Yale University East Asia Library link to yale university library home page link to EAL page

 

East Asia Library Guides: China

Chinese Studies Resources: Archives [Back to Table of Contents]

1. Overview of Chinese Archives

Chinese archives : an introductory guide
Call# CD2031 Y438 1996 (LC), East Asia Library Reference. Also available in the SML Stacks and Starr Reference Room.
Introduction to national and local archives in China (including archives in Taiwan).

State and economy in Republican China: A handbook for scholars HC427.8 S73 2000 (LC)+ East Asia Library Reference. A survey of archives and documents related to the economic history of Republican China. Also including a selected list of related reference works.

2. Major Archives in China/Taiwan

In mainland China, 中国第一历史档案馆 (The First Historical Archives of China), has the central government archives from Ming and Qing dynasties; it has an online catalog. 中国第二历史档案馆 (The Second Historical Archives of China), containing government archives from the Republican era (1912-1949). 外交部档案馆 (Archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs) opened to the public part of the PRC diplomatic archives from 1949-1955.

In Taiwan, 故宮博物院 (National Palace Museum, in Taiwan) has the archives from the Qing period; its catalog, Qing dai wen xian dang an zong mu 清代文獻檔案總目 (Call# DS754 K75) is available in the East Asia Library Reference and the SML Stacks. 中研院近史所檔案館(Modern Chinese Archives in Academia Sinica), containing diplomatic and economic archives from the late Qing and early Republican governments. 國史館 holds the government archives from the Republican period as well as the current Taiwan government.

3. China-related Archives in North America

Yale Library Finding Aid Database for finding unpublished manuscripts and archives related to China in the Yale collections.

To find other China-related archives in the U.S., readers may search databases such as: ArchiveGrid, ArchivesUSA, or WorldCat.

4. Published Archives

Chinese Archives and Documents on CD-ROM has full text of the archives from the Qing and the Republican period as well as documents associated with the Chinese Communists.

Grand Secretariat Archives (內閣大庫檔案)
Features approximately 310,000 documents originally collected by the Grand Secretariat of the Qing dynasty. These documents, ranging from Ming to late Qing periods, include imperial decrees, edicts, memorials, tribute documents, examination questions, examination papers, rosters of successful examination candidates, documents from the offices of the Grand Secretariat, documents from the offices for book compilation, and old documents from Mukden. Please email east.asia.library@yale.edu or call 203-432-1794 for username and password. Only available to the Yale community.

Search Orbis for other published Chinese archives.  Useful subject terms for finding published archives include sources and archives. You may use "Advanced Search" option in Orbis to incorporate these subject terms into your search (for example: "sources" + "Qing").