Find Dissertations & Theses
The following is a list of sources for locating dissertations and theses from around the world.

Yale / UK & Ireland / Canada / Various international / Chinese / French / German language

Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQD&T) is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Contains more than 2 million entries including dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download. Coverage from 1861-present.

Dissertations & Theses at Yale University
A service provided to universities that actively publish their graduate students' dissertations and theses with ProQuest's UMI® Dissertation Publishing. Dissertations & Theses @ enables individual universities to access the citations and abstracts of all their student's dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.

Index to Theses
A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degress by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716.

Theses Canada Portal
Search AMICUS, Canada's national online catalogue, for bibliographic records of all theses in Library and Archives Canada's theses collection, which was established in 1965.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) - Foreign Doctoral Dissertations

CRL has more than 750,000 uncataloged foreign doctoral dissertations, of which approximately 20,000 are included in this database. Not finding a match does not mean CRL does not hold the dissertation, so if you do not find the title you seek here, it is recommended that you search the CRL catalog. If the title does not appear in the database or the catalog, contact CRL directly to inquire if it is held.

back to top

Universal Index of Doctoral Dissertations in Progress
This site provides access to a database of voluntarily-registered, author-identified doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.

Wanfang Dissertations of China
This database holds full-text, or abstracts and other descriptive information of Masters, Doctoral, and Post-doctoral dissertations from KEY Chinese research institutions from 1986 onward.

SUDOC
An online catalog to holdings at French academic libraries, SUDOC covers theses completed in France since 1972 (for Humanities and Social Sciences). Search by author, title, and abstract. Limit your search to theses by clicking on "Options" on the right hand corner of the page and limiting your search to "Thèses;" click on "Appliquer" to save your selection and proceed with the search.

Österreichische Dissertationsdatenbank
German language dissertaions

back to top

Search this site / Orbis Library Catalog / Ask! a Librarian / Contact Us / Yale Info / Yale University






 

Yale University Library

Orbis & Library Catalogs / Database & Article Searching / Online Journals / Research Guides by Subject / Ask! a Librarian

Art History Research Guide