Find Biographical Info
Online / Print / Getty Institute

Grove Art Online
Grove Art Online is a fully searchable version of the printed The Dictionary of Art and includes some but not all of the prints and illustrations in the print version, in addition to The Oxford Companion to Western Art . The online version also enables image search for images in the Bridgeman Art Library and also links to other image resources on the internet.

Biography Resource Center
Contains many online biographical databases encompassing all disciplines, including the arts.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the premier source for biographical information on persons connected with the British Isles from all periods of history. The qualifications for inclusion are that subjects not be living, that they inhabited or were connected with the British Isles, and that they were noteworthy.

Credo Reference
Through Credo Reference (formerly xrefer) researchers can gain access to any of a possible 3,140,951 entries, from 275 titles and 57 publishers covering subjects as diverse as medicine, art, Shakespeare, and technology. There is a specific portal for the arts which includes A Biographical Dictionary of Artists, Andromeda, The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists, and many others.

Turner, Jane, ed. The Dictionary of Art. New York: Grove, 1996.
Art & Architecture Reference, N31 D5X N31 D5X 1996 (LC)
Print version of the Grove Dictionary Online

Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon: die bildenden Kunstler aller Zeiten und Volker: Nachtrag. Munchen: K.G. Saur, 2005-.
Art & Architecture Reference B, N40 .A5521 2005 (LC)
Includes artists from all over the globe and throughout the ages from antiquity to the present. The current edition of the AKL is not complete; volumes A-G are complete and around 3,000 artist biographies are compiled in each volume and four or five volumes are published each year. A full index is available for the AKL, which referes to the older Thieme-Becker volumes for unfinished AKL entries.

Benezit. Dictionary of Artists. Paris: Grund, 2006.
Art & Architecture Reference B, N40 .D4413 2006 (LC)
Extensive biographical reference work for the study of art in 14 volumes. The current, 2006, edition was published in English for the first time.

Back to top

The Getty Institute's Getty Vocabulary Program has created databases and thesuari to help find information on artists, fine art terms, and geographic locations.

The Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)

The ULAN is a structured vocabulary containing around 120,000 records, including 293,000 names and biographical and bibliographic information about artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names, pseudonyms, and language variants.

The Art and Architecture Thesaurus (AAT)

The AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 34,000 concepts, including 131,000 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.

The Getty Thesuarus of Geographic Names (TGN)
The TGN is a structured vocabulary containing around 912,000 records, including 1.1 million names, place types, coordinates, and descriptive notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.

Back to top


Search this site / Orbis Library Catalog / Ask! a Librarian / Contact Us / Yale Info / Yale University




 

 

 

Yale University Library

Orbis & Library Catalogs / Database & Article Searching / Online Journals / Research Guides by Subject / Ask! a Librarian

Art History Research Guide