Yale University Library

 

Top five things you need to know about library e-resources at Yale

1.   The Yale University Library licenses hundreds of research databases and thousands of newspapers, magazines, and journals on topics from American history to zoology. You can:

2.   When you are using a research database, use Yale Links to find material fast. In a database such as Academic Search or Web of Science, click on this icon: yalelinks

You will be taken to a menu from which you can

  • Find links to full text
  • Search Orbis (the online catalog of Yale University Library) and MORRIS (the online catalog of Yale Law School's Lillian Goldman Law Library) for print copies of the book or journal at Yale
  • Order a copy through Interlibrary Loan services when the item is not available at Yale
  • Get help through the library's Ask! a Librarian service.

3.    Other ways to find fulltext resources quickly: In the Find Articles service, you can search several research databases at one time. Full text will be indicated with this symbol:  fulltext

An additional check mark will indicate if it is from a peer reviewed journal.

Another quick way to find online full text is to use Google Scholar. In Preferences, set the Library links for Yale University Library / Yale Law Library - Yale Fulltext

4.    You can access Yale University Library online journals, books, and databases even if you are not on the Yale network. You simply download and use the VPN, Virtual Private Network. Note that if you see a notice from a publisher web site to pay for content, you either are not on the Yale network or you are not using VPN. The Library either subscribes to material (you don’t pay the publisher) or will get a copy of an article from another Library if you request it.

5.    Wireless access is widely available. YaleSecure is now the preferred wireless access method, no registration is required, and is available to anyone with a current NetID.

Do you have a question about any of these resources, or Yale University Library resources and services in general? Get help from the Library in person, by phone, e-mail, or chat through our Ask! a Librarian service.