Yale University East Asia Library link to yale university library home page link to EAL page

 

East Asia Library Guides: East Asia

English Resources on East Asia

Reference Sources  |   Primary Sources  |   Books  |   Articles


Reference Sources

Cambridge Encyclopedia of China (call no.: DS705 C35X 1991+, Starr Main Reference Room)
A major English-language encyclopedia on China.

Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
A major English-language encyclopedia on Japan.

World Biographical Index
Includes over 70 thousand Chinese names and 86 thousand Japanese names. Provides a brief bio and citations to other sources. Search Chinese/Japanese names in romanized forms (see details here).

[Back to top]


Primary Sources

English-Language Newspapers & Periodicals from Pre-Communist China @ Yale
Includes a list of English-language newspapers and periodicals published in the pre-communist China from the Yale library collections. They can be used as primary sources in the study of various aspects of the late Qing and the Republican China.

Primary sources at Yale
Click on the "Tools for Dicovery" link to explore primary resources at and beyond Yale.

Orbis
Useful subject terms for finding primary sources in Orbis include: sources, archives, personal narratives, biography. You may use "Advanced Search" in Orbis to incorporate these subject terms into your search (for example: "sources" + "Korea").

ArchiveGrid and Archive Finder 

[Back to top]


Books

Orbis
Yale University Library catalog.

MORRIS
Yale Law Library catalog, which may have books on East Asia that are not available in Orbis.

WorldCat
A union catalog for many academic, public, and special libraries in the world. More than 100 million bibliographic records are included. As an alternative, you can use a free web version WorldCat.org. It searches the entire WorldCat databases, but only displays results from participating member libraries.

** For books not in the Yale library collections, please use BorrowDirect and Interlibrary Loan.

[Back to top]


Articles

1) To find articles on East Asia, start with the following databases:

Database Name Format Subject Type of Content Years of Coverage
Bibliography of Asian Studies Citation Asia-specific Academic 1971-present
Periodicals Index Online Citation Multi-disciplinary, but has a subject list of Asian studies journals Academic + General interest beginning -1995
JSTOR Full-text Multi-disciplinary, but has a subject list of Asian studies journals Academic beginning - 3 or 5 years ago
Project Muse Full-text Multi-disciplinary, but has a subject list of Asian studies journals Academic most recent several years
Academic Search Premier
Full-text + Citation Multi-disciplinary Academic + General interest varies
WilsonWeb Citation + Full-text Multi-disciplinary Academic varies

In addition, you may also find articles relevant to your topic in discipline-specific indexes such as Anthropological Literature, EconLit , Historical Abstracts, International Political Science Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts, etc.

2) When a database only gives you the citation, you may click on the icon
if available, to search for full text in other databases.
Yale_Links

3) Another possible way to get full text immediately is to search the journal title in the Yale Library online journals list. You may use the English online journals in East Asian studies to identify relevant journals.

4) If no full text is available from online resources, check Orbis, and then Morris.

5) Interlibrary loan is the last resort when all the above options fail.

[Back to top]