« Yale University Library celebrates 150 years as a government documents depository | Main | Notable government documents 2009 »

2010 Applebaum Award winners

The Harvey M. Applebaum '59 Award is conferred on a Yale College senior for an outstanding essay based on research done in the collections of the Yale University Library's Government Documents & Information Center.

Two awards were conferred in 2010. Habib Moody (Ezra Stiles College) won first prize for his Political Science essay Estimating the Returns to Expenditures in Canadian Elections: Evidence from a Regression-Discontinuity Design. Habib compiled a dataset using administrative records of the results of elections for Canada's House of Commons. The second prize went to Avi Kupfer (Pierson College) for his History senior essay "The Dictates of Sound Policy": Contending with the Western Indians under the New American Constitution. The American State Papers, as well as the papers of George Washington and members of Washington's administration, were central to Avi's research. Both papers are available on the Applebaum Award website.

The prize was established in 2007 by the daughters of Harvey M. Applebaum, class of 1959.


This page contains a single entry from the blog posted on May 10, 2010 1:57 PM.

The previous post in this blog was Yale University Library celebrates 150 years as a government documents depository.

The next post in this blog is Notable government documents 2009.

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.

Powered by
Movable Type 3.35