Standing Committee Page

Cataloging Coordinating Council

Charge | Members | Meeting Time | Documents | Minutes | Committees | E-Mail Block


Charge

The Cataloging Coordinating Council (CCC) is charged with developing cataloging and catalog maintenance policies for Yale University Libraries including:
  • standards and policies for records created in ORBIS to reflect various levels of cataloging and in-process status;
  • standards and policies for records created in RLIN and OCLC for downloading to ORBIS;
  • policies for withdrawing/deleting/suppressing records in ORBIS and reporting to national utilities;
  • standards and policies for maintaining online holdings;
  • policies for maintaining local bibliographic and holdings information in ORBIS;
  • advising the Chief Catalog Librarian on cataloging and database quality issues.

  • Current Members

    Joan Swanekamp (Chair)
    Steven Arakawa
    Tatiana Barr
    Helen Bartlett
    Eva Bolkovac
    Ellen Cordes
    Geraldine Dickel
    Todd Fell

    Sarah Fisher
    Eric Friede




    Anthony Oddo
    Rebecca Hamilton
    Abdul Hannawi
    Robert Klingenberger
    Francis Lapka
    Nancy Lyon
    Kevin Merriman
    Meier, Tachtorn
    Diane Napert
    Jennifer Nolte


    Rick Sarcia
    Karen Spicher
    Dajin Sun
    Keiko Suzuki
    Kari Swanson
    Patricia Thurston
    Melissa Wisner
    Stephen Young

    Previous Members

    Paula Ball
    Edita Baradi
    Kraig Binkowski
    Ian Bogus
    Susan Brady
    Matthew Beacom
    Patrick Butler
    Hsiao Chen
    Valentina Chudowsky
    Cindy Crooker
    Martha Conway
    Karen Denavit
    Sarah Elman
    Elisabeth Fairman
    Marsha Garman
    Rowena Griem
    Libby Hofsas
    Ellen Jaramillo
    Carol Jones
    Robert Killheffer
    Lian Kho
    Andrea Lamb
    Julie Linden
    Daniel Lovins
    Beatrice Luh
    Soraya Magalhaes-Wilson
    Audrey Novak
    Sandra K. Peterson
    Roberta Pilette
    Dorothy Rachmat
    Martha Repp
    Lenore Rouse
    Patrick Salmon

    Britta Santamauro
    E.C. Schroeder
    James Shetler
    Katherine (Kalee) Sprague
    Diana Smith
    Kari Swanson
    Manon Théroux
    Kim Tran
    Susan Tucker
    David Walls
    Cindy Zwies


    Meeting Time

    The council generally meets on the 1st Thursday of every month from 1:30-3:30 in SML 409.


    Documents under review:

    Unless otherwise stated, the documents listed are draft versions or discussion papers and do not represent official policies and procedures.

    1. Maintenance of Bibliographic Records for Online Resources Cataloged in Orbis
    2. Maintenance & Cataloging Workflow Policies for e-Book Bibliographic Records Not Supplied by Vendors (rev./re-named draft of 12)
    3. Provider-neutral e-monograph record task group report Vendor Load & Bibliographic Searching Procedures (Word)
    4. Voyager/Policy Documents to be Revised or Created (Word)
    5. Yale Library Policy for Using Hyperlinks (Discussion paper) (Word)

    Archive

    1. Beinecke response to 2/24 version of Added copies (3/25 Word)
    2. Cataloging of Non-Music Sound Recordings: Checklist CMS Core-Level Record TF Final Report (Word)
    3. CMS Shelflisting TF Final Report (Word)
    4. Non-Music Sound Recordings Member/LC Copy Checklist
    5. CONSER Standard Record page
    6. The Director for Acquisitions and Bibliographic Access Announces the Library of Congress's Decision to Cease Creating Series Authority Records as Part of Library of Congress Cataloging. April 20, 2006 (Word)
    7. Relinking item records (Word)
    8. Editing spinelabel.cfg (Word)
    9. Database bulk loading (PowerPoint) <click to advance; right click for advance/reverse options>
    10. Introduction to Yale Core (Power Point)
    11. LC Genre/Form AnnouncementLC SCM H 1913 Moving Image Genre/Form Headings (PDF)
    12. Linking Text Subfields in 856 Parallel RecordsRe-Thinking Shelflisting (PPT)
    13. Searching Best Practices: Cheat Sheet (Word)
    14. Searching the Bibliographic Utilities (PowerPoint)
    15. Task Force to Recommend Policies & Procedures for Serial Access Records: Preliminary Recommendations (Word)

     


    Minutes (minutes from 2008- are on the SharePoint site)

     

    2007 2008 2009 2010 2010
    2007-01-252008-01-24  
    2007-02-222009-02-26  
    No Mar. meeting  
    2007-04-262008-04-24  
    No May meeting No May meeting  
    2007-06-28No June meeting  
    2007-07-272008-07-24  
    No Aug meeting  
    2007-09-27  
    No Oct meeting 2008-10-23  
    2007-11-29  
    No Dec meeting  
     

     

    200620052004 2003 2002
    2006-01-262005-01-27 2004-01-29 2002-01-24
    2006-02-232005-02-24

    2004-02-12
    2004-02-26

    (no Feb. meeting) 2002-02-28
    2006-03-232005-03-242004-03-25 2003-03-27  
    2006-04-272005-04-28 (no Apr. meeting)  
    2005-05-262004-05-27 2003-05-08

    2002-05-14
    2002-05-23

    2006-06-08
    (combined May/June)
    no June meeting
    2003-05-29
    (no June meeting)
     
    2006-07-272005-07-282004-07-22 2003-07-24  
    No Aug. meeting2005-08-252004-08-10 (no Aug. meeting)  
    2005-09-222004-09-23 (no Sept. meeting) 2002-09-26
    No Oct. meeting 2005-10-27 2003-10-02
    2003-10-23
    2002-10-22
    No Nov. meeting 2005-11-17(no Nov. meeting) 2003-11-21  
    2006-12-072004-12-02 (no Dec. meeting)  

     

    2001 2000 1999 1998 1997
    2000-01-27  
    2000-02-24 1998-02-05
    1998-02-19
     
    2000-03-23 1999-03-11 1998-03-05  
    2001-04-26  
    2000-05-25 1999-05-06  
    1999-06-03  
    2001-07-26 2000-07-27 1999-07-29  
     
    1999-09-23  
    2001-10-26 1998-10-08 1997-10-02
    1999-11-18 1998-11-05  
    (no Dec.meeting) 1998-12-03
    1998-12-17
     

     


    Committees/Groups

    Authority Control Advisory Committee (ACAC)
    Catalog Policy and Documentation Committee (CPDC)
    CPDC SharePoint Site
    Macro Express Group
    SACO Coordinating Committee
    Tag Table Group


    E-mail group (last updated 2/12/09) joan.swanekamp@yale.edu, steven.arakawa@yale.edu, edita.baradi@yale.edu, tatiana.barr@yale.edu, helen.bartlett@yale.edu, eva.bolkovac@yale.edu, ellen.cordes@yale.edu, cynthia.crooker@yale.edu, sarah.fisher@yale.edu, eric.friede@yale.edu, marsha.garman@yale.edu, rebecca.hamilton@yale.edu, abdul.hannawi@yale.edu, francis.lapka@yale.edu, daniel.lovins@yale.edu, nancy.lyon@yale.edu, tachtorn.meier@yale.edu, jennifer.nolte@yale.edu, anthony.oddo@yale.edu, dorothy.rachmat@yale.edu, richard.sarcia@yale.edu, edwin.schroeder@yale.edu, karen.spicher@yale.edu, dajin.sun@yale.edu, keiko.suzuki@yale.edu, patricia.thurston@yale.edu, melissa.wisner@yale.edu, stephen.young@yale.edu
    URL: http://www.library.yale.edu/cataloging/ccc/ccchome.htm
    Comments to: Joan Swanekamp  <joan.swanekamp@yale.edu>
    Rev. 9/17/2010

    1999-2004 Yale University Library

    Top of Page