding Books and Dissertations
CATALOGS
1700-1849
1850-1900
1901-1950
1951-2000
2001-Present
           
ORBIS
all periods
X
X
X
- Present
Eureka - This is a Union Catalog
all periods
X
X
X
- Present
Dissertations & Theses  
1861 -
X
X
- Present
Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog - This is a Union Catalog
all periods
X
X
X
- Present
Virtueller Katalog Kunstgeschichte
all periods
X
X
X
- Present
Worldcat
all periods
X
X
X
- Present

III. Finding Images
IMAGE SITES
1700-1849
1850-1900
1901-1950
1951-2000
2001-Present
Resources specific to or inclusive of architecture-related images
         
American Landscape and Architectural Design
1850 -
- 1920
   
AMICA (for Broweser version) (for Insight Version, you must install the client on your PC.)
all periods
X
X
X
- Present
Andrew Dickson White Architectural Photographs Collection
19th c. -
X
- 1930s
   
ArtServe
ancient periods -
X
X
X
X
ARTstor
all periods
X
X
X
X
Associated Press Photo Archive  
X
X
X
- Present
Digital Imaging Project
all periods
X
X
X
- Present
HABS/HAER
pre-Colom.
X
X
   
Medieval Architecture in France
1100 - 1400
       
Philadelphia Architects & Buildings
X
X
X
   
SPIRO
all periods
X
X
X
- Present
Visual Resource Collection (through DL Cross Collection Search)
all periods
X
X
X
- Present
        
Contact Arts Library | 2008 © Yale University Library |Monday, 16-June-2008