Find Newspapers & Online Articles
Databases / Recommended Subject Headings / Find Newspapers @ Yale

Many newspapers are available online or in databases available through Yale. Sterling Memorial Library also has a vast collection of print editions and microforms of newspapers from around the world in the Newspaper Reading Room. Also see Yale's Database & Article Searching website for further information about locating periodicals.

ProQuest Newspapers
Coverage of national, international, and local news. Includes Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor, LA Times, NY Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. ProQuest Newspapers many databases of current and historical newspapers:
Alt-Press Watch: a full text database comprised of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press including The Village Voice, The Advocate (Los Angeles), and the Chicago Reader, which all have contemporary art coverage.
GenderWatch: Full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, and gender and women's studies.
Historical Newspapers Complete: provides historical coverage dating back to the 19th century up to the present for many national newspapers: New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and many others. Note that historical newpaper databases cannot be searched with current newspaper databases.


Center for Research Libraries
CRL has a vast collection of newspapers: foreign, U.S. ethnic, U.S. black newspapers and other periodicals. CRL no longer updates the Foreign newspapers catalog. These periodicals are now accessed through the main CRL catalog.

LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic Universe is a full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, transcripts, business and legal information. LexisNexis includes, but is not limited to: Newspapers and new magazines, including major publications from the U.S. and around the world and local publications from all 50 states; TV and radio broadcast transcripts; Wire services; Blogs and web-based publications; Subject indexing to take you right to editorials, critical reviews, science, business, sports and other news categories.

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 (formerly Early American Newspapers)
This archive of American historical newspapers provides access to full text digitized versions of primary source material, Early American Newspapers, Series I, II, III, IV, and V. It includes titles from all 50 present states.


Index to 19th Century American Art
The Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period.

Search by these subject headings in Orbis for newspapers
Newspapers - Note that you can scroll through the subject headings and find specific ones for different countries, states, and topics.
Peridocals
American Newspapers


Newspapers at Yale University
Yale's History Dept. and American Studies Dept. have a guide to finding both current and historical newspaper articles.
Newspaper Holdings of the Yale University Library is a record of Yale Library holdings of newspapers in microform and paper. This list does not include all of the newspapers to be found in the original, in reprints, or in facsimile in the SML stacks, in the Mudd Library, or in the Beinecke, though it does contain some of this material. Neither does it include all of the Underground Newspaper Collection (Film S618).


back to top


Search this site / Orbis Library Catalog / Ask! a Librarian / Contact Us / Yale Info / Yale University


 

 

Yale University Library

Orbis & Library Catalogs / Database & Article Searching / Online Journals / Research Guides by Subject / Ask! a Librarian

Art History Research Guide