Arts Related Websites
Here is a list of high quality arts-related websites.

Metropolitan Museum of Art: Timeline of Art History
The Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. The Museum's curatorial, conservation, and education staff—the largest team of art experts anywhere in the world—research and write the Timeline, which is an invaluable reference and research tool for students, educators, scholars, and anyone interested in the study of art history and related subjects.


ART-Guide: Collection of Art History Websites
ART-Guide (http://artguide.uni-hd.de) provides access to art history websites, such as subject gateways, image databases, search engines, or mailing lists. The collection covers the full range of European medieval, modern, and contemporary art history, and Aesthetics. The selected websites are checked for their scientific relevance and recorded following library standards. The collection of art history websites is updated frequently by linkcheckers. The site is also available in German.


Smithsonian Archives of American Art
Since 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documentation that supports the study of the history of the visual arts in America.


Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance
An interdisciplinary research database containing documentation on the antique monuments known in the Renaissance; related Renaissance documents such as texts and images; information about locations, persons, and periods; and bibliographic data.


UBUWEB
An amazing collection of digitized versions poetry, film, video, theatre, and critical texts, UBUWEB is a clearinghouse for rare, avant-garde materials. "We give it away and have been doing so since 1996. Totally independent from institutional support, UbuWeb is free from academic bureaucracy and its attendant infighting. UbuWeb posts much of its content without permission; we rip out-of-print LPs into sound files; we scan as many old books as we can get our hands on; we post essays as fast as we can OCR them. UbuWeb is an unlimited resource with unlimited space to fill. It is in this way that the site has grown to encompass hundreds of artists, hundreds of gigabytes of sound files, books, texts and videos."


Back to top

Search this site / Orbis Library Catalog / Ask! a Librarian / Contact Us / Yale Info / Yale University







 

 

Yale University Library

Orbis & Library Catalogs / Database & Article Searching / Online Journals / Research Guides by Subject / Ask! a Librarian

Art History Research Guide