USING LIBRARY RESEARCH TOOLS & RESOURCE LIST

AMERICAN ARCHITECTURE - SPRING 2005

Architectural Archives / Architectural Drawings / Architectural Guidebooks / Architectural Histories / Architectural Style Guides / Biographical Resources / City Histories / Dictionaries & Encyclopedias / Journal Articles / Newspapers / Image Resources / Supplementary Resources

Using Library Research Tools
For the purposes of your research paper, you will have to supplement your own analysis of your chosen building with any published information. Having said that, you may not always find published information about your specific structure. Look for related information; the best way to do so is by finding articles, books, primary source materials, etc., that discuss the architect, period, style, or subject matter of work. These resources will give you context in which to better understand the building you are studying. To review the Architecture Historical Research guide, click here.

Architectural Archives
Architectural archives offer a wealth of primary source material about the history of a building, an architect, or a firm. Archives will hold personal papers, building plans & records, drawings, emphemera, firm information, etc. Be sure to allow yourself plenty of time when researching archival materials; they are described differently than printed matter and it is usually more difficult to identify relevant sources.

Online Resources & Organization Web Sites

Archival Resources: This database provides centralized access for searching and retrieval of archival finding aids that have been encoded. Over 100 research institutions have contributed their online finding aids to this central database. This database includes finding aids from several architectural archives located in major U.S. research libraries.

ArchivesUSA: This online current directory covers 5,550 repositories and 149,218 collections of primary source material across the United States. Descriptions of a repository's holdings are provided which serve researchers in determining whether a collection contains material useful to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly.

Architectural Archives Resource List (University of Nevada): comprehensive list of various archival collections in the U.S. and abroad.

Architectural Archives of the University of Pennsylvania: Preserves the works of more than 400 designers from the 18th century to the present. The collection is noted for its Louis I. Kahn Collection whose resources include all drawings, models, photographs, correspondence, and project files from Kahn's office. Other major architects represented in the collection include Alfred Bendiner, Cope and Stewardson, Paul Philippe Cret, Frank Miles Day, Wilson Eyre, Frank Furness, Edmund Gilchrist, Lawrence Halprin, Warren Powers Laird, Mitchell/Giurgola, John Nolan, Frank Lloyd Wright, and Zantzinger Borie and Medary. In addition to these American 19th and 20th-century architects, the Architectural Archives collects the work of several significant European architects. The Freidrich Weinbrenner collection is the most important archive of this architect's work outside of Europe and provided the basis for a major exhibition and scholarly catalogue by Professor David B. Brownlee.

Drawings and Archives Department- Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library: The drawings collection was formed by Henry Ogden Avery's drawings and now contains approximately 400,000 drawings, photographs, letters, and manuscripts relating to architecture and architects. The focus of the collection is American architecture, with a strong emphasis on New York City and its architectural history. Included in this collection are several important archives: Richard Upjohn, Alexander Jackson Davis, Greene & Greene, Warren & Wetmore, Harold van Buren Magonigle, Stanford White, Wallace K. Harrison, Gordon Bunshaft, Philip Johnson and the archives of the Guastavino Fireproof Construction Company.

Canadian Centre for Architecture: The CAA Archives Department collects, conserves, and makes available archival resources of individuals and groups who have worked in a significant way, on the local or international scale, in the areas of architecture, urban planning, or landscape architecture. Since the collection began in 1981, particular attention has been paid to the archives of architects' offices. Click here for a collections list.

Historic American Buildings Survey / Historic American Engineering Survey: HABS and the HAER collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types and engineering technologies including examples as diverse as the Pueblo of Acoma, houses, windmills, one-room schools, the Golden Gate Bridge, and buildings designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. Administered since 1933 through cooperative agreements with the National Park Service, the Library of Congress, and the private sector, ongoing programs of the National Park Service have recorded America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising more than 350,000 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 35,000 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century. HABS/HAER online collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, data pages including written histories, and supplemental materials.

Ryerson & Burnham Archives (Art Institute of Chicago): The Archives' collections are notably strong in late 19th- and 20th-century American architecture, with particular depth in Midwest architecture. Architects such as Edward Bennett, Daniel Burnham, Bruce Goff, Bertrand Goldberg, Ludwig Hilberseimer, Mies van der Rohe, Louis Sullivan, and Frank Lloyd Wright are represented in a broad range of papers. As well, the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893 in Chicago is documented through photographs by C.D. Arnold and through a small collection of ephemera. The Historic Architecture and Landscape Image Collection (HALIC), a large collection of mounted photographic prints and lantern slides, provides valuable historic records of American architecture, landscape design, and urban planning. Clcik here for collections descriptions.

Yale University Manuscripts & Archives - Features documentation on art, architecture, and drama including sources related both to the teaching and practice of those fields at Yale and more general sources about their existence in the wider world. Manuscripts and Archives also collects broadly in the areas of public policy and administration; diplomacy and international affairs; political and social thought and commentary; science, medicine, and the environment; legal and judicial history; the visual and performing arts; urban planning and architecture; environmental policy and affairs; and psychology and psychiatry. In addition, the department has extensive holdings on New Haven, Connecticut, and New England history. Manuscripts and Archives houses many papers and records which contain material on Yale architects and buildings. Official University archival records also contain extensive information on Yale buildings. Depending upon the date of construction, architectural information may be found in the records of the university treasurers, presidents, and the Buildings and Grounds Department and its successors. There is also a collection of drawings from numerous university offices in Yale University architectural drawings collection. This collection has approximately 11,000 design, preliminary, working, shop, and "as built" architectural drawings reproduced (in 1980) as 35mm negatives and individually indexed and mounted on cards for easy viewing in the reading room. Drawings may be vague and conceptual in nature or as specific as full scale details of faucet fixtures.


Architectural Drawings
Whether you are trying to find a basic floor plan, elevation maps, or bona fide blue prints, searching for architectural drawings can lead you to a variety of resources and collections. For image specific online resources that include architectural drawings, see Image Resources.

1. Finding Reproductions of Plans and Drawings
- Find library materials with reproductions in ORBIS.
Suggested Subject Headings:

Architecture--Designs and Plans
Architecture--Designs and Plans--Catalogs
Architecture, Domestic--United States--Designs and plans
Buildings--United States--Drawings
Architecture Details
Architecture Designs and Plans-- Bibliography
Architecture Details--Early works to 1800
Sample Keyword Searches:
"designs" in Keyword Anywhere AND "skyscrapers" in Keyword Anywhere AND "architecture" in Keyword Anywhere
"drawings" in Keyword Anywhere AND "rudolph" in Keyword Anywhere AND "yale" in Keyword Anywhere

- Find journal articles with reproductions
a) Launch the Avery Index; b) select "Advanced Search"; c) in the first pull-down menu under "Building your search strategy", select "Physical Description (PH=)" and in the blank field, enter the type of rendering you want. For example, if you want drawings, enter "drawings" and all of the records retrieved will be for articles that including drawings.
Example: (Physical Description - "drawings OR plans") AND (Subject/Artist - "Ando") = 547 articles (all with renderings)

2. Finding Original Drawings
Original drawings will most likely be housed in an archival or special collection. Many of the plans for Yale buildings are in the University Library's Manuscripts and Archives collection.
To track down original materials from an architect, try to locate where - if at all - that architect's archives are located. Be sure to ask a reference librarian if you are having difficulties.



Architectural Guidebooks
Guidebooks provide quick answers to basic "who" and "when" questions regarding the architectural history of a building, its architects, and its role in the city or neighborhood.

New Haven & Yale Specific

Suggested Subject Headings to search with in ORBIS:
Architecture--Connecticut--New Haven--Guidebooks
City planning--Connecticut--New Haven
Buildings--Connecticut--New Haven
Dwellings--Connecticut--New Haven
Yale University--Buildings--Pictorial works

Buildings and grounds of Yale University. Richard C. Carroll, ed. New Haven: Yale University, 1979. A&A Reference - LD6337 Y33 1979 (LC)
New Haven, a guide to architecture and urban design. Elizabeth Mills Brown. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1976. A&A Reference - NA735 N39 B38 (LC)
New Haven architecture 1950-1996. The Alliance for Architecture. New Haven: The Alliance for Architecture, 1997. SML Manuscripts & Archives - Ydd4 997c
New Haven heritage: an area of historic houses on Hillhouse Avenue and Trumbull Street. New Haven Preservation Trust, 1974. A&A - NA735 N39 K44 (LC)
Yale University. Patrick Pinnell. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1999. A&A - LD6338 P55X 1999 (LC)
Yale: A pictorial history. New Haven, Yale University Press, 1967. A&A Locked Case - Ydp 967H

General Resources

Suggested Subject Headings to search with in ORBIS:
Architecture--United States--Guidebooks
Architecture, Modern--20th century--United States--Guidebooks.

American architecture: a field guide to the most important examples. William Dudley Hunt, Jr. New York: Harper & Row, c1984. A&A - NA705 H85 1984 (LC)
The architecture traveler: a guide to 250 key 20th century American buildings. Sydney LeBlanc. New York: Norton, 2000. A&A - NA712 L4X 2000 (LC)
Buildings of the United States. NY: Oxford, 1993- (In progress). This collection of architectural guidebooks (projected to be 55 vols.) was undertaken by the Society of Architectural Historians. Each volume covers a single state - call #s vary.
Source book of American architecture: 500 notable buildings from the 10th century to the present. G.E. Kidder Smith. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1996. ONLINE or A&A Reference - NA705 S578X 1996 (LC)
Treasures of American architecture and their architects. John D. Randall. Williamsville, N.Y. : J. Randall, 1992. A&A Reference - Z5944 U5 R36 1992 (LC)



Architectural Histories

Suggested Subject Headings to search with in ORBIS:
Architecture--History
Architecture--[country]--[city], Architecture--England--Cambridge
Building History
Vernacular Architecture

Sir Banister Fletcher's a history of architecture. (20th ed.) Oxford; Boston: Architectural Press, 1996. A&A and CCL - NA200 F54 1996 (LC)
Architectural technology up to the scientific revolution: the art and structure of large-scale buildings. Robert Mark, ed. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 1993. A&A - TH15 A73X 1993 (LC)
Architecture: the critics' choice: 150 masterpieces of western architecture. Dan Cruikshank, ed. London: Aurum, 2000. A&A - NA200 .A733 2000 (LC)
Buildings that changed the world. Klaus Reichold & Bernhard Graf. Munich: Prestel, 2003. LSF - NA2550 .R45 2003 (LC)+
Cities & people: a social and architectural history. Mark Girouard. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1985. A&A - NA200 C76 1985 (LC)
A history of Western architecture. David Watkin. New York: Watson-Guptill Publications, 2000. A&A - NA200 W38 2000 (LC)
The story of architecture. Jonathan Glancey. London; New York: Dorling Kindersley, 2003. CCL - NA200 .G55 2003 (LC)+ Oversize


Architectural Style Guides

Sample Subject Headings to search with in ORBIS:
Architecture--History
Building History

Bank buildings
Court-houses--(Name of location)
Extinct cities
Mill and factory buildings
Poor--Housing
Public housing--(Name of location)
California Roadside architecture
Suburban homes--(Name of location)
Vernacular architecture--(Name of location)

American Architecture since 1780: a guide to the styles. Marcus Whiffen. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 1992.
A&A - NA705 W45 1992 (LC)

Architectural styles: an historical guide to world design. Herbert Pothorn. N.Y.: Facts on File, 1982. A&A Reference - NA204 P6713 1981 (LC)
Architecture and preservation in Connecticut : a guide to historic homes, churches and architectural styles. Coppa and Avery Consultants. Monticello, Ill.: Vance Bibliographies, 1981. A&A Reference - Z5944 U5 C56 (LC)
Architecture in the United States. Dell Upton. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1998. Available ONLINE or CCL - NA705 U78X 1998 (LC).
Architecture in the United States, 1800-1850. W. Barksdale Maynard. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2002. A&A - NA710 .M39X 2002 (LC)
Architecture in the United States: a survey of architectural styles since 1776. Ralph W. Hammett. New York: Wiley, 1976. A&A -NA705 H33 (LC)

Identifying American architecture, a pictorial guide to styles and terms, 1600-1945. John J.-G. Blumenson. 2d ed., rev. and enl. Nashville: American Association for State and Local History; New York : Norton, 1981. A&A - NA705 B55 1981 (LC)



Biographical Resources
Yale Unviersity Library and the A&A Library have many general and specialized biographical resources in their collections. In addition to some of the sources listed above, the following are also useful places to search when answering "who" questions.

Suggested Subject Headings to search with in ORBIS:
Architects--[place]--Bibliography, Architects--France--Bibliography
Architects--[place]--Dictionaries
[place]--Biography--Dictionaries

General Resources

Biography and Genealogy Master Index. Indexes current, readily available reference sources and important retrospective works that cover nationally known individuals, both living and deceased. Available online and in print - SML Starr Reference - Z5305 U5 B562 (LC)+.

Biography Index. N.Y., H.W. Wilson, 1946--. Citations for biographical material on nationally-known people appear in more than 3,000 periodicals, 2,500 current books (annually) of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Online coverage 1984--. For earlier years, volumes 1-13 (1946/49-1984/86) are available as print set in SML Starr Reference - Z5301 B56 (LC)

Architecture Related

American architects: a survey of award-winning contemporaries and their notable works. Les Krantz. New York: Facts on File,1989. A&A Reference: NA736 K7 1989 (LC)

Contemporary architects. 3rd ed. NY: St. James Press, 1994. Covers more than 400 architects worldwide who worked from 1920 to 1987. Signed entries include lists of works, publications by and about the architect, a photograph of a representative building and a short passage written by the architect describing his or her thoughts about their own work is included. A&A Reference: NA40 C65 1994 (LC)+

International Dictionary of Architects & Architecture (1993): The first volume features biographical information on 523 architects, theorists, engineers, interior designers, landscape architects, and urban planners; the second volume features 467 buildings ranging from Ancient Greece to postmodernism and deconstructivism. Entries on buildings will include dates of construction, architec (if known), listings of additions or alterations. Focus is primarily on Western architects and structures with special attention given to Eastern European architects and architecture. 1993 edition available online through the Biographical Resource Center and in print at the A&A Reference - NA40 I48X 1993 (LC)+.

Macmillan encyclopedia of architects. Adolf K. Placzek, editor in chief. New York: Free Press, 1982. Illustrated biographies on architects worldwide who were born before December 30, 1931, or are deceased. Scholarly entries also include a list of works and bibliography. A building name index is located at the end of volume 4. Arranged alphabetically by architect's name. A&A Reference: NA40 M25 1982 (LC)+

Makers of 20th century modern architecture: a bio-critical sourcebook. Donald Leslie Johnson. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. Includes architects and engineers who "initiated, developed, or advanced" modern (mostly Western) architecture in the 20th century. Introductory essay and overview of 20th century architecture. Entries provide brief chronology/biography and footnoted critical essay, with bibliography. Coda contains intriguing quotes. Separate chronology, and name and place indexes. SML Starr Main Reference Room - NA680 J628X 1997 (LC)

Sources of modern architecture. Dennis Sharp. London: Granada, 1981. Provides brief biographical information on over 150 architects considered part of the modern movement. Includes lists of works by and about the architect, and photographs of many of the architects. A&A Reference: Z5941.5 S32 1981 (LC)

The Thames and Hudson encyclopaedia of 20th century design and designers. Guy Julier. New York: Thames and Hudson, 1993. A&A - NK1166 J85 1993 (LC)

Who's who in architecture : from 1400 to the present. New York : Holt, Rinehart and Winston, c1977. A&A Reference - NA40 W48 (LC)


City Histories

Suggested Subject Headings to search with in ORBIS:
[place]--Description and travel
[place]--Guidebooks
Cities and towns--[place]--History
City planners--Biography
City planners--[place]
City planning--[place]
Yale University--Buildings--History.
Architecture--Connecticut--New Haven--History
City planning--Connecticut--New Haven--History

New Haven Resources

Yale in New Haven: architecture & urbanism. Vincent Scully. New Haven: Yale UP, 2004.
City: urbanism and its end. Douglas W. Rae. New Haven: Yale UP, 2003.
Yale Bowl and the open trolleys. John D. Somers. Pittsburgh: Dorrance Publishing Co., 1996.

General Resources

Anthropological Literature: (1984 - Present) Contains citations to articles and essays in the fields of anthropology and archaeology. Subjects covered include art history, landscape history, ethnohistory, geography, folklore, geology, and history. Anthropological Literature is a bibliographic index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Useful subject terms include: cities and towns history [name of place]; city planning history; extinct cities; land settlement patterns [name of place]; and, urbanization history.

Periodicals Contents Index: (1770 - 1995) An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues (1770) to 1995. Includes some full text access. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. Titles indexed include Cities, JAPA, Journal of Urban History, and Town Planning Review.



Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
While the A&A Library has many architecture specific dictionaries and encyclopedias, oftentimes the fast facts about a building can be found in general and even art-specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.

General Resources

Encyclopædia Britannica: Includes complete encyclopedia (15th ed.). Users can simultaneously search the encyclopedia, reviews of the Web sites, articles, and related books. More than 65,000 subjects are addressed in articles ranging from concise explanations to comprehensive expositions and from historical treatments of subjects to current-events coverage. Print versions available in Sterling's Starr Reference Room - AE5 E52 2001 (LC)+ Coverage: 2001 - Present

Grove Dictionary of Art: The Dictionary of Art Online is a fully searchable copy of the print dictionary (published in 1996), including some but not all of the illustrations and photographs in the print version. Online version includes annual additions of new material. Although not specific to architecture, the dictionary includes biographical entries (signed and incl. biblioography) for architects and a broader coverage of the discipline in general. Print version available in A&A Reference - N31 D5X 1996 (LC). Coverage: 1996 - Present

Architecture Related

archINFORM: This database for international architecture, originally emerging from records of interesting building projects from architecture students, hasmeanwhile become the largest online-database about worldwide architects and buildings from past to present. Includes over 12000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. Primarily covers 20th c. Interface in German or English.

The classical language of architecture. John Summerson. London: Thames and Hudson, 1980. A&A - NA31 S96 1980 (LC)

A concise glossary of terms used in Grecian, Roman, Italian, and Gothic architecture. John Henry Parker. (8th ed.) Oxford, London, J. Parker and Co., 1892. LSF - WA 9812

A dictionary of architecture and building. Russell Sturgis. NY: MacMillan Company; London: MacMillan., 1901-1902. A&A - NA31 S89 (LC)

A dictionary of the architecture and archaeology of the middle ages: including words used by ancient and modern authors in in treating of architectural and other antiquities ... also, biographical notices of ancient architects.
John Britton London, Longman, Orme, Brown, Green, and Longmans [etc.] 1838. BAC - NA31 B78 1836b+

Elsevier's dictionary of architecture in five languages: English, French, Spanish, German, and Dutch. Amsterdam; New York: Elsevier Science Publishers, 1988. A&A Reference - NA31 E56 1988 (LC).

An encyclopædia of architecture, historical, theoretical, & practical. Joseph Gwilt ... Illustrated with more than eleven hundred engravings on wood by R. Branston from drawings by John Sebastian Gwilt. Rev., with alterations and considerable additions, by Wyatt Papworth ... Additionally illustrated with nearly four hundred engravings on wood by O. Jewitt, and nearly two hundred other illustrations. London, Longmans, Green, and co., 1881. SML - Jaf45 842Gd

Encyclopedia of architectural technology. Pedro Guedes, ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1979. Architectural styles, building types, building techniques through the ages, including the present. A&A Reference - NA31 E58 (LC)+

Encyclopedia of 20th-century architecture. R. Stephen Sennott, editor. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004. Short biographical sketches written by architectural historians. Most entries include at least two references sources to further information on the architect. A&A Reference - NA680 .E495X 2004 (LC)+.

Encyclopedia of vernacular architecture of the world. Paul Oliver, ed. Cambridge, U.K.; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1997. 3 vols. Comprehensive encyclopedia with articles by experts in their fields. Vol. 1, theories and principles; Vols. 2-3, cultures and habitats, geographically. Complex hierarchical and alphabetical organizational structure--be sure to read the explanation on how to use. Includes cross-references, glossary, comparative lexikon of terms in 6 languages, bibliography, index of cultures, habitats, nations and locations, and general index. A&A Reference - NA208 E53X 1997 (LC)

Glossarium Artis. Munchen: K.G. Saur. 1977-- v.1-- . Series of illustrated dictionaries of highly specialized art and architectural terms in English, French and German. Each volume a separate topic. A&A Reference

Illustrated dictionary of architecture. Ernest Burden. [New York] : McGraw-Hill, 2002. A&A Reference - NA31 B83X 2002 (LC)

International Dictionary of Architects & Architecture (1993): The first volume features biographical information on 523 architects, theorists, engineers, interior designers, landscape architects, and urban planners; the second volume features 467 buildings ranging from Ancient Greece to postmodernism and deconstructivism. Entries on buildings will include dates of construction, architec (if known), listings of additions or alterations. Focus is primarily on Western architects and structures with special attention given to Eastern European architects and architecture. 1993 edition available online through the Biographical Resource Center and in print at the A&A Reference - NA40 I48X 1993 (LC)+.

The Penguin dictionary of architecture and landscape architecture. John Fleming. 5th ed. London, England; New York, N.Y., USA: Penguin Books, 1998. A&A Reference - NA31 F55 1998 (LC)

A visual dictionary of architecture. Francis D.K. Ching. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1995. A&A Reference - NA31 C44X 1995 (LC)+



Journal Articles - For a quick look at Arts-related databases, click here. For fast date coverage information, access the peridoical index comparison chart here. Be sure to note additional supplementary resources.

General Resources - Current

Academic Search: Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for 4,450+ scholarly publications, including 3,500+ peer-reviewed publications. Offers full-text and indexing and abstracts for all 7,888 journals in the collection. Covers most disciplines. Although this resource is not specific to architecture, it covers magazines / journals specific that do, e.g. Architectural Heritage, Architectural Digest, Architectural Review, etc. Coverage: Varies with each magazine but general coverage is 1975-Present.

Web of Science: The ISI Citation Databases collectively index more than 8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover, providing users with complete bibliographic data, full-length author abstracts, and cited references from the world's most influential research with online backfiles access now completely matching the print editions. Years of coverage for: Science Citation Index Expanded 1945 to present; Social Sciences Citation Index: 1956 to present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index: 1975 to present. For a source list of all titles indexed, click here.

Architecture Related Resources - Current

Architectural Index: Indexes architects, designers, and architectural firms; searches combinations of architect / designer, location, magazine (~ 20), building type or subject. Less scholarly than the Avery Index, but great for architect information. Coverage varies w/each magazine. General Coverage: 1982-Present

ARTbibliographies Modern: Index to full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year. While the emphasis is on art, there is modest coverage of modern architecture and architects. Useful for interior design topics. For a complete list of journals indexed, click here. Coverage: 1974 to Present.

Art Abstracts/Art Full Text: Indexes articles from American and foreign periodicals (300+ titles) and museum bulletins dealing with the arts and related disciplines, e.g., archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, fine arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, photography, films and museums. For a list of journals covered, click here. Print equivalent is "Art Index"; Art & Architecture Library has volumes 1 (1929) through 44 (1996). Later volumes are located at Sterling and the British Art Center. Indexing coverage began in 1984; abstracting coverage began in 1994; full-text coverage (of select journals) began in 1997.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals: Comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Include is the entire Burnham Index to Periodical Literature. Coverage: 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the Present.

BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art: Extensive and comprehensive index of current writing on Western fine arts (architecture, sculpture, painting, drawing, and prints) as well as decorative and applied arts, industrial design and architecture, popular and folk art, and material culture of interest to art historians. Photography, new media and the performing arts are also covered in connection with the visual arts. Indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. BHA includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) from 1973 to 1989 and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989. Print versions of the following are available in A&A: BHA (1991-1999), RAA (1910-1989); in LSF or Sterling: RILA (1975 - 1989). BHA Coverage: 1973 to Present.

Design and Applied Arts Index: Covers 450+ design and craft journals; includes data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making the largest database of its kind in the world. Specific areas covered include industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management. Coverage: 1975 - 2001

Architecture Related Resources - Historical

Art Index Retrospective: Citations to articles from American and foreign periodicals (300+ titles) and museum bulletins dealing with the arts and related disciplines such as archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, fine arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, photography, films and museums. Cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Print equivalent is "Art Index"; Art & Architecture Library has volumes 1 (1929) through 44 (1996). Later volumes are located at Sterling and the British Art Center.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals: Includes selective coverage dating back to the 1860s through the present.

Burnham Index to Architectural Literature: Begun in 1919, this index covers approximately 600+ monographs and serials with an emphasis on Midwestern materials; 3% overlap with the Avery Index before 1940 and 30% overlap afterwards. Also includes entries for Burnham Library scrapbooks. Available in print it the A&A Reference - Z5944 U5 B87 1989 (LC)+ or online in the Avery Index. Coverage: 1860s to 1960s.

Index to19th Century American Art Periodicals: Indexes and abstracts 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century. Provides the entire journal contents articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements and information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting. Coverage: 1800s-1900.


Newspapers - Current & Historical

Historical Newspapers Online: Features the index to The Times (London) - based on Palmer's Index to the Times - which covers the period from 1790 to 1905. Palmer's Full Text Online covers 1785-1870, providing access to the full articles referenced in Palmer's Index to The Times. Coverage varies: Palmer's Index to the Times - 1790 to 1905; Official Index to the Times - 1906 to 1980; Historical Index to the New York Times - 1863 to 1905, and 1913-September 1922; Palmer's Index to the Times 1790-1905 and the Official Index to The Times, 1906-1980 are complete and fully available.Print version of Palmer's is in SML Reference Ai21 T543 (LC).

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: Full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, transcripts, business and legal information. Coverage varies with each title: 1990s - Present.

New Haven Register: June, 2004 - Present (Infotrac)

New Haven Register: For earlier years, check Orbis for holdings & locations.

New York Times Online: 1980 - Present (Academic Universe); 2001 - Present (Proquest)

New York Times Online: 1851 - 1999 (Proquest)

Nineteenth Century Masterfile: This index searches across six periodical indexes and seven patent and government indice. Dates of coverage vary with each index: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906); Index to Legal Periodical Literature (1786-1922)l Index to Periodical Articles in Religion (1890-1899); Psychological Index (1894-1905); Index to Periodicals (1890-1906); Cumulative Index to a Selected List of Periodicals (1896-1899).


Images Resources
For a complete list of the Arts Library's image resources, click here.

American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920: This teaching collection from the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University comprises the lantern slides from the schools of Architecture, Landscape Architecture and City Planning, which were combined in 1936 to form the Graduate School of Design. Approximately 2,800 images are available.

AMICO: The AMICO Library consists of over 90,000 digital images of works of art from ancient to contemporary times representing world-wide cultural heritage. Types of works include paintings, sculptures, prints, drawings, photographs, textiles, costumes and jewelry, works of decorative art, architecture, books and manuscripts, multimedia works, installations, and digital art. To access AMICO, you must use the Insight Client. For more information on the Insight Client, click here.

ArtServe: Art and Architecture mainly from the Mediterranean Basin: Searchable access to around 150,000 images - all concerned in some way with the history of art and architecture. Results come up in pages with thumbnail images, usually expandable to maximum width or height of 400 pixels. Can also be browsed by artist, country, or medium, as well as survey area. Covers primarily ancient, Gothic, Renaissance, through 19th century periods.

Associated Press Photo Archive: Image database of over one million primary-source photos from the 1840s to date. The AP Photo Archive is update daily. Every photo contains a complete caption and citation information.

Digital Imaging Project (Bluffton College): A collection of images from the classical Greek period to the Post-Modern consisting of architecture and sculpture that is arranged by name of the architect or artist, location, or date. There is also a section of women architects' work, with information on more than 60 buildings by Julia Morgan. All images include a date and a description. Though it's a personal web page, the images are helpful and several will cover a single building or monument.

Grove Dictionary of Art: Features some but not all of the illustrations and photographs in the print version as well as the Bridgeman Art Library's 40,000+ links to art images in galleries and museums around the world.

Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER): These collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types and engineering technologies including examples as diverse as the Pueblo of Acoma, houses, windmills, one-room schools, the Golden Gate Bridge, and buildings designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. Administered since 1933 through cooperative agreements with the National Park Service, the Library of Congress, and the private sector, ongoing programs of the National Park Service have recorded America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising more than 350,000 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 35,000 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century.

Medieval Architecture in France: A collection of images of French architecture from the Middle Ages. Included for many of the buildings are maps of locations, floor plans, photos, and brief descriptions. There is an illustrated Glossary of Medieval Art and Architecture.

Philadelphia Architects & Buildings: As of August 2004, this database contained 216,850 projects and buildings, 20,164 architects, engineers and contractors, and over 49,920 images. Includes structures primarily in Philadelphia, Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery Counties, all the Philadelphia Historical Commission list of significant buildings, and the Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission’s inventory of historic structures. All local buildings represented in the Athenæum and the University of Pennsylvania architectural collections, as well as the original architectural holdings of such institutions as the Historical Society of Pennsylvania and the Library Company of Philadelphia are included in the database.

SPIRO: This is the online image database for the Architectural Visual Resources Library at UC-Berkeley.As of January 2004, SPIRO included 63,000 records linked to images (~20% of AVRL's total slide collection). Covers all periods and all dates.

Visual Resources Collection (via Insight): The Visual Resources Collection supports courses in the history of art, architecture, and American studies that use slides or digital images in the classroom. Its collection of digital images is available using the Insight software (click here to download client) or through the Digital Library. The Insight client is available on most Yale Library public workstations.



Supplementary Resources

ATLA / ATLAS Religion Database: The ATLA/ATLAS Religion Database is a comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. The file contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. It also includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (R IT) , and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Approximately 15% of citations now have full text available through the ATLAS project. Coverage: 1949 - Present

Hagiography Database: The Dumbarton Oaks Hagiography database was originally issued in 1998 as a set of floppy disks and is now available freely online. The database contains bio-bibliographical information about saints from the 8th-10th centuries. It is divided into sections: Saints' lists, Authors' lists and a searchable section of citations. The co-directors of the original project were Alexander Kazhdan and Alice-Mary Talbot.

Humanities Abstracts: Humanities Abstracts Full Text, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a bibliographic database that cites articles from more than 350 English-language periodicals, plus the full text of over 95 of those periodicals. It covers the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, folklore, general scholarship, history, journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion and theology. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage: 1995 - Present.

MLA Bibliography: The MLA Bibliography indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, excluding book reviews. The database provides access to citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. The print volumes go back to 1921 and the database covers from 1963 to the present. The MLA Bibliography continues the Modern Language Association Annual Bibliography. For earlier volumes, check the SML Card Catalog under "Modern Language Association." Coverage: 1963 - present.

Theses and Dissertations
Theses and dissertations are an important componant to a scholarly art history bibliography. It is worth noting how scholars have arranged their theses and dissertations, what sources they used, and what images they have selected for their accompanying catalogs. In addition, many scholarly topics are captured and treated in great depth only by theses and dissertations. It is essential to supplement any line of research with these invalable resources.

Dissertations & Theses Full Text: This general online resource contains 1.6 million+ entries with information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses from all disciplines. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available. To obtain a complete dissertation published after 1997, use the free order/downloading procedure in Digital Dissertations to receive a link to the PDF fulltext by email. If there is no option to download the fulltext of a post-1997 dissertation, this means that the author has refused to grant these rights. Coverage: 1861 - Present.

Index to Theses: Accepted for Higher Degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland: The Index to Theses allows one to search all theses ever produced by British and Irish universities (1716 to the present). Access is by author, title, university, degree, year, and keyword. Abstracts are included for titles written since 1970. Full text is not provided, but copies of the dissertations may be requested through interlibrary loan. Coverage: 1716 to Present

Yale Dissertations: This is a subset of Digital Dissertations allowing you to search citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by Yale. Includes 24-page previews of Yale dissertations and theses published after 1996 and the ability to download the full text of Yale dissertations and theses published after 1996 (if you are an authorized user from Yale, the downloaded copies are free).


        
Contact Arts Library | 2008 © Yale University Library |Tuesday, 22-April-2008