American Architectural History Research
HSAR 227 - American Architecture - Sandy Isenstadt - Spring 2005


Assembling a Bibliography / Beginning Your Research / Researching a Building / Understanding Difference Analyses / Image Resources

Assembling a Bibliography

When begining your work on an annotated bibliography, understand how your sources should be cited. Ask your instructor which citation style is preferred. If a specific style is not required, pick one and stick with it. Understand that citation styles apply to essays in festschrift, images, book reviews, movie clips, interviews, etc. The most common styles include:

# The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition: used with all subjects by books, magazines, newspapers, and other non-scholarly publications.
- Note the two basic styles: 1) Humanities Style (preferred by many in literature, history, and the arts) and 2) Author-Date System (used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences).
# Modern Language Association, 6th edition: literature, arts, and humanities.
# Turabian - Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 6th edition: designed for college students to use with all subjects.

Examples of different bibliographic citation styles for a book:

Prose, Francine. The lives of the Muses: nine women & the artists they inspired. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 2002. (Chicago - Humanities Style)

Prose, Francine. 2002. The lives of the Muses: nine women & the artists they inspired. New York: HarperCollins Publishers. (Chicago - Author-Date System)

Prose, Francine. The lives of the Muses: nine women & the artists they inspired. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 2002. (MLA)

Prose, Francine. 2002. The lives of the Muses: nine women & the artists they inspired. New York: HarperCollins Publishers. (Turabian)

Footnote vs. Endnote
A footnote appears within the actual text, at the foot of the page, whereas an endnote appears at the very end of an article or a chapter but before the bibliography. Oftentimes, endnotes for all chapters will appear at the back of the book. Footnotes are preferred by many as they provide readers an ease of reference (given that the notes are close to the text). Endnotes are preferred when writers run the risk of lengthy and unwieldy footnotes. Endnotes are good places to quote or discuss supplementary material (lengthy quotations, tables, graphs). **Like bibliographic entries, endnotes and footnotes are structured in different ways depending on the citation style you select.

Bibliographic Style Manuals & Tools
Refer to the following resources for citation examples and explanations. Be sure to familiarize yourself with the different bibliographic styles for citing captions, illustrations, figures, etc. Useful examples can be found in Barnet's Short Guide to Writing about Art (pages 262 and 303) and the Chicago Manual of Style (refer to "Illustration reproduction" or "captions" in the index).

The Chicago Manual of Style. (2003) 15th ed. A&A Reference - Z253 .U69 2003 (LC)
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. (2003) 6th ed. CCL - LB2369 .G53X 2003 (LC)
Where Credit is Due: a Guide to Proper Citing of Sources, Print and Nonprint. (1997) 2nd ed. CCL Stacks or SML Starr Reference - PN171 F56 S35X 1997
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. (1996) 6th ed. A&A Reference - LB2369 T865 1996 (LC)
A Short Guide to Writing about Art. (2003) 7th ed. A&A Reference - N7476 .B37 2002 (LC)
Refworks: Users can create their own personal research database of citations to books, journal articles, and web pages, by importing references from online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography. Citations initially captured with RefWorks can subsequently be exported to other citation programs, such as Endnote, Procite, or Reference Manager. As a web-based product, RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows, Mac, Unix, etc.


Beginning Your Research

1. Research & Writing Guides
The following art history research guides will help you get organized in terms of kicking off your research and structuring your paper:

Writing about Visual Art. (2003) A&A N7476 .C378X 2003 (LC)
Writing about Art. (1999) A&A - N7476 S29 1999 (LC)
The Dissertation: an Architecture Student's Handbook. (2000) A&A Reference - NA2108 B67X 2000 (LC)
Learning to Look at Paintings. (1997) A&A - ND1143 A38X 1997 (LC)
Learning to Look: a Handbook for the Visual Arts.
(1981) A&A - N7477 T39 1981 (LC)
History of Art: a Students' Handbook. (1997) A&A - N380 P56 1997 (LC)

1. Research & Writing Guides
The following art history research guides will help you get organized in terms of kicking off your research and structuring your paper:

Writing about Visual Art. (2003) A&A N7476 .C378X 2003 (LC)
Writing about Art. (1999) A&A - N7476 S29 1999 (LC)
The Dissertation: an Architecture Student's Handbook. (2000) A&A Reference - NA2108 B67X 2000 (LC)
Learning to Look at Paintings. (1997) A&A - ND1143 A38X 1997 (LC)
Learning to Look: a Handbook for the Visual Arts.
(1981) A&A - N7477 T39 1981 (LC)
History of Art: a Students' Handbook. (1997) A&A - N380 P56 1997 (LC)

2. Understanding What Yale Has
The Yale University Library has 10+ million volumes available in 22 different libraries on campus, including the Art and Architecture Library. Orbis is the central catalog and searches every Yale library EXCEPT for the Law Library, which has its own catalog, Morris.

- Search the library catalog by names, subject headings, or keywords. Don't enter punctuation within search terms. You may have to try several different strategies depending on your topic. Do not hesitate to contact the Arts Public Services Librarian if you hit a snag.
- Once you find something that you want to see, note where the item is located (it may not be in A&A), note its call number, and note its status (checked out, in process, etc.).

Books: This category includes exhibition catalogs, artists' books, museum collection catalogs, dictionaries, encyclopedias, dissertations, graphic novels, etc.

To find books on a specific artist, search the artist's name as either an AUTHOR or SUBJECT. The artist is often listed as the "author" for exhibition catalogs. Be sure to look at the artist's catalogue raisonnés and art monographs; also note if you're looking at a primary or secondary source. For more information on researching a specific artist / architect in Orbis, click here.

Magazines/Journals/Newspapers: This category includes publications that come out in parts at scheduled intervals of time. They may be published annually, quarterly, monthly, weekly, daily, etc. Many of Yale's magazines/ journals/ newspapers are available online. Each interval of publication is called an issue; issues make up a volume. Issues and volumes are identified by a number and/or date. Be sure to note this information when retrieving a journal from the stacks. For more information on locating articles in the A&A Library, click here.

Archives / Special Collections: Yale University Library has many special collections and archives available to students. While many of the collections' holdings are searchable through Orbis, many have their own separate catalogs or finding aids. Contact the individual library or collection for more information.

3. Getting the Basics Straight

Art & Architecture Style Guidesand Glossaries - If you are unsure about what category or time period your art object falls into or if you are new to art history research, the following resources are helpful. They answer basic questions and often include additional reading suggestions:

1) ArtSpeak: a Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords. (1990) A&A - N6490 A87 1990 (LC)
2) Artspoke: a Guide to Modern Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1848-1944. (1993) A&A - N6447 A85X 1993 (LC)
3) American Architecture Since 1780: a Guide to the Styles. (1992) A&A - NA705 W45 1992 (LC)
4) Architectural Styles: an Historical Guide to World Design. (1982) A&A Reference - NA204 P6713 1981 (LC)

Art & Architecture History Survey Texts - Whether you use your own survey text or one of the following suggestions, all of these resources have detailed indexes that will help you answer some of the questions list above. Oftentimes, additional readings will be included at the end of each chapter that could help you start your bibliography.

1) History of Art. (2001) 6th ed. A&A - N5300 J35 2001 (LC)+
2) Gardner's Art through the Ages. (2001) 11th ed. A&A - N5300 G37 2001 (LC)+
3) The Bulfinch Guide to Art History: a Comprehensive Survey and Dictionary of Western Art and Architecture. (1996) A&A - N380 B85 1996 (LC)
2)
Architecture in the United States: a survey of architectural styles since 1776. (1976) A&A - NA705 H33 (LC)
3) T
he crowning of the American landscape: eight great spaces and their buildings. (1985) LSF - SB470.53 C74 1985 (LC)+
5) American buildings and their architects . (1976) A&A - NA705 P54 1976



Researching a Building
Questions to Ask
Places to Look
WHO: designed it? commissioned it? built it? worked in it? lived in it? used it?
Architectural Guidebooks / Dictionaries & Encyclopedias / Biographical Resources / Journal Articles / Newspaper Articles
WHAT: type of building is it? is its function?its style? changes have been made? materials were used?
Architectural Guidebooks / Journal Articles / Newspaper Articles / Architectural Drawings
WHAT: is its place in architectural design? are its precedents? are its features? condition is it in?is its relationship between its function and style?
Architectural Histories / Architectural Style Guides / Dictionaries & Encyclopedias / Theses & Dissertations
WHAT: was critical response to it? was the local reaction / public opinion? was the political reaction?
Journal Articles / Newspaper Articles / City Histories / Archives
WHERE: does it fit in technologically? did construction materials come from? does it fit into the architect's/designer's career?
Architectural Histories / Biographical Resources / Theses & Dissertations
WHY: is this building important? was it designed the way it was? was it altered (if it was)?
Architectural Histories / Journal Articles / Theses & Dissertations
WHEN: was it commissioned? designed? built? altered?
Architectural Guidebooks / Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
HOW: does it compare to similar structures? does it relate to its environment? do its interior and exterior design relate? has its appearance and functionality changed - is it still serving its orginal purpose?
Architectural Histories / Journal Articles / Newspaper Articles / Archives / Theses & Dissertations



Understanding Different Analyses

Stylistic Analysis: This type of analysis discusses an art object or structure in terms of how it fits into or relates to a stylistic category, e.g. Classical, Romanesque, Gothic, Impressionism, Post-Impressionism, etc. Discuss how historical contexts factor into the way something may or may not fit into a defined style. Examples of stylistic analysis:

- entries in art & architecture dictionaries and encyclopedias
- critiques
- theses and dissertations
- exhibition reviews in journals / magazines / newspapers

Formal Analysis: In this type of analysis, you provide a detailed description of the building's formal qualities, i.e. design, color, line, texture, scale, contrast. Look at the structure and write down what you see. Examples of formal analysis:

- essays in exhibition catalogs
- essays in survey texts
- exhibition reviews in journals / magazines / newspapers
- guidebooks or encyclopedias - especially useful for architectural topics

Iconographical Analysis: Here, you identify a particular element that appears in the building or its design and discuss how that same element occurs in other designs and how this architect's representation of it is unique. You may also discuss what the element means or what its place is in the overall discipline of art and art history. Examples of iconographic analysis:

- The iconography of Correggio's Camera di San Paolo, Erwin Panofsky
- Meaning in the visual arts, Erwin Panofsky
- Entries in Encyclopedia of comparative iconography: themes depicted in works of art
- Gods and heroes of classical antiquity
- Manet and the nude: a study of iconography in the Second Empire
- Seeable signs: the iconography of the seven sacraments, 1350-1544
- theses and dissertations
- journals / magazines
- Collection Catalogs



        
Contact Arts Library | 2008 © Yale University Library |Tuesday, 22-April-2008