Yale University East Asia Library link to yale university library home page link to EAL page

 

East Asia Library Guides: Japan

Japanese Studies Resources: Bibliographies [Back to Table of Contents]

General

Hon no nenkan = Book page.
本の年鑑 = Book page.
Nichigai Asoshietsu, annual
Call#
Z3301 B89
, East Asia Library Reference
Provides contents of books that were published in the year.

Classical Japanese (Pre-Meiji period)

Kokusho sōmokuroku
国書総目録, 9 vols.
Call# Z3301 K8X 1989, East Asia Library Reference
Iwanami Shoten, 1963-1976

Kotenseki sōgō mokuroku.
古典総合目録 3 vols.
Iwanami shoten, 1990
Call# Z3301 K8X 1989 East Asia Library Reference
Additions to the Kokusho sōmokuroku.

Denshi shiryōkan
Online versions of the Kokusho sōmokuroku and the Kotenseki sōgō mokuroku are available in additions to other more specific bibliographic databases.

* Kokusho yomikata jiten (国書読み方事典) is a helpful guide to reading the titles of classical works. Call# Z3301 K8 Suppl. Oversize, East Asia Library Reference.


Meiji to present

The following is a selected list of useful bibliographies.  There are many bibliographies devoted to each specific discipline. (For example, the Keizaishi bunken kaidai  経済史文献解題 and Masukomi bunken jiten マスコミ文献大事典). For specialized bibliographies, consult specific subject guides or make an appointment to see the Japanese bibliographer.

Shuppan nenkan + Nihon shoseki sōmokuroku
出版年鑑+日本書籍総目録
Shuppan nyūsusha, annual
Call# Z3301 S48 East Asia Library Reference

Jinbutsu bunken mokuroku
人物文献目録
Nichigai Asoshietsu, annual
Call#
Z5301 N46 1993
East Asia Library Reference

Shudai shoshi sakuin
主題書誌索引

Nichigai Asoshietsu
Call#
Z3301.A1 F841 2003
East Asia Library Reference