. .
decorative image
ARTS AREA DATABASES

Architecture | Art & Art History | Classics | Drama & Theater Arts | General Humanities |Now that you've found a citation, where is the article?|

Individual Architecture-Related Databases

Art Full Text
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1984 - Present; select full-text: 1997 - Present; abstracting: 1994 - Present.
Citations to articles from American and foreign periodicals and museum bulletins dealing with history of art, architecture and related disciplines. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Art Abstracts also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. For complete list of indexed journals, click here.

Art Index Retrospective
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1929 - 1984
Cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Retrospective index to Art Full Text.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1975 - Present
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. For journal directory, click here.

ARTstor
Vended Image database
is an image database and presentation tool, which currently contains approximately 300,000 digital images. By 2006, it is expected to contain over 500,000. The image collections in ARTstor cover architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and many other forms of visual materials. All periods and many cultures are represented.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodical Literature
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1930s (selective coverage to 1860s) to the present
Indexes articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation and is often the best resource available for less-published architects. It also contains references to more than 13,000 obituary citations. For a list of journals indexed, click here.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1973 - Present
Citations and abstracts of art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals covering current writing on Western fine arts, history of art and architecture. As of April 1, 2010, the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) will be available free of charge on the Getty Web site.

Building Green Suite
Vended Online database
The BuildingGreen Suite of online tools provides information on green design. It integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News, and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies.

Design & Applied Arts Index
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1973 - Present
Contains annotated references to articles in design and craft journals and covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century. For a list of journals indexed, click here.

Design Abstracts Retrospective
Vended Periodical Index
The retrospective index of Design and Applied Arts Index, provides broad, international coverage on a wide range of subjects in the fields of design. This database includes a particular emphasis on European publications. DAR contains more than 24,000 abstracts and is updated quarterly, with 15,000 records added per year.

Grove - Oxford Art Online
Vended Online Encyclopedia
Types of articles include artist biographies, surveys of art by location, artistic styles, schools and movements; art patronage, and materials and techniques. Articles are peer reviewed. The online Dictionary is updated frequently. Corresponds to and updates the 34-volume Dictionary of Art published in 1996.

Index Islamicus
Vended Periodical Index
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with some going back to 1906. The print edition extends coverage back to 1605.

Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals
Vended Periodical Index
Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. The Index describes the entire journal contents articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements.

MAD CAD
Vended Online Database
Contains building codes, knowledge-based design solutions and, guidelines to meet the codes. Provides access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA; including comprehensive state and local codes.

Material Connexion
Vended Online Database: Coverage: current industrial manufacturing products, processes, and processed raw materials.
Contains over 1,400 materials and processes. The online materials database allows you to discover the latest and most exciting materials originating from a large spectrum of industries-typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. Historical products or companies are not covered.

RIBA Online Catalogue
Free Public Periodical Index: Coverage: 1494 - present
The RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue includes an index to over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals held in the RIBA Library. Includes a catalogue of the RIBA Library Photographs Collection, and other materials acquired by the RIBA Library Drawings Collection since 1986, with brief entries for all earlier acquisitions, a catalogue of the RIBA Library Manuscripts Collection, and a biographical database of architects.

WorldCat
Vended Online Library Union Catalogue

WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center's (OCLC) online "union catalog"; that is, its database of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.

Individual Art & Art History Related Databases

Archives Directory for the History of Collecting in America
Free Public Online Database
Provided by the Frick Art Reference Library: A database of dealer and collector archives consolidating information about repositories, dealers, collectors, and dealer archives (including dealer photograph archives). This tool provides essential information for scholars working in the fast-growing field of the history of collecting.

ARTbibliographies Modern
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1974 - Present
Indexes journals covering modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art. Scope extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends. Click here for list of indexed journals.

Art Full Text
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1984 - Present; select full-text: 1997 - Present; abstracting: 1994 - Present.
Citations to articles from American and foreign periodicals and museum bulletins dealing with history of art, architecture and related disciplines. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Art Abstracts also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. For complete list of indexed journals, click here.

Art Index Retrospective
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1929 - 1984
Cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Retrospective index to Art Full Text.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1975 - Present
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. For journal directory, click here.

artlibraries.net – Virtual Catalogue for Art History
Free Online Library Union Catalogue
Virtual Union Catalogue for Art History, formerly the VKK, this free search tool is a European specialized union library catalogue. It gives access to more than 6 million records in various European art libraries.

ARTstor
Vended Image database
is an image database and presentation tool, which currently contains approximately 300,000 digital images. By 2006, it is expected to contain over 500,000. The image collections in ARTstor cover architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and many other forms of visual materials. All periods and many cultures are represented.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1973 - Present
Citations and abstracts of art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals covering current writing on Western fine arts, history of art and architecture. As of April 1, 2010, the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) will be available free of charge on the Getty Web site.

Conservation Information Network (BCIN)
Free Online Database. Coverage: 1987 - Present
BCIN is one of three conservation databases first released in 1987. CIN's objective is to facilitate the retrieval and exchange of information concerning conservation and restoration of cultural property. Contains over 190,000 bibliographic citations for conservation literature.

Design & Applied Arts Index
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1973 - Present
Contains annotated references to articles in design and craft journals and covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century. For a list of journals indexed, click here.

Design Abstracts Retrospective
Vended Periodical Index
The retrospective index of Design and Applied Arts Index, provides broad, international coverage on a wide range of subjects in the fields of design. This database includes a particular emphasis on European publications. DAR contains more than 24,000 abstracts and is updated quarterly, with 15,000 records added per year.

DYABOLA
Vended Online Database
Contains electronic subject catalogs of publications on the history of art and the ancient world. Our subscription includes the subject catalogue of European pre- and early history and the archeology of the Roman provinces in the RGK (Roman-Germanic Commission) in Frankfurt, and the Realkatalog of the DAI (German Archaeological Institute) in Rome.

FRANCIS
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1984 to present
Contains a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, and economics . Strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, with emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Includs serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, and more.

Grove - Oxford Art Online
Vended Online Encyclopedia
Online encyclopedia: types of articles include artist biographies, surveys of art by location, artistic styles, schools and movements; art patronage, and materials and techniques. Articles are peer reviewed. The online Dictionary is updated frequently. Corresponds to and updates the 34-volume Dictionary of Art published in 1996.

Humanities Full Text
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1984 - Present
A bibliographic database that cites articles from more than 350 English-language periodicals, plus full-text of over 95 of those periodicals. It covers the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, history, and much more.

Index Of Christian Art
Online Vended Index

The Index, produced at Princeton University, can presently provide access to complex information on approximately 200,000 photographic reproductions of Christian art in the east and west from early apostolic times up to 1400 A.D. The term Christian is broadly construed and by no means restricted to art produced within ecclesiastical contexts or theological in theme. Classical Gods, crocodiles and comets are all included in the Index if found in a Christian context.

Index Islamicus
Vended Periodical Index
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with some going back to 1906. The print edition extends coverage back to 1605.

Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals
Vended Periodical Index
Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. The Index describes the entire journal contents articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements.

IRIS Consortium
Free Online Library Union Catalog
A library union catalog founded in 1993. It  is an association of Florentine area art history and humanities libraries.

JSTOR
Vended Periodical Index
A historic archive of scholarly journals that includes the arts and humanities.

The Montias Database of 17th Century Dutch Art Inventories
Free Public Online Database
Provided by the Frick Art Reference Library: The Frick Art Reference Library hosts a unique database of inventories of Dutch 16th and 17th century art collections compiled by late Yale University Professor John Michael Montias. Drawn largely from the Gemeentearchief in Amsterdam, these inventories contain a wealth of information that can elucidate patterns of buying, selling, inventorying and collecting art in Holland during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

NYARC Arcade
Free Public Online Library Union Catalogue
Arcade is the catalog for three members of the New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC). Arcade unites the collections of the Frick Art Reference Library and the libraries of the Brooklyn Museum and The Museum of Modern Art.

SCIPIO
Vended Online Library Union Catalogue
Index to Art and Rare Books Sales Catalogs is the only online union catalog of auction catalog records in existence. SCIPIO provides bibliographic access to valuable sources of information on the provenance of art objects and rare books, the history of collecting, and contemporary and historical market trends.

Spanish Artists from the Fourth to the Twentieth Century: A Critical Dictionary
Free Public Online Database
Provided by the Frick Art Reference Library: A dictionary providing essential bibliographic information on more than 5,000 Spanish artists, including comprehensive lists of alternate forms of artist surnames. Since its first publication in 1996, it has been widely acclaimed not only as a valuable reference tool but also as a thorough review of scholarly opinion regarding the artistic identities of numerous anonymous masters.

WorldCat
Vended Online Library Union Catalogue

WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center's (OCLC) online "union catalog"; that is, its database of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.

Classics

L'Année philologique
Free Public Online Bibliography Index. Coverage: 1969 - within the last year or two
Contains bibliographic records for classical and philological, with new records added each year. Publication information for articles is accompanied by a brief abstract. Covers all aspects of classical studies.

Art Full Text
Vended Periodical Index.  Coverage: 1984 - Present; select full-text: 1997 - Present; abstracting: 1994 - Present.
Citations to articles from American and foreign periodicals and museum bulletins dealing with history of art, architecture and related disciplines. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Art Abstracts also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. For complete list of indexed journals, click here.

Art Index Retrospective
Vended Periodical Index.  Coverage: 1929 - 1984
Cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Retrospective index to Art Full Text.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Vended Periodical Index.  Coverage: 1975 - Present
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. For journal directory, click here.

ARTstor
Vended Image database
is an image database and presentation tool, which currently contains approximately 300,000 digital images. By 2006, it is expected to contain over 500,000. The image collections in ARTstor cover architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and many other forms of visual materials. All periods and many cultures are represented.

Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive
Free Public Online Archive
BAS Online Archive contains the editorial content of each issue of the bimonthly magazine Biblical Archaeology Review, as well as books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS). The site allows users to browse the entire corpus of material.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Vended Periodical Index. 
Coverage: 1973 - Present
Citations and abstracts of art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals covering current writing on Western fine arts, history of art and architecture. As of April 1, 2010, the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) will be available free of charge on the Getty Web site.

DYABOLA
Vended Online Database
Contains electronic subject catalogs of publications on the history of art and the ancient world. Our subscription includes the subject catalogue of European pre- and early history and the archeology of the Roman provinces in the RGK (Roman-Germanic Commission) in Frankfurt, and the Realkatalog of the DAI (German Archaeological Institute) in Rome.

Humanities Full Text
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1984 - Present
A bibliographic database that cites articles from more than 350 English-language periodicals, plus full-text of over 95 of those periodicals. It covers the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, history, and much more.

Oxford Classical Dictionary
Vended Online Reference Resource
Distinguished, peer-reviewed, reference work on the Greco-Roman world. Covering literature, art, philosophy, law, biography, mythology, science, geography, daily life, and broad cultural and historical trends. Emphasis on multidisciplinary approaches to classical studies.

Past Masters
Vended Online Reference Resource
Full-text, searchable versions of many important philosophical writings.

Patrologia Latina Database
Free Public Online Reference Resource
Offers the works of the Latin Fathers in a fully-searchable electronic format. An electronic version of the Latin portion of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologiae Cursus Completus, including notes, glosses and indexes. Originally published in the 19th century, still represents the only scholarly edition of many works.

Patrologia Graeca
Vended Online Reference Resource
Contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.

Perseus Project
Free Public Online Reference Resource
Innovative multimedia database contains interactive sources and studies on Ancient Greece, including primary texts. Contains a vast library of over 4,000 vase, sculpture and coin images from various collections.

Regesta Imperii
Free Public Online Reference Resource
A chronological index of source documents, with brief summaries and genealogical charts. Includes online historical monographs and a searchable catalog of over 130,000 books, journals and periodical articles on European medieval history. Site navigation in German; text chiefly in German, with some French and Latin.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Vended Online Reference Resource
The TLG Canon of Authors and Works is a bibliographic guide to the authors and works included in the TLG® Digital Library. A polytonic Greek font must be installed on your computer in order to view some work titles that appear in Greek.

TOCS - IN
Free Public Online Reference Resource
Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%). Collection list here.

WorldCat
Vended Online Library Union Catalogue

WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center's (OCLC) online "union catalog"; that is, its database of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.

Individual Drama & Theater Arts Related Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Coverage: 1975 - Present
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. For journal directory, click here.

ARTstor
Vended Image database 
is an image database and presentation tool, which currently contains approximately 300,000 digital images. By 2006, it is expected to contain over 500,000. The image collections in ARTstor cover architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and many other forms of visual materials. All periods and many cultures are represented.

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
Vended Online Database
Contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works and adaptations.

English Prose Drama
Vended Online Database
Database of 4,000 plays by 1,200 authors from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth century.

Humanities Full Text
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1984 - Present
A bibliographic database that cites articles from more than 350 English-language periodicals, plus full-text of over 95 of those periodicals. It covers the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, history, and much more.

International Index to the Performing Arts
Free Public Online Database
Current content from more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Every Full Text record (1998 forward) contains an abstract.

Inter-Play
Vended Online Database. Coverage: late 19th century through present
On-line index to plays in collections, anthologies, and periodicals and in a variety of languages. Contains approximately 16,130 citations to plays, many of which are not included in the standard printed play indexes such as Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections or H. W. Wilson's Play Index.

MLA Bibliography
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1963 - Present
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.

WorldCat
Vended Online Library Union Catalogue

WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center's (OCLC) online "union catalog"; that is, its database of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.

General Humanities

Academic Search Premier
Vended Periodical Index
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database for many journals with indexing and abstracts for many more journals in the collection. Nearly every area of academic study is included. PDF back-files to 1975 or further are available. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

Alternative Press Index & Alternative Press Index Archive
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1969 - present
The API and its archive are widely regarded as the leading guide to the alternative press in North America. Citations are drawn from roughly 250 alternative, radical, and left publications.

America: History & Life
Vended Online Reference Resource. Coverage: 1964-present
A bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. In addition to articles, it includes citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and Canadian history and related fields. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas.

ARTstor
Vended Image database
is an image database and presentation tool, which currently contains approximately 300,000 digital images. By 2006, it is expected to contain over 500,000. The image collections in ARTstor cover architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and many other forms of visual materials. All periods and many cultures are represented.

Book Review Digest Plus
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1983-present
A bibliographic database that cites and provides excerpts of reviews of current English-language fiction and non-fiction books for children and adults. An abstract of each book is also provided.

Dissertations & Theses
Vended Online Database
Contains more than 2 million full-text entries with information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The same database as Dissertation Abstracts, but with the significant advantage that titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.

Essay and General Literature Index
Vended Online Database. Coverage: 1985-present
A bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and social sciences. Click here for a journal list.

Humanities Full Text
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1984 - Present
A bibliographic database that cites articles from more than 350 English-language periodicals, plus full-text of over 95 of those periodicals. It covers the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, history, and much more.

IBZ Online
Vended Online Database. Coverage: printed volumes, including earlier titles to 1896
An International bibliography of periodical literature covering all fields of knowledge. It indexes periodical articles in all subject areas in German, French and English.

JSTOR
Vended Periodical Index
A historic archive of scholarly journals that includes the arts and humanities.

Periodicals Index Online
Vended Periodical Index
A database of millions of articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

WorldCat
Vended Online Library Union Catalogue

WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center's (OCLC) online "union catalog"; that is, its database of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.

Now that you've found a citation, where is the article?

  •  YALE Links Tool: Look for Yale Links button when searching YUL databases. When you click on the Yale Links button, a menu will open in a new browser window with options for the citation. The citation will be displayed first, and then a link for full text (if available). Click on the full text link, and Yale Links will get you either to the article or to the full-text database. For more information about the Yale Links button, click here.
  • Citation Linker: Citation Linker is a quick tool to use when you have a citation for an article you need to find. Enter the information you know about the citation into the Web form and Citation Linker will search for the article in Yale's online content. Citation Linker will create a menu of options for you. If it finds full text, that link(s) will display at the top of the menu. Additional links for searching Yale Library catalogs or list of online journals will also display.
  • Search in Orbis by journal title (Not the title of the article). You may use the "Quick Limit" feature to limit your results to only online journals; however, not all of our online journals are listed in Orbis. Note the location and call number.
  • Head to the appropriate library's stacks to find back issues. Journals do not circulate. Can't find the volume you need? Ask at the library's service desk for help.