Yale University East Asia Library link to yale university library home page link to EAL page

 

East Asia Library Guides: China

Chinese Studies Resources: Bibliographies [Back to Table of Contents]

* The following list is not meant to be comprehensive. Please feel free to contact the East Asia Library staff if you would like to suggest a website or title to be added here.

Websites

Classical Historigraphy for Chinese History  (Compiled by Benjamin A. Elman, Professor of East Asian Studies and History, Princeton University)

Reference Works for Chinese Studies - Bibliographies (An annotated bibliography compiled by Leif Littrup, University of Copenhagen)

Twentieth-Century Chinese Art Bibliography (Compiled by Britta Erickson, independent scholar and curator living in Stanford, CA)

Books

Chinese History: A Manual
Call# DS735 W695X13 2000 East Asia Library Reference
Includes comprehensive list of reference works for the study of Chinese history up to the Republican period, with annotations.

Twentieth century China : an annotated bibliography of reference works Call# DS774 C65 2004+ East Asia Library Reference
A comprehensive tool for finding reference works published in the twentieth century.

China: an annotated bibliography of bibliographies (compiled by T-H Tsien)
Call# Z3106 T87 East Asia Library Reference
An Annotated Bibliography of Selected Chinese Reference Works (by Teng and Biggerstaff)
Call# Z1035.8 C5 T45 1971 East Asia Library Reference
Both are somewhat outdated but may still be used for finding useful old reference works.