Find Books
Searching YUL catalogs / Searching non-YUL catalogs / Inter Library Loan

Searching Yale University Library catalogs
Orbis is the principal online public access catalog (OPAC) for Yale University. Orbis contains records for over 13 million items located in 22 libraries on the Yale campus and at the Library Shelving Facility. Other online catalogs at Yale include MORRIS (the catalog for the Lillian Goldman Law Library) and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) catalog. For more information about Orbis go here.


Orbis Tutorials
These tutorials serve as a great introduction to searching the Yale University Library through Orbis and are available for a number search strategies: author, keyword, advanced search, etc.


Locating books at the Art & Architecture Library

Main Level
Regular-sized books in call number ranges from A through SB445
All Open & Closed Reserves
All Current Periodicals
Reference Collection

Lower Level
Regular-sized books in call number rangers from SB446 through Z
All Over-sized or "+" books
All student shelves.


NJ18
Books in the NJ18 sections of the stacks are on individual artists. They are filed in alphabetical order by artist's last name. For example, books about Charles Rennie Mackintosh are at NJ18 M144, and books about Monet are at NJ18 M77.

Keep in mind that there is an NJ18 regular size section and an NJ18 oversize, in the LC class. Old Yale class books use J18 instead.


Back to top

Arts-related call numbers
N = General Arts
NA = Architecture
NB = Sculpture
NC = Drawing, Graphic Art
ND = Painting
NK = Design
TR = Photography


Searching non-Yale catalogs

WorldCat
A union catalog that lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. It contains the majority of collections from almost all the major research libraries in the world. WorldCat will almost certainly meet your searching needs but if you need the most up-to-date information in a specific library collection, go straight to the proper catalog.

Eureka
The RLG (Research Libraries Group) Union Catalog is a comprehensive database that serves as a major union catalog of records describing books, serials, archival collections, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, sound recordings, films, photographs, posters, computer files, electronic resources and more. Eureka contains the collections of many major musuem libraries currently not included in WorldCat: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, Ryerson & Burnham Library at the Art Institure of Chicago, and many others.


Back to top


Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog

Bibliographic access to 75M+ books and serials titles from European academic, national, and special libraries as well as book trade catalogs.

artlibraries.net
Virtual Catalogue for Art History, formerly the VKK, is a European specialized meta catalogue allowing the integrated retrieval of bibliographic records and, should the occasion arise, other objects of distinctive art historical databases. Currently, artlibraries.net gives access to about 6 million records (as of January 2007), including a high percentage of records for articles in periodicals, conference papers, festschriften, exhibition catalogues and exhibition books, etc.

To see a list of additional art library catalogs, go here


Inter Library Loan
Use Borrow Direct to borrow books from the libraries of Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Penn, and Princeton. Most books are available for pick up at designated Yale libraries within 4 business days.

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to obtain books, articles, and other research materials from a large network of suppliers. Books are often available for pick up at designated Yale libraries within 2 weeks. Copies of articles can be delivered to you electronically and are often available in 1-2 weeks.

Eli Express
is a delivery service operating among most of Yale's libraries. It allows library readers to request that books be delivered from any of Yale's participating libraries to the Yale library of their choice. Eli Express requests can be made via Orbis.

back to top

Search this site / Orbis Library Catalog / Ask! a Librarian / Contact Us / Yale Info / Yale University

 

Yale University Library

Orbis & Library Catalogs / Database & Article Searching / Online Journals / Research Guides by Subject / Ask! a Librarian

Art History Research Guide