Non-Yale Image Collections
The collections listed below contain hundreds of thousands of images relevant to art historical research. However, the collections have varying access policies, from largely public domain images freely available for reproduction to rights managed images unavailable without express permission.


Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division
The LC Prints and Photographs collections today number more than 13.7 million images with approx. 50% available in the online catalog. These include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

American Memory
The American Memory Historical Collections, a major component of the Library's National Digital Library Program, are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections. There are currently more than 90 collections in the American Memory Historical Collections. All American Memory images are included in the LC Prints & Photograps online catalog.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 550,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more. Some but not all of the images in the NYPL's Digital Gallery are in the public domain.

Associated Press Photograph Archive (Yale access only)
Image database of over one million primary-source photos from the 1840s to date. The AP Photo Archive is updated daily. Every photo contains a complete caption and citation information.

Artcyclopedia

A website that enables users to for search artists and specific works in the collections of museums and other collections around the world. The site also provides links to biographical information and journal citations, although the site does have advertising and plenty of commercial content - beware.

Getty Images
Enormous image collection including fine art, documentary, photo journalism, stock, etc. All images are rights managed and may not be reproduced without agreeing to terms with Getty Images.

Corbis
Corbis owns or represents photography and art from more than 1,500 creative sources, including: Ansel Adams, the Bettmann Archive, UPI, the National Gallery, and the State Hermitage Museum, as well as leading celebrity and commercial and editorial photographers. The collection contains over 25 million images with approx. 2.1 million available online. All images are rights managed and may not be reproduced without agreeing to terms with Corbis.

back to top

Search this site / Orbis Library Catalog / Ask! a Librarian / Contact Us / Yale Info / Yale University

 

 

Yale University Library

Orbis & Library Catalogs / Database & Article Searching / Online Journals / Research Guides by Subject / Ask! a Librarian

Art History Research Guide