Yale University East Asia Library link to yale university library home page link to EAL page

 

East Asia Library News


 

Main

Databases Archives

 

July 17, 2009

Korea Database Trial Service

Please go to this site http://www.e-koreanstudies.com/ for the trial Korean databases.

August 27, 2009

NEW trial Chinese statistics database: SOSHOO

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new Chinese statistical database, SOSHOO (搜數網), is available for trial now through October 31, 2009.

About the SOSHOO:

SOSHOO is a new platform which was developed on the basis of statistics from China INFOBANK 中國資訊行. It covers yearly and monthly statistical data on the socio-economic situation and external trade performance of China sourced from national and provincial statistical yearbooks, China latest economic indicators, the People's Bank of China Quarterly Statistical Bulletin, custom statistics, etc. since 1995 with some dated back to 1949. It also includes statistical data from Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau. Users can download the results into Excel spreadsheets.

Access information:

To access the trial database, please go to the following URL: www.soshoo.com

Please note that access to the trial SOSHOO only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/pubstation/proxy/proxy_about.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

September 10, 2009

Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shūsei Database now available

Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shūsei Database (http://zassaku-plus.com/advanced.php) combines content already previously available in other Zasshi Kiji Sakuin databases such as MagazinePLUS with indices of journals published in the Meiji, Taishō and early Shōwa periods, and is notable because it also indexes minor journals that were published in local prefectures and cities.

Among several major journal index databases available for Japanese journals, Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shūsei Database by Kōseisha is the only database that provides an index of journal articles published in the Meiji, Taishō, and early Shōwa to present. It also contains many important local journals that were published in prefectures and cities that are not in the NDL journal index. The search function enables users to search terms in modern language for words that were changed historically. In addition, each search provides information about which university library in Japan holds the specific journal where the desired article appears.

For more information, please go to http://www.annex-net.jp/ks1/

Please note that access to the Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shūsei Database is only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access.

September 14, 2009

China Yearbooks Full-text Database (on trial)

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new Chinese database, China Yearbooks Full-text Database 中国年鉴全文数据库, is available for trial now through October 18, 2009.

About the China Yearbooks Full-text Database :

"China Yearbooks Full-text Database (CYFD) is a database consisting of over 1,800 yearbook titles and over 13,000 volumes (as of mid-2009). Most of the yearbooks date back to the 1980s. Being As part of the CNKI project, CYFD has the capacity to cross database searching with other CNKI products, such as journals, dissertations, reference works, newspapers, conference proceedings and other databases. CYFD consists of more than 300 statistical yearbooks, including all the central and provincial yearbooks, over 90% of city or county level yearbooks and 80% of industrial yearbook from both national and local levels. It also includes yearbooks from research institutions and corporations."

Access information:

To access the trial database, please go to the following URL: http://china.eastview.com/kns50/Navigator.aspx?ID=CYFD

Please note that access to the trial China Yearbooks Full-text Database only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/pubstation/proxy/proxy_about.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

September 21, 2009

Chinese Reference Book Database (on trial)

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new database, Chinese Reference Book Database 中国工具书资源全文数据库 , is available for trial now through Nov.1, 2009.

About the Chinese Reference Book Database:

The Chinese Reference Book Database contains full-text articles and pictures from nearly 2000 authoritative Chinese reference books, including Ci Hai 辞海 and Han Yu Da Ci Dian 汉语大词典. It consists of almost all types of reference books, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies and indexes, to name a few. The Chinese Reference Book Database allows users to search both texts and pictures, and view original pages using the “翻阅原书” function from the printed version. Please note that it may take a while to download the file when you use the “翻阅原书” function. IE recommended.

Access information:

The Chinese Reference Book Database is available at http://reference.apabi.com/overseas for the trial. Please note that the trial is IP restricted and only available to all computers in the Yale network.

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

September 28, 2009

NPM Palace Memorial and Grand Council Archives (on trial)

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new database, National Palace Museum Palace Memorial and Grand Council Archives清代宮中檔奏摺及軍機處檔摺件全文影像資料庫, is available for trial now through Oct.30, 2009.

About the National Palace Museum Palace Memorial and Grand Council Archives:

The National Palace Museum Palace Memorial and Grand Council Archives provides metadata searching and full image reproductions of Qing dynasty archival materials held at the National Palace Museum in Taipei. Searchable fields include the document number 文獻編號, document date 具奏日期, author 具奏人, official position 官職, topic 事由, keyword 關鍵詞, date of response 硃批日期, and response 硃批. Content from the Qianlong 乾隆 reign is still being entered. To view the original images, please install a special application from this URL: http://npmhost.npm.gov.tw/tts/npmmeta/tifsetupeng.exe. IE recommended.

Access information:

The National Palace Museum Palace Memorial and Grand Council Archives is available at http://npmhost.npm.gov.tw/tts/npmmeta/GC/indexcg.html for the trial. You need to use the following log-on info to get into the database:
• 群組 (Group): ft2009
• 帳號 (ID): Yale2009
• 密碼 (password): Yale20090928

Please note that the trial is IP restricted and only available to all computers in the Yale network.

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

October 23, 2009

New Chinese trial database: Duxiu 读秀

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce another new Chinese database, Duxiu 读秀, is available for trial now through Feb.14, 2010.

About the Duxiu:

Duxiu, also known as Chinese Google Scholar, is a huge content-based database consisting of 600,000,000 full text pages, with very flexible searches (full-text, books, articles, theses, web pages, newspapers). It is a useful reference tool for discovering bibliographic information; for locating particular search terms within a text; and for getting a preview of a text. IE recommended.

Access information:

Duxiu is available at www.duxiu.com for the trial.

Please note that the trial is IP restricted and only available to all computers in the Yale network.

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

November 13, 2009

URL for "People's Daily Full Text" changed!

Some of you may have noticed that the database People’s Daily Full Text had been down for a short while because of the server problem. We just replaced the server with a new machine, in order to continue the access to the database. The new URL for the database is: http://biscuit.library.yale.edu. Please bookmark the address for your future reference.

Please note that access to People’s Daily Full Text is IP restricted and only available to all computers in the Yale network or with off-campus access. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.

December 16, 2009

Duxiu trial is extended to 5/31/2010!

The trial period of the Duxiu 读秀 database is now extended till 5/31/2010. We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

About the Duxiu:
Duxiu, also known as Chinese Google Scholar, is a huge content-based database consisting of 600,000,000 full text pages, with very flexible searches (full-text, books, articles, theses, web pages, newspapers). It is a useful reference tool for discovering bibliographic information; for locating particular search terms within a text; and for getting a preview of a text. IE recommended.

Access information:
Duxiu is available at www.duxiu.com for the trial.

Please note that the trial is IP restricted and only available to all computers in the Yale network.

January 14, 2010

Two NEW Chinese databases are now available!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that two NEW Chinese databases, The Grand Council Archives and Soshoo, are now available to the Yale community. You can find them from our Chinese database list (http://databases.library.yale.edu:8331/V?func=find-db-1-locate&mode=locate&F-WRD=subcat_IntlAreaStudies_Chinese&restricted=all).

The Grand Council Archives, known as 清代宮中檔奏摺及軍機處檔摺件全文影像資料庫, provides metadata searching and full image reproductions of Qing Palace Memorials and Archives of the Grand Council held in the National Palace Museum in Taipei. Searchable fields include the document number 文獻編號, document date 具奏日期, author 具奏人, official position 官職, topic 事由, keyword 關鍵詞, date of response 硃批日期, and response 硃批. To view the original images, please install a special application from this URL: http://npmhost.npm.gov.tw/tts/npmmeta/tifsetupeng.exe. If you want to print out the images, please contact the East Asia Library staff. Windows and IE are recommended. Please email east.asia.library@yale.edu or call 203-432-1794 for username and password.

SOSHOO 搜数is a new platform which was developed on the basis of statistics from China INFOBANK 中國資訊行. It covers yearly and monthly statistical data on the socio-economic situation and external trade performance of China sourced from national and provincial statistical yearbooks, China latest economic indicators, the People's Bank of China Quarterly Statistical Bulletin, custom statistics, etc. since 1995 with some dated back to 1949. It also includes statistical data from Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau. Users can download the results into Excel spreadsheets.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the two new databases. You are welcome to schedule an individual session with us to learn more about them.

January 27, 2010

Chinese Reference Book Database is now available

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that Apabi Chinese Reference Book Database is now available to the Yale community. You can find it from our Chinese database list (http://databases.library.yale.edu:8331/V?func=find-db-1-locate&mode=locate&F-WRD=subcat_IntlAreaStudies_Chinese&restricted=all)

The Apabi Chinese Reference Book Database 中国工具书资源全文数据库 contains full-text articles and pictures from hundreds of authoritative Chinese reference books. Currently, we have acquired 157 titles (319 volumes), including 汉语大词典, 辞海, 中国大百科全书, 佛教大辞典, 道藏书目提要, 中国古代科技史论文索引, 现代汉语大词典, etc. For a complete listing, please go to http://www.library.yale.edu/eastasian/quicktools/databases/Apabi_reference_list.pdf. The database also allows you to view scanned pages of the print edition. To use the “翻阅原书” function, please download Apabi e-book reader (http://www.idoican.com.cn/Reader/UnicodeReaderSetup.exe) first. IE recommended.

February 11, 2010

Genji Monogatari now online in Japan Knowledge

The Japan Knowledge database is now providing the electronic version of the Genji Monogari, with searchable text, from the Shinpen Nihon Koten Bungaku Zenshu (SNKBZ) edition (http://www.jkn21.com/top/corpdisplay).

This is the first work from the SNKBZ collection to be released in this new format. Two more works will be released very soon.

Japan Knowledge also provides access to the full-text collection of Toyo Bunko 東洋文庫 (in PDF format).

In order to search those collections separately, please go to Japan Knowledge and scroll down the home page until you find the “叢書・URL” section, at the right-hand side of the screen, and click the "個別" button.

April 20, 2010

Asahi shinbun: Meiji, Taisho & Early Showa

The East Asia Library is delighted to announce that we now have access to the Meiji, Taisho, and early Showa periods of Asahi Shinbun in addition to current articles via the Kikuzo II Visual database. Upon entering the database, please click the “Asahi Shinbun Shukusatsuban –朝日新聞縮刷版” tab to search in order to search newspaper articles and advertisements in these periods.

Kikuzo II Visual (http://database.asahi.com/library2e/)

Full-text database of Asahi newspapers from 1879 to the present, including local issues (1998 and later ), and Historical Photo Archives between 1931and 1945. The database also includes full-text articles of AERA (1988.5 - present), Shukan Asahi (2004- present) and the newest edition of Chiezo.

April 27, 2010

TBRC core text collection #7 is available online

The East Asia Library is delighted to announce that TBRC (Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center) core text collection #7 is available online now. You can follow this URL http://tbrc.org/#library_GlobalNavigation to browse the new collection under the "Works" section. Please note that access to the TBRC only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/pubstation/proxy/proxy_about.html).

August 19, 2010

New Yomiuri Shinbun Database (Yomidasu Rekishikan) - Third trial

We are able to sign up again for trial of newer version of Yomiuri Shinbun which lets you search all the Yomiuri Shinbun more effectively! It is similar to the library's current offering which provides Yomiuri newspaper articles from 1874 to 1980, but this new version allows access to articles from 1874 to the present, plus the English-language Daily Yomiuri, starting in 1989. (The Daily Yomiuri is also available through the online journals section of the library's front door).

Most importantly, this new electronic version provides some special search functions; it is possible to search advertisements in the Meiji, Taisho, and early Showa periods and the interface is much easier to navigate.

The trial ends September 15th, but we hope to subscribe to the database this time.

Yomidasu Rekishikan
https://database.yomiuri.co.jp/rekishikan/

September 15, 2010

Database Trial: Taiyo, Bungei Kurabu and Koyukai Zasshi

I would like to announce a new database trial for the journals Taiyō, Bungei Kurabu and Kōyukai Zasshi. Please go to Nihon Kindai bungakukan for the trial at http://yagi.jkn21.com/. The trial ends on October 14, 2010. Any feedback is welcome, and will be helpful for us to make a decision about purchasing. Please send your comments to Haruko Nakamura (haruko.nakamura@yale.edu).

Taiyō

Taiyō was a comprehensive journal published by Hakubunkan from Meiji 28 (1895) to Showa 3 (1928). The collection includes a total of 531 issues (175,000 pages), with contributions from approximately 6,500 authors. Fields covered are government, economics, society, general natural science, literature, and manners and customs. Because of its comprehensiveness, the online version of this journal provides plenty of useful features, including indexing with controlled vocabularies. All the colored illustrations are also included and indexed.

More information on Taiyō:
http://yagi.jkn21.com/kindai_world/taiyo/taiyo_world.html


Bungei Kurabu

The Bungei Kurabu is a representative literary magazine of the Meiji Era and it is a great resource on modern Japan, covering literature, the arts, theater, rakugo, customs, etc. This magazine was first published in 1895 as an amalgamation of a number of other journals, and immediately became a major venue for proponents promoting "pure literature" (Junbungaku) along with the Shin Shōsetsu from Shun'yōdō. Edited by such prominent intellectuals as Ishibashi Shian, Miyake Seiken, and Tamura Shōgi, the Bungei Kurabu was an enormously popular literary magazine at the time, with many loyal readers as well as contributors including Higuchi Ichiyō, Izumi Kyōka, Kunikida Doppo and Ozaki Kōyō. Some of these contributors' best known works, Ichiyō's "Takekurabe" (1895) and Doppo's "Genoji" (1897) just to name a few, first appeared in this magazine, and it remained one of the most dominant venues for Meiji literature until it gradually vulgarized to be a popular entertainment magazine toward the end of its publication in the Taishō period.

More information on Bungei Kurabu:
http://yagi.jkn21.com/kindai_world/bungeiclub/bungeiclub_world.html


Kōyukai Zasshi

This journal was published by First Higher School Alumni Association from November 1890 to June 1944, and is a valuable resource documenting the world of the illustrious alumni of First Higher School, one of the predecessors of Tokyo University. The articles of journal discusses the lives of leading figures in academia, the arts, and the business world.

More information on Kōyukai Zasshi :
http://yagi.jkn21.com/kindai_world/koyukai/koyukai_world.html

October 1, 2010

Database trial: TEPS

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new Chinese database, TEPS (Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services) 薹灣電子期刊服務網 is available for trial now through December 31, 2010.

About the TEPS (Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services):

TEPS (Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services) 薹灣電子期刊服務網 is the largest online database for periodical articles published in Taiwan. It includes more than 900 Taiwan Periodicals in many disciplines such as arts and humanities, social sciences, natural and applied sciences, medicine, etc. Full texts can be downloaded in PDF format.

Access information:

To access the trial database, please go to the following URL: http://www.airiti.com/teps/ec_en/default.aspx.

Please note that access to the trial TEPS only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

October 6, 2010

Chinese interface for Wanfang China online journals

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a Chinese interface for Wanfang China online journals is now available to the Yale community. Please go to http://g.wanfangdata.com.cn/ to access the Chinese version.

The Chinese interface contains the same content as the English interface (http://www.wanfangdata.com/COJ/intr.asp), but search results may vary. Please note that you have to search in Chinese in the database, no matter what interface language is.

Please note that access to the Wanfang China online journals (in both English and Chinese interfaces) is only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

Please feel free to contact us if you have any question.

December 2, 2010

China Yearbooks Full-text Database available now!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a NEW Chinese database, China Yearbooks Full-text Database 中国年鉴全文数据库, is now available to the Yale community. You can find them from our Chinese database list (http://databases.library.yale.edu:8331/V?func=find-db-1-locate&mode=locate&F-WRD=subcat_IntlAreaStudies_Chinese&restricted=all).

China Yearbooks Full-text Database (CYFD) 中国年鉴全文数据库 is a full-text searchable database consisting of over 1,900 yearbook titles. Yale subscribes to the Series J “Economics & Management” of the database which includes over 300 statistical yearbooks at national, provincial, city and county levels. A large number of the statistical yearbooks are dated back to 1980s.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the database. You are welcome to schedule an individual session with us to learn more about it.

February 10, 2011

New SNKBZ titles available in Japan Knowledge

Japan Knowledge has added more full-text titles from Shin Nihon Koten Bungaku Zenshu. Below is the list of titles that are now available in this database. For directions on access and full-text searching of these titles, please watch to this nice web cast done by my colleague, Shirin Eshghi, at the University of British Columbia.

日本霊異記
竹取物語
伊勢物語
大和物語
平中物語
土佐日記
蜻蛉日記
うつほ物語
落窪物語
堤中納言物語
枕草子
源氏物語
和泉式部日記
紫式部日記
更級日記
讃岐典侍日記
浜松中納言物語
夜の寝覚
狭衣物語
方丈記
徒然草
正法眼蔵随聞記
歎異抄

June 15, 2011

Web Library of Japanese Literature (trial)

I would like to inform you about a trial for the Web Library of Japanese Literature (日本文学Web図書館) database which provides access to contents from the CD-ROM version of Shinpen Kokka Taikan (新編国歌大観) as well as the Shinpen Shika Shūsei (新編私家集大成 - CD-ROM version of 私家集大成plus other added contents.) A major drawback of the database is a requirement for users to download the viewing software, and that software does not work on certain platforms, most notably Mac. The database also requires a login id and password. Please follow the attached instructions for the trial period.

1. Access to the website at http://kotenlibrary.com/weblibrary/kojin

2. Click the button “ダウンロードまたはアプリケーションの起動” to download the viewing software. Please contact Haruko Nakamura (haruko.nakamura@yale.edu) for ID and password

After downloading the viewing software, you can freely use the database. From the next time of login, you can start using the database by just clicking the same “ダウンロード…” button.

Along with their continuing database development, the company is planning to added other contents including Koten Haibungaku Taikei古典俳文学大系(集英社)next spring. For more information about contents, please go to the site below.

http://kotenlibrary.com/weblibrary/kojin (click 日本文学Web図書館についてin the upper right box.)

Please note that the requirement for downloading viewing software and login password make it difficult for the library to subscribe it in the future. However, I am in the middle of negotiation with the company about improvements and hopefully some of the steps can be removed. If you find this database useful, please make sure to give us feedback.

August 31, 2011

Taiwan Nichi Nichi Shinpō 臺灣日日新報 online now available!

The East Asia Library is delighted to announce that Taiwan Nichi Nichi Shinpō 臺灣日日新報 online (http://hunteq.com/ddnjp.htm) is available to us.

About Taiwan Nichi Nichi Shinpō 臺灣日日新報

Taiwan Nichi Nichi Shinpō is a newspaper published beginning in 1898, a result of the merger of Taiwan Shinpō and Taiwan Nippō. It consists of both a Japanese (1898.5-1944.3) and a Chinese language version (1905.7-1911.11), and covers legislation and news as well as cultural activities in Taiwan under Japanese occupation.

Since this is a bit complicated search function, if you have any questions how to search this database, please contact Haruko Nakamura, Librarian for the Japanese Collection.

September 12, 2011

NEW Chinese trial database: China Geo-Explorer

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new Chinese database, China Geo-Explorer is available for trial now through November 13, 2011.

About the China Geo-Explorer:

China Geo-Explorer is created by China Data Center of the University of Michigan (UMCDC) and the State Key Laboratory for Information Engineering in Surveying, Mapping and Remote Sensing (LIESMARS) of Wuhan University. With this spatial intelligence, you'll be able to make rapid, accurate spatial decisions with greater confidence for regional planning, business investment, population, housing, environmental assessment, public health and many other spatial applications. Data sources in this database includes demographic and business information for all PRC geographies, including 31 Provinces, 345 Prefecture Cities, 2,873 Counties, and over 50,000 Townships. For more information about this database, please go to http://141.211.142.26/presentation/cge.pptx.

Access information:

To access the trial database, please go to the following URL: http://chinadataonline.org/cge/

Please note that access to the trial China Geo-Explorer only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

October 3, 2011

NEW Chinese trial database: Xin fangzhi ku

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new Chinese database, Xin fangzhi ku 新方志庫 (Local Gazetteers Database of China) is available for trial now through October 31, 2011.

About the Xin fangzhi ku:

The Xin fangzhi ku 新方志庫 (Local Gazetteers Database of China) includes more than 10,000 post-1949 local gazetteers of provinces, cities, counties and townships of China with a comprehensive coverage of subjects on general surveys, economy, public finance, governance, public security, urban and rural development, agriculture, industry, transportation, business, natural science, social science, education, culture and sport, and public health. Users can search the contents across the database or browse the gazetteers by books.

Access information:

To access the trial database, please go to the following URL: http://c.g.wanfangdata.com.cn/LocalChronicle.aspx
.
Please note that access to the trial Xin fangzhi ku is only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

October 4, 2011

NEW trial Japanese database: Maisaku

We are pleased to announce that the new database for Mainichi Newspaper is available for trial now through October 31, 2011. Please access the database by clicking the blue “log-in” button on the first screen.

Maisaku 毎索 (http://mainichi.jp/contents/edu/maisaku/login.html)

The Maisaku database lets you search all the Mainichi Shinbun 毎日新聞 (formally Tokyo Nichi Nichi Shinbun 東京日日新聞, Osaka Nippo 大阪日報, etc) from 1872 (Meiji 5) to present. The database also includes other functions likeヨミロンサーチ which provides newspaper research from October 1945 to June 2011 on public opinions, such as cabinet and political party approval ratings. The data can be searched by keyword and date with sorting functions for categories like gender and age.

If you find this database useful, please make sure to give us feedback.

February 7, 2012

Extra content from Nikkei Telecom 21

I am delighted to announce that library users can now access additional content of the Nikkei Telecom 21 database, which includes a variety of resources, such as current local newspaper articles (地方紙) like琉球新報, 大阪日日新聞and 福島民報, as well as specialized papers and journals like サンケイスポーツ, 観光経済新聞, 東洋経済会社四季報, etc.

Because of the complicated pricing structure, however, access to the database is limited to use by a librarian on behalf of Yale researchers. Please contact us for getting articles from this database.

To explore the vast number of the resources, please follow this link:
(http://t21.nikkei.co.jp/public/guide/article/price/index.html) and click on types of resources and services such as 雑誌, 海外情報, 企業検索, etc.

February 17, 2012

National People’s Congress Database now available!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a NEW Chinese database, Database of the National People’s Congress 历届全国人大资料信息库, is now available to the Yale community. You can access it from here: http://www.oriprobe.com/npc.html. It is also listed in our Chinese database list.

Database of the National People’s Congress 历届全国人大资料信息库 is a collection of reports, primarily by People’s Daily and People’s Daily Online, on National People’s Congress (NPC), from the 1st Session of 1st NPC to the 2nd Session of the 11th NPC. This collection includes: Deputy Lists, Agendas, Conference Updates, Documents and Reports, Resolutions and Statements, Leaders’ Activities, Selected Proposals, Suggestions of the Deputies, News Reports, Pictures, Press Conferences, Important Commentaries, Video Reports, etc.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the database. You are welcome to schedule an individual session with us to learn more about it.

March 1, 2012

China Geo-Explorer now available!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a NEW Chinese database, China Geo-Explorer, is now available to the Yale community. You can access it from here: http://chinadataonline.org/cge/.

China Geo-Explorer is created by China Data Center of the University of Michigan (UMCDC) and the State Key Laboratory for Information Engineering in Surveying, Mapping and Remote Sensing (LIESMARS) of Wuhan University. With this spatial intelligence, you'll be able to make rapid, accurate spatial decisions with greater confidence for regional planning, business investment, population, housing, environmental assessment, public health and many other spatial applications. Data sources in this database includes demographic and business information for all PRC geographies, including 31 Provinces, 345 Prefecture Cities, 2,873 Counties, and over 50,000 Townships.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the database. You are welcome to schedule an individual session with us to learn more about it.

April 11, 2012

TBRC core text collection #9 is available online

The East Asia Library is delighted to announce that TBRC (Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center) core text collection #9 is available online now. You can follow this URL https://tbrc.org:8443/#taxonomy_O4CTX325-O4CTX29601CTC092 to browse the new collection. Please note that it may take a while to load the webpage from your computer.

Please note that access to the TBRC is only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

April 18, 2012

Shen Bao and Guangming Ribao are on trial NOW!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that two new Chinese databases, Shen Bao 申報 and Guangming Ribao 光明日报 are available for trial now through May 3, 2012.

About the Shen Bao and Guangming Ribao:

Shen Bao 申報 (1872-1949), known in English as Shanghai News, is one of the first modern Chinese newspapers. It is the most influential and longest-lasting commercial newspaper of pre-communist China. The Shen Bao full-text database includes a complete run of this newspaper. It is full-text searchable and contains scanned images of original newspaper pages.

Guangming Ribao 光明日报, founded on June 16, 1949, is a unique national and comprehensive daily with a long history directly under the CCP Central Committee.

Access information:

1. To access Shen Bao, please go to one of the following platforms:

http://shunpao.egreenapple.com
http://www.huawenku.com/search.nhn#

2. To access Guangming Ribao, please go to http://gmrb.egreenapple.com.

Please note that access to the trial Shen Bao and Guangming Ribao databases is only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

May 1, 2012

Database Taiyo

We are delighted to announce that we finally have a new database for the journal Taiyō 太陽 after a long-term license negotiation with the vendor.

Taiyō 太陽 http://yagi.jkn21.com/ (Please access the journal from Nihon Kindai Bungakukan. Also, please note we only have access to the full text of Taiyo.)

Taiyō was a comprehensive journal published by Hakubunkan from Meiji 28 (1895) to Showa 3 (1928). The collection includes a total of 531 issues (175,000 pages), with contributions from approximately 6,500 authors. Fields covered are government, economics, society, general natural science, literature, and manners and customs. Because of its comprehensiveness, the online version of this journal provides some of useful features, including indexing with controlled vocabularies. All the colored illustrations are also included and indexed. The Taiyō database includes special issues 特別号 of Taiyō, except some maps and tables in supplements.


More information on Taiyō:
http://yagi.jkn21.com/kindai_world/taiyo/taiyo_world.html

June 7, 2012

Database of Chinese Gazetteers 中國方志庫 is now available!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a NEW Chinese database, Database of Chinese Gazetteers 中國方志庫, is now available to the Yale community. You can access it from here: http://server.wenzibase.com/. When you get to the homepage, please click on the arrow button directly if you are on campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html). Then please click on the 中國方志庫 icon to enter the database.

Database of Chinese Gazetteers 中國方志庫 contains nearly 10,000 titles of Chinese gazetteers at all levels from Song Dynasty till the Republican Period. All texts are provided in full text and image format, allowing for a direct comparison both between digitized text and original text image.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the database. We will hold a workshop regarding this database and pre-1949 gazetteer collections at Yale during the Fall semester. Please stay tuned!

September 25, 2012

Sibu congkan & Sibu beiyao on trial NOW!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that two new Chinese databases, Sibu congkan 四部叢刊 and Sibu congkan extended edition 四部叢刊增補版 (i.e. Sibu beiyao 四部備要) are available for trial now through October 28, 2012.

About the Sibu congkan and Sibu congkan extended edition databases:

Sibu congkan and Sibu beiyao are two outstanding and huge publications of 1920s and 1930s which assembled hundreds of representative pre-modern Chinese works. The titles span Song, Yuan, Ming and Qing Dynasties and include early manuscripts and rare books. The online editions are full-text searchable databases with various functionalities and features. For the Sibu congkan database, it also includes scanned pages from the original print edition.

Access information:

To access the two trial databases, please go to the following URL: http://guji.unihan.com.cn/permit/ipauto. When you get to the homepage, please select 四部丛刊 or 四部丛刊09增补版 to proceed.

Before you start searching the database, please download special fonts from the database first and install them on your PC, so that some rare classical Chinese characters can be displayed properly on your end. Below are instructions on how to install the fonts onto your PC:

1. Download the fonts from http://202.106.189.11/Common/getFont/ and save the file onto your computer.
2. Copy the fonts file to the “fonts” subfolder under the “Windows” folder in the local disk C: .

Please note that access to the trial Sibu congkan and Sibu congkan extended edition databases are only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on these two new trial databases from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the databases, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

December 4, 2012

NEW trial database: Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949)

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new Chinese database, Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949) 民国时期期刊全文数据库 is available for trial now through February 28, 2013.

About the Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949):

The Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949) 民国时期期刊全文数据库, created by the Shanghai Library, is the largest full-text database of periodicals published during the Republican Period. It includes more than 20,000 titles, such as Cosmic Wind 宇宙風, The Young Companion 良友 and Shun Pao Monthly 申報月刊. It allows full-text searching and downloading of scanned PDF files from the print periodicals.

Access information:

To access the trial database, please go to the following URL: www.cnbksy.cn.

Please note that access to the trial Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949) is only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

February 1, 2013

Asia & Japan Watch is now available!

We are delighted to announce that Yale now subscribes to the Asahi Shimbun Asia & Japan Watch (AJW).

Asahi Shimbun Asia & Japan Watch (AJW)
http://ajw.asahi.com/

The Asahi Shimbun AJW is the English-language digital version of The Asahi Shimbun, Japan's leading daily newspaper. Its editorial policy is to offer in-depth coverage of China, the Korean Peninsula and the rest of Asia, in addition to extensive coverage of Japanese politics, business and society. AJW articles contain many visual elements. Most of the articles are translations of stories that appear in the Japanese language Asahi Shimbun and its affiliated publications with added background information for non-Japanese readers to understand the context. Currently, some key sections in the database are:

3/11 Disaster in Japan - The Asahi Shimbun's coverage of the March 11 M9.0 earthquake, massive tsunami and ongoing nuclear crisis at the Fukushima No. 1 nuclear power plant. It is updated daily with scoops and in-depth coverage on the story behind what is happening at the Fukushima plant and has already garnered high marks from experts, researchers and journalists around the globe.

Cool Japan - subculture trends as well as the latest in the world of anime and manga. This section also offers info and tips on events and places to visit in Japan.

Sports - covers subjects on sumo, baseball and soccer, as well as profiles of outstanding athletes.

March 6, 2013

Chinese Periodical Full-text Database available!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a NEW Chinese database, The Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949) 民国时期期刊全文数据库, is now available to the Yale community. You can access it from here: www.cnbksy.cn. It is also listed in our Chinese database list.

The Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949) 民国时期期刊全文数据库, created by the Shanghai Library, is the largest full-text database of periodicals published during the Republican Period. It includes more than 20,000 titles, such as Cosmic Wind 宇宙風, The Young Companion 良友 and Shun Pao Monthly 申報月刊. It allows full-text searching and downloading of scanned PDF files from the print periodicals.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the database. You are welcome to schedule an individual session with us to learn more about it.

April 1, 2013

Web Oya is now available!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that Web Oya is now available to the Yale community.


About Web Oya (https://www.oya-bunko.com/)

Web Oya is an online database of the index from the Ōya Sōichi Bunko, which is well known for its strong collection of popular weekly, general interest, and women's magazines. Web Oya lets you search titles, keywords and people (as authors or subjects) of popular magazine articles from 1988 to 1995. Although the database is rapidly and continuously adding contents from magazines published in 1868 to 1987, for full coverage of the collection, please consult their print version in the East Asia Library Reference. (Please note: this database is only for magazine index. It is NOT full-text. For obtaining the actual journal, please check Orbis for availability.)

For more information about the database, please see the site below
http://www.oya-bunko.or.jp/sakuin0.htm

About Ōya bunko
http://www.oya-bunko.or.jp/index.htm

April 10, 2013

Trial database: Fūzoku Gahō

East Asia Library is pleased to announce that there is a new database trial for Fūzoku Gahō ending on May 4th.

Fūzoku Gahō (http://books.jkn21.com)

One of the first Japanese illustrated magazines from Meiji 22 (1889) to Taishō 5 (1916) depicting manners and customs of Meiji Japan. Including prints and photographs, all articles in the magazine are searchable by titles, authors, dates, place names and keywords. The database can also be used for finding pictorial and encyclopedic information about variety of topics. (Below are some examples of keywords.)

浅草・呉服・花屋・博覧・不動尊・小学校・下駄・京都・見世物・将軍・正月・食物・洪水・辻占・農具・流行・銀座・演劇・祭礼・手鞠歌・方言・公園・相撲・芸妓・稲荷・化粧・停車場・銀行・温泉・遊戯・神社・鉄砲・寺・ホテル・橋・髪・葬式・古墳・煙管・婚姻・海苔・猫・酒屋・陸軍・職人・草履・馬車・病院, etc… (from the publisher’s home page.)

As all of you are aware, unless the database will be utilized, we will not have it past the trial period. If you find this database useful, please make sure to give us feedback.

April 25, 2013

Database of Shen Bao 申報 on trial NOW!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new Chinese database, Database of Shen Bao 申報 is available for trial now through May 31, 2013.

About the Database of Shen Bao:

Shen Bao (申報) started its first publication on April 30, 1872 (March 23, the 11th year of Tongzhi reign of Qing Dynasty) and stopped its publication on May 5, 1949 (March 27, the 38th year of the Republic of China). It is the earliest and most influential newspaper in Chinese language with the longest history in modern China.

The Database of Shen Bao includes complete 27,534 end-to-end issues from Shanghai, Hankou, and Hong Kong versions. Besides about 420,000 pages of original images, the database also provides the input full-text, including news, supplement, supplementary issues, special issues, and advertisements, with a total of about 1.8 billion characters. All images have scanning precision reaching 300 dpi. The database supports multi-level search as well as multi-language Window platform.

Please note that the trial version does not include advertisements and cannot print or download from the database.

Access information:

To access the trial database, please go to the following URL: http://databases.library.yale.edu:8331/V/FEMFPFDXHKXMVX1BHTCTYTJFBQSYP3NEUBU6GH1NVG91ECJ2HN-65247?func=native-link&resource=YUL07292. When you get to the homepage, please click on the arrow in the login box to proceed, and then select 申報 icon (on the right in the second row) to enter the database.

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Michael Meng (michael.meng@yale.edu) or Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

May 2, 2013

TBRC core text collection #10 is available online

The East Asia Library is delighted to announce that TBRC (Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center) core text collection #10 is available online now. You can follow this URL http://tbrc.org/#!specials/core/ctc10 to browse the new collection. Please note that it may take a while to load the webpage from your computer.

Please note that access to the TBRC is only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

August 29, 2013

Shen Bao 1872-1949 now available!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce a NEW Chinese database, Shen Bao 1872-1949 申報, is now available to the Yale community. You can access it from here: http://hdl.handle.net/10079/bibid/11666300. It is also listed in our Chinese Database list: http://guides.library.yale.edu/china-databases.

Shanghai-based Shen Bao (申報) started its first issue on April 30, 1872 and ceased its publication on May 5, 1949. It is the earliest and most influential newspaper in Chinese language with the longest history in modern China. The database includes complete 27,534 issues from Shanghai, Hankou, and Hong Kong versions. In addition to about 420,000 pages of original images, the database also provides the input full-text, including news, supplement, supplementary issues, special issues, and advertisements. All images have scanning precision reaching 300 dpi. The database supports multi-level search as well as multi-language Window platform.

The East Asia Library would especially like to acknowledge the generous funding support from the Council on East Asian Studies to acquire this valuable resource.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the database. You are welcome to schedule an individual session with us to learn more about it.

August 30, 2013

NEW Chinese trial database: Airiti Library

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new Chinese database, Airiti Library 華藝缐上圖書館 is available for trial from 9/1/2013 through 9/30/2013.

About the Airiti Library 華藝缐上圖書館

Airiti Library 華藝缐上圖書館 primarily consists of two resources, Chinese Electronic Periodical Services (CEPS) 中文電子期刊資料庫暨平台服務 which include academic journals mostly from Taiwan, and Chinese Electronic Theses and Dissertations Services (CETD) 中文碩博士論文資料庫暨平台服務 which include these and dissertations from institutions in Taiwan and Hong Kong.

Access information:

To access the trial database, please go to the following URL: http://www.airitilibrary.com/.

Please note that access to the trial Airiti Library only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Michael Meng (michael.meng@yale.edu).

October 23, 2013

NEW Korean trial database: Enlarged Yŏnhaengnok Collection online 燕行錄叢刊增補版

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new Korean database, Enlarged Yŏnhaengnok Collection online 燕行錄叢刊增補版 is available for trial now through December 11, 2013.

About the Enlarged Yŏnhaengnok Collection online:

The Yŏnhaengnok Collection 燕行錄叢刊 is a collection of travel records in the period of the Koryŏ and Chosŏn Dynasty (12th century to 19th century), written by diplomatic agents who traveled to China. It provides a milestone documenting diplomatic relations between Korea and China as well as being extensive record of cultural heritage, covering politics, economics, society, and scholarship.

The Enlarged Yŏnhaengnok Collection online 燕行錄叢刊增補版 allows you to browse the travel records by century, king and author, as well as to search the content. It also allows you to search in multi-languages, including classical Korean and Chinese.

Access information:

To access the trial database, please go to the following URL: http://www.krpia.co.kr/pcontent/?svcid=KR&proid=187.

Please note that access to the trial Enlarged Yŏnhaengnok Collection online is only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu).

NEW Chinese trial database: Database of Biographical Materials of Ch'ing Historical Figures and Biographical Packets and Drafts from the Archives of the Ch'ing Historiography Institute (大清國史人物列傳及史館檔傳包傳稿資料庫)

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new Chinese database, Database of Biographical Materials of Ch'ing Historical Figures and Biographical Packets and Drafts from the Archives of the Ch'ing Historiography Institute 大清國史人物列傳及史館檔傳包傳稿資料庫 is available for trial now through November 24, 2013.

About the Database of Biographical Materials of Ch'ing Historical Figures and Biographical Packets and Drafts from the Archives of the Ch'ing Historiography Institute:

Database of Biographical Materials of Ch'ing Historical Figures and Biographical Packets and Drafts from the Archives of the Ch'ing Historiography Institute 大清國史人物列傳及史館檔傳包傳稿資料庫, created by the National Palace Museum in Taipei, contains massive information on Ch'ing historical figures, including 3,536 Packets of Biographical Materials and 8,384 Draft Biographies, and 1,270 volumes of Ch'ing Historical Figures, Jing version, a total of over 15,000 valuable pieces of information on important historical figures from Ch'ing.

Access information:

To access the trial database, please go to the following URL: http://npmhost.npm.gov.tw/tts/npmmeta/DQ/DQ.html. When you get to the database homepage, please input additional log-in information as follows:

群組 Group ID: FT2013
帳號 ID: yale1310
密碼 PW: yaletrial

Please note that access to the trial Database of Biographical Materials of Ch'ing Historical Figures and Biographical Packets and Drafts from the Archives of the Ch'ing Historiography Institute is only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Michael Meng (michael.meng@yale.edu).

October 25, 2013

NEW Chinese trial database: People's Daily (1946-Present)

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new Chinese database, People's Daily (1946-Present) 人民日报 is available for trial now through November 24, 2013.

About the People's Daily (1946-Present):

People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China and the Chinese Communist Party. This internet version covers all issues from 1946 to present. The database is updated daily with full-text searchable function.

Access information:

To access the trial database, please go to the following URL: http://www.oriprobe.com/peoplesdaily.html.

Please note that access to the trial People's Daily (1946-Present) is only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Michael Meng (michael.meng@yale.edu).

October 30, 2013

NEW Chinese trial database: Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books 中國基本古籍庫

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a new Chinese database, Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books 中國基本古籍庫 is available for trial now through November 30, 2013.

About the Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books:

Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books collects more than 10,000 titles of most important classical Chinese works in various subjects covering the period from Pre-Qin to the Republic of China. Each title is provided with a digital full-text and at least one version of rare edition. The database incorporates more than 170,000 volumes and 12,500 various rare editions. The size of the contents is at least three times of the well-known "Imperial Collection of the Four Libraries" (四庫全書).

Please note that the trial version does not allow printing or downloading from the database.

Access information:

To access the trial database, please go to the following URL: http://server.wenzibase.com/. When you get to the homepage, please click on the arrow in the login box to proceed, and then select 中國基本古籍庫 icon (on the left in the first row) to enter the database.

Please note that access to the trial Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books is only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Michael Meng (michael.memg@yale.edu) .

December 6, 2013

NEW Chinese trial database: China Local Gazetteers database

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that a NEW Chinese language resource, China Local Gazetteers 中国新方志数据库, from Wanfang Data is available for trial now through January 1, 2014. You can access it at http://c.g.wanfangdata.com.cn/LocalChronicle.aspx.

The database currently contains approximately 25,000 volumes of Chinese gazetteers published after 1949, covering 31 provinces and autonomous regions of the People's Republic of China. The resource provides detailed geographic and historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district/administrative units. The database also covers historical as well as contemporary facts related to the geographical areas, concerning general surveys, economy, public finance, governance, public security, urban and rural development, agriculture, industry, transportation, business, ethnicity, social sciences, education, culture and sports, public health etc.

Please note that access to the trial China Local Gazetteers is only available from computers on the Yale campus or with off-campus access (http://www.library.yale.edu/about/offcampus.html).

We would like to hear any feedback or comments on this new trial database from you. If you like to schedule a one-on-one session with us to learn more about the database, please feel free to do so. For more information, please contact Michael Meng (michael.memg@yale.edu) .

December 13, 2013

Two New Chinese Resources are now available!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce that two NEW Chinese language resources, Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books 中國基本古籍庫 and Airiti Library 華藝線上圖書館, are now available to the Yale community. They have been added to the Library’s Orbis online catalog, Summon database list, and Chinese Studies subject guide.

Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books (Zhongguo ji ben gu ji ku, 中國基本古籍庫) collects approximately 10,000 titles of most important classical Chinese works in various subjects covering the period from Pre-Qin to the Republic of China. Each title is provided with a digital full-text and at least one version of rare edition. The database incorporates more than 170,000 volumes and 12,500 various rare editions.

Airiti Library (Hua yi xian shang tu shu guan華藝線上圖書館) consists of two series, Chinese Electronic Periodical Services (CEPS) 中文電子期刊資料庫暨平台服務 which include major academic journals from Taiwan and few selected journals from China, and Chinese Electronic Theses and Dissertations Services (CETD) 中文碩博士論文資料庫暨平台服務 which include full-text or citation of these and dissertations from major academic institutions in Taiwan and Hong Kong.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the databases. You are also welcome to schedule an individual session to learn more about any Chinese online resources.

January 21, 2014

Two NEW Chinese Resources: China Local Gazetteers and Qing Biographical Database

The Yale University Library users now have the access to two NEW Chinese language resources, China Local Gazetteers Database 中国新方志库 and Database of Biographical Materials of Ch’ing Historical Figures and Biographical Packets and Drafts from the Archives of the Ch’ing Historiography Institute 大清國史人物列傳及史館檔傳包傳稿. They have been added to the Library’s Orbis online catalog, Summon database list, and Chinese Studies subject guide.

China Local Gazetteers Database 中国新方志库 contains approximately 25,000 volumes of Chinese gazetteers published AFTER 1949, covering 31 provinces and autonomous regions of the People's Republic of China. The resource provides detailed geographic and historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district/administrative units. The database also covers historical as well as contemporary facts related to the geographical areas, concerning general surveys, economy, public finance, governance, public security, urban and rural development, agriculture, industry, transportation, business, ethnicity, social sciences, education, culture and sports, public health etc.

Database of Biographical Materials of Ch'ing Historical Figures and Biographical Packets and Drafts from the Archives of the Ch'ing Historiography Institute 大清國史人物列傳及史館檔傳包傳稿資料庫, created by the National Palace Museum in Taipei, contains massive information on Qing historical figures, including 3,536 Packets of Biographical Materials (傳包) and 8,384 Draft Biographies (傳稿), and 1,270 volumes of Qing Historical Figures, Jing version (進呈本•大清國史人物列傳), a total of over 15,000 valuable pieces of information on important historical figures from Qing Dynasty. *You must install the application for first use: http://npmhost.npm.gov.tw/tts/snc/img/tifsetup.exe **Please email east.asia.library@yale.edu or call 203-432-1794 for username and password.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the databases. You are also welcome to schedule an individual session to learn more about any Chinese online resources.

January 29, 2014

New Chinese Resource: National Population Census of China Database

The Yale University Library users now have the access to another NEW Chinese language resource, National Population Census of China Database 中国人口普查数据库. It has been added to the Library’s Orbis online catalog, Summon database list, and Chinese Studies subject guide.

National Population Census of China Database 中国人口普查数据库 collects all data of population census in 2010 published by China Statistics Press, including all population data of the whole country, 31 provinces and centrally administered municipalities and 2872 units at county level. The contents of data are name, gender, age, nationality, permanent residence registration, education level, industry, occupation, social security, marriage, fertility, death, housing, migration and others. All statistical data forms are able to be downloaded into Excel format for further searching, browsing and analyzing.

In addition to the Chinese language interface, an English interface will become available shortly in March 2014. Searching ”National population census full-text database” on Orbis would generate a list of the 39 titles of 2010 Chinese Census we purchased this time.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the databases. You are also welcome to schedule an individual session to learn more about any Chinese online resources.

February 6, 2014

NEW Korean Database: NK News now available!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce a NEW Korean database, NK News, is now available to the Yale community. You can access it from here: http://www.nknews.org/. It has also been added to the Library’s Orbis online catalog, Korean Database list on the East Asia Library website, and Summon database list.

NK News is an independent, privately owned specialist site focused on North Korea. Content of this database is mostly in English and includes news, news aggregator, intelligence analysis, travel reports, and other data about North Korea. Some of the content may require additional log-in to access. Please contact Tang Li (tang.li@yale.edu) for account information.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the database. You are welcome to schedule an individual session with us to learn more about it.

February 19, 2014

NEW Chinese resources available: The People's Daily and ProQuest Chinese Historical Newspapers

The Yale University Library users now have the access to two NEW Chinese resources, The People’s Daily 人民日报 and ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953). Both have been added to the Library’s Orbis online catalog, Summon database list, and Chinese Studies subject guide.

The People’s Daily 人民日报 is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China and the Chinese Communist Party. This internet version covers all issues from 1946 to present. The database is updated daily with full-text searchable function. For best user experience, the publisher suggests to make Internet Explorer as the default browser.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese newspapers collection (1832-1953) includes the following 12 important English language newspapers published in China:

• North China Herald (1850-1941)
• Canton Times (1919-1920)
• China Critic (1939-1946)
• The China Press (1925-1938)
• China Weekly Review (1917-1953)
• Chinese Recorder (1868-1940)
• Chinese Repository (1832-1851)
• Peking Daily News (1914-1917)
• Peking Gazette (1915-1917)
• Peking Leader (1918-1919)
• Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921)
• Shanghai Times (1914-1921)

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the databases. You are also welcome to schedule an individual session to learn more about any Chinese online resources.

March 21, 2014

New Chinese Resource: Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1948

Yale University Library recently acquired additional three series (1919-1929, 1930-1937, 1938-1948) of Foreign Office Files for China. The resource has been added to the Library’s Orbis online catalog, Summon database list, and Chinese Studies subject guide.

Foreign Office Files for China is the most comprehensive set of British Foreign Office/Foreign and Commonwealth Office documents on China available in digital and print forms. The three new parts from 1919-1948 provide formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials covering one of the most turbulent periods of modern Chinese history.

The collection of Foreign Office Files for China spans the period 1919 to 1980:

1919-1929: Kuomintang (The Nationalist Party), Chinese Communist Party and the Third International
1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis
1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of Communist victory (forthcoming)
1949-1956: The Communist revolution
1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward
1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the database. You are also welcome to schedule an individual session to learn more about any Chinese online resources.

April 2, 2014

Trial of China Academic Digital Associative Library (CADAL)

Yale University Library has recently been offered a trail of a unique Chinese language resource, China Academic Digital Associative Library (CADAL) 大学数字图书馆国际合作计划, until the end of this year.

CADAL is a national project sponsored by the Ministry of Education, the People’s Republic of China. It has been widely recognized as the “Chinese HathiTrust”, a digital repository of contents from more than 70 leading research libraries in China as well as some overseas libraries. By the end of February 28, 2014, CADAL has a digital collection of more than 2.7 million e-books. This is a rare opportunity to access some valuable Chinese sources, especially materials published during the Republican era (1912-1949).

You would need to first login Yale VPN AND register a CADAL account in order to have full access to the contents.

April 23, 2014

Trials for two Chinese language resources: Academic Conferences in China and Chinese Cultural Revolution

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce the trial access to two Chinese language resources: Academic Conferences in China (中国学术会议论文数据库) and Chinese Cultural Revolution Database (中国文化大革命文库).

Academic Conferences in China contains full-text, abstract and other descriptive information of papers from national and international conferences held in China from 1986 onward. It is valuable for getting timely research outputs in various fields. Yale access includes major fields of humanities and social sciences.

Chinese Cultural Revolution Database is a full-text searchable database containing comprehensive primary sources on Chinese Cultural Revolution, a turbulent decade (1966-1976) in the history of contemporary China. The sources collected in the database include Chinese Communist Party (CCP) documents, directives, speeches and works by Mao Zedong and other CCP officials of the period, official newspaper editorials, and selected Red-Guard documents.

For more information and questions, please contact Michael Meng (michael.memg@yale.edu) .


May 5, 2014

New Japanese Resource: Nihon Bungaku Web Toshokan 日本文学WEB図書館

The East Asia library is delighted to inform the subscription of Nihon Bungaku Web Toshokan 日本文学WEB図書館. As listed below, the database contains two major Japanese poetry anthologies. It requires downloading a viewing software which works only on the Window’s operating system. Please let us know if you have any questions.

Nihon Bungaku Web Toshokan 日本文学WEB図書館

Contents:
*Shinpen Kokka Taikan (Kadokawa Gakugei Shuppan) 新編国歌大観(角川学芸出版)
*Shinpen Shikashu Taisie (Koten Library) 新編私家集大成(明治書院/古典ライブラリー)


How to use:

0) Operating Environment: Windows XP, VISTA, 7 & Internet Explore. It does not work well on Macs (and not at all on Mac OSX).
1) Visit: http://kotenlibrary.com/weblibrary/toshokan
2) Click [ダウンロードまたはアプリケーションの起動(図書館用)] button to download viewing button.
3) Download and install the viewing software.
4) Click [和歌ライブラリー] button on the top page「日本文学Web図書館」
5) After your initial log-in, you will be able to use the database simply going to the link http://kotenlibrary.com/weblibrary/toshokan, and by clicking the “ダウンロード…” button.
6) For more information, please visit http://kotenlibrary.com/weblibrary/toshokan then click 操作の手引きin the right box.

May 29, 2014

New Japanese Resource: Fūzoku Gahō 風俗画報

East Asia Library is pleased to announce the new acquisition of Fūzoku Gahō database.

Fūzoku Gahō 風俗画報 (http://books.jkn21.com)

One of the first Japanese illustrated magazines from Meiji 22 (1889) to Taishō 5 (1916) depicting manners and customs of Meiji Japan. Including prints and photographs, all articles in the magazine are searchable by titles, authors, dates, place names and keywords. The database can also be used for finding pictorial and encyclopedic information about variety of topics. (Below are some examples of keywords.)

浅草・呉服・花屋・博覧・不動尊・小学校・下駄・京都・見世物・将軍・正月・食物・洪水・辻占・農具・流行・銀座・演劇・祭礼・手鞠歌・方言・公園・相撲・芸妓・稲荷・化粧・停車場・銀行・温泉・遊戯・神社・鉄砲・寺・ホテル・橋・髪・葬式・古墳・煙管・婚姻・海苔・猫・酒屋・陸軍・職人・草履・馬車・病院, etc… (Keywords are from the publisher’s home page.)

September 12, 2014

New Trial Resource: Japan Chronicle Weekly online

We would like to announce the trial of digital edition of Japan Chronicle Weekly. The trial runs from today through October 15, 2014.

Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902 – 1940)
http://primarysources.brillonline.com/browse/japan-chronicle

“The English-language Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902 – 1940) is the newspaper of record for Japan’s engagement with modernity and its emergence, through war, political and social upheaval and seismic social change in East Asia, onto the world stage in the first half of the twentieth century. Historians of East Asia have long seen the Japan Chronicle as a uniquely valuable resource. This well-informed, controversial but always readable source of news and opinion on Japan and East Asia offers an intriguing and lively Japanese complement to the North-China Herald.” - from the database site.

Please contact Haruko Nakamura (haruko.nakamura@yale.edu) if you have any questions. As all of you are aware, unless the database will be utilized, we will not have it past the trial period. If you find this database useful, please make sure to give us feedback.