Yale University East Asia Library link to yale university library home page link to EAL page

 

East Asia Library Guides: Japan

Japanese Studies Resources: Dictionaries [Back to Table of Contents]

Japanese – English / English – Japanese dictionaries

Kenkyūsha's New Japanese- English Dictionary
Kenky
ūsha, 1974 and 2003

Call# PL679 K48, East Asia Library Reference; also available in CCL and Starr Reference.
Note that the 4th edition (1974) uses alphabetic ordering, while the 5th edition (2003) follows Japanese gojūon order.


Kenky
ūsha English-Japanese Dictionary
Kenky
ūsha, 2002

Call# PL679 .K39 2002 East Asia Library Reference; also available in Starr Main Reference and CCL.

Japan Knowledge online also includes Japanese and English dictionaries.

Jim Breen’s WWWJDIC online


Language dictionaries


K
ōjien
広辞苑
5th edition.  Iwanami Shoten, 1998
Call# PL675 S54 East Asia Library Reference

Nihon kokugo daijiten
日本国語大辞典
Shōgakkan, 2000-2002.  14 vols.
Call# PL675 N54 2000, East Asia Library Reference

Nihongo daijiten = The Great Japanese Dictionary
日本語大辞典
Kōdansha, 1 vol.
Call# AE35.2 S4
, East Asia Library Reference

Gojūonbiki Kōdansha Kan-Wa jiten
五十音引き 講談社 漢和辞典
K¯odansha, 1997.  
Call# PL677.5 G64 1997, East Asia Library Reference


Character dictionaries

The New Nelson Japanese-English Character Dictionary
C.E. Tuttle Co., 1997
Call# PL679 .H35 1997, East Asia Library Reference

Japanese Character Dictionary with Compound Lookup via any Kanji
Nichigai Asoshiētsu, 1989 1 vol.
Call#
PL679 S63 1989,
East Asia Library Reference
This dictionary is particularly useful when you can’t read the first character in a compound.  


NTC’s New Japanese-English Character Dictionary
National Textbook Company, 1993.

Call# PL679 N727 1993, Starr Main Reference Roomand CCL Reference

Dai Kan-Wa jiten
大漢和辞典
Taishūkan Shoten, 1984-1986.  13 vols.
Call#
PL681 C5 M675 1984+ Oversize, East Asia Library Reference
The classic Chinese character reference dictionary.