|
Databases and
Indexes
Use these databases to
locate articles in journals, monograph series, dissertations, and much
more. Do a title search in ORBIS
to find out if Yale owns the particular publication you are seeking. Access
to these online databases through the links below is restricted to Yale
IP addresses.
- Anthropological
Literature (Cambridge, MA: Tozzer Library, 1989- )
- SML, Starr Main Reference Rm;
KLINE, Anthropology / Z5112 A57 (LC)
- Connect
to Anthropological Literature online (via CitaDel/Telnet or Citadel/Web)
- Indexes articles and essays
in anthropology and archaeology, and is recognized as one of the most
important tools in the field. Quarterly with annual cumulation. The
online database covers 1984 to present. The printed volumes cover 1979-1984
and 1989 to the present. 1984-1988 are on microfiche in SML Main Reading
Room and at Kline. For citations to literature published before 1979,
see the Catalogue of the library of the Peabody Museum of Archaeology
and Ethnology (no. 10). Continues: Anthropological Literature
(Pleasantville, NY: Redgrave Publishing 1979-1983) and Anthropological
Literature (Cambridge, MA: 1984) and Anthropological Literature
[microform] (Cambridge MA: Tozzer Library, v.6 (1984)-v. 10, no
4 (Fall 1988).
- Art Abstracts
and Art Index Retrospective (New York: H. W. Wilson, 1929- )
SML, Starr Main Reference Rm; ART/ARCHITECTURE, Reference and CD-ROM/
Z5937 +A78 (LC)
Connect
to Art Index Retrospective online (via Wilson
Web)
-
Connect
to Art Abstracts (via Wilson
Web)
- An author and subject index
to articles and book reviews in the fields of archaeology, architecture,
art history, city planning, fine arts, graphic arts, industrial design,
interior design, landscape design, photography and film, and related
subjects. Quarterly with annual cumulation. CD-ROM and online databases
cover Sept. 1984-present. The printed index goes back to 1929.
- ARTbibliographies
Modern (Santa Monica: ABC-Clio, 1970- .)
ART/ARCHITECTURE, Reference, Index Z5937 +L151 (LC) and CD-ROM
Connect
to ARTbibliographies Modern on the Web
- Abstracts of periodical articles,
books, exhibition catalogs and dissertations covering 19th and 20th
century art. The CD-ROM covers 1984 to present. The print volumes date
back to 1970.
- Arts &
Humanities Citation Index (Philadelphia: Insititute for Scientific
Information, 1975- .)
SML, Starr Main Reference Rm / Z5937 +A795 (LC)
Connect
to Arts & Humanities Citation Index online (via Web of Science)
- An international interdisciplinary
index to the literature of the arts and humanities, indexing the contents
of about 6,100 journals, covering about 1,000 fully and about 5,100
selectively. Those selectively covered are titles in the sciences and
social sciences indexed by Science Citation Index and Social
Sciences Citation Index, from which articles of possible interest
in the arts and humanities are drawn. Published in three parts:
- * Citation Index (through which
you can find citations of earlier books/articles by later articles)
* Source Index (an author index)
* Permuterm Subject Index (which offers keyword access to the titles
of articles)
The database covers 1980 to the present, and the print volumes go back
to 1975.
- Bibliographie
latinoaméricaine d'articles. Vol. 1-, 1981- (Paris: Centre
de Documentation, Institut des Hautes Etudes de l'Amérique Latine,
1981-) Semiannual.
SML / Z1605 +B53 (LC)
- Indexes articles in over 150
journals and annuals, many of which are published in Latin America.
Arranged by country and subdivided by discipline.
- Bibliography
of the History of Art: BHA = Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art (Vandoeuvre-les-Nancy,
France: Centre national de la recherche scientifique, Institut de l'information
scientifique et technique; Santa Monica, CA: J. Paul Getty Trust, Getty
Art History Information Program, 1991- )
SML, Starr Main Reference Rm; ART/ARCHITECTURE / Z5931 +B538 (LC)
Connect
to Bibliography of the History of Art (via CitaDel/telnet or CitaDel/Web)
- The primary index to the world's
literature in art, architecture and related fields, with abstracts of
current books, journal and newspaper articles, Festschriften, symposia,
exhibitions, museum publications, and dissertations in post-Classical
European art and post-Colombian American art. Includes author and subject
indexes, the latter available in both English and French. About 4,000
serials are indexed. Quarterly, with annual cumulation.
Continues: RILA = International repertory of the literature of art
(New York: College Art Association, 1975-1989) and Repertoire d'art
et d'archeologie (Paris: Centre de documentation sciences humaines,
1910-1989)
- Chicano
Database (Chicano Studies Collection, Ethnic Studies Library, University
of California at Berkeley)
Connect
to the Chicano Database (via Eureka on the Web)
- The Chicano Database identifies
all types of material on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos.
Updated quarterly, the Chicano Database covers at least 1967 to the
present, with more than 48,000 records. Records added since 1992 have
expanded its scoop to include the broader Latino experience, including
Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The
Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database,
covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.
- Dissertation
Abstracts International (Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms International,
1861- )
SML, Starr Main Reference Rm / Z5055 U49 +D57 (LC)
Connect
to Dissertation Abstracts online (via the Web or telnet)
-
Lists dissertations accepted
for the Ph.D. and other doctoral degrees by American and Canadian degree-granting
institutions. Dates of coverage 1861 to the present. Coverage is identical
for both print and CD-ROM, although the CD-ROM does not include abstracts
for dissertations prior to 1981. Issued in three parts after 1969:
-
* Dissertation Abstracts
International. Section A: Humanities and Social Sciences (1969-present)
-
* Dissertation Abstracts
International. Section B: Sciences and Engineering (1969-present)
-
* Dissertation Abstracts
International. Section C: European Abstracts (1976-1988) and Dissertation
Abstracts International. Section C: Worldwide (1989-present)
-
See also American Doctoral
Dissertations (Z5055 U49 +A62 (LC)
- Film Index
International (Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, 1993- )
- SML CD-ROM Reference Center
-
This CD-ROM, produced by the
British Film Institute, includes cast lists, summaries, and citations
to articles about 90,000 films and 30,000 persons, 1930-present.
- Handbook
of Latin American Studies (Gainesville,FL: University of Florida
Press, 1936- )
SML, Starr Main Reference Rm / Z1605 H35(LC)
Connect to Handbook of Latin American
Studies (HLAS) online
-
An annotated bibliography of
works on Latin America covering various fields in both the humanities
and social sciences. Volumes have been published annually since 1936,
by Harvard University Press, the University of Florida Press, and the
University of Texas Press. HLAS is edited by the Hispanic Division of
the Library of Congress. The printed version and the online database
covers from 1936 to the present.
- Hispanic
American Periodicals Index (Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center
Publications, University of California, 1970-)
SML, Starr Main Reference Rm / Z6953.8 +H36 (LC)
Connect
to HAPI online (via CitaDel/Telnet or CitaDel/Web)
-
HAPI is the largest index of
journal information from and about Central and South America, Mexico,
the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics
in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic,
and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters,
HAPI contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews,
documents, original literary works, and other materials. The printed
volumes and the online version of HAPI cover from 1970 to the present.
- Index
to Latin American Periodical Literature, 1929-1960 (Columbus Memorial
Library. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1962. 8 vols.)
SML, Starr Main Reference Rm / Z1601 +P35 1929-60 (LC)
-
Indexes articles from more than
3,000 periodicals, most of which are published in Latin America (1,600
titles listed, although more are indexed). Two supplements cover 1961-1970.
Invaluable source for locating articles published on a subject between
1929-1970.
- LAPOP, the Latin American Public Opinion Project
Connect to LAPOP
The Latin American Public Opinion Project surveys analyzing major topics of
great interest to political and social scientists, Latin Americanists, government officials, and interested citizens.
LAPOP surveys analyzing citizen views on system support, political tolerance, citizen participation, local government,
corruption, and views on authoritarianism have been conducted and are now being archived for: BOLIVIA, BRAZIL, CHILE,
COLOMBIA, COSTA RICA, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC, ECUADOR, GUATEMALA, GUYANA, HAITI, HONDURAS, JAMAICA, MEXICO, NICARAGUA,
PANAMA, PARAGUAY, PERU, SALVADOR, URUGUAY, and VENEZUELA.
- Latin American Newsletters
(London, England)
Connect to the Latin American Newsletters
This has been the leading independent source of political, strategic,
economic, and business intelligence on Latin America for over forty years. Since 1967 it provides analysis and insight into
key political and economic events across Latin America. The paper version of these newsletters are available in the
Social Science Library. Check Orbis for their locations.
(Access by IP recognition: Yale/other subscribing institutions)
- Latin American Newsstand
Connect to the Latin American Newsstand
ProQuest's Latin American Newsstand provides full-text information in Spanish and Portuguese from
41 newspapers from Latin America and Puerto Rico. The complete articles are available in ASCII
format. Key newspaper titles include Reforma and El Universal (Mexico); O Globo and Folha de
São Paulo (Brazil); EL Comercio (Peru); La nación (Argentina); El Mercurio (Chile);
El Nacional (Venezuela) and Portafolio (Colombia).
(Access by IP recognition: Yale/other subscribing institutions)
- Latin American Women Writers
Connect to Latin American Women Writers online
- Latin American Women Writers (LAWW) will contain approximately 100,000 pages of prose, poetry and drama by women writers from Mexico, Central, and South America when complete. In this prototype version there are about 4200 pages of prose and poetry. Drama will be added in the next release.
- Latinobarómetro
Connect to Latinobarómetro online
- An online service providing access to data from, and documents about, Latin America. Latinobarometro is an annual public opinion survey in 18 Latin American countries, with data available from 1995 to (currently) 2005; An ongoing subscription will include access to future years' data releases.
- MLA Bibliography
(New York: Modern Language Association of American, 1921- )
SML, Starr Main Reference Rm / Z7006 M63 (LC)
Connect
to MLA Bibliography online (via the Web or telnet)
-
The MLA Bibliography indexes
critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.The
database provides access to citations from over 4,000 journals and series
published worldwide, as well as books, essay collections, working papers,
proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. The print volumes go
back to 1921 and the database covers from 1963 to the present. The MLA
Bibliography continues the Modern Language Association Annual Bibliography.
For earlier volumes, check the SML Card Catalog under "Modern Language
Association."
- Periodical
Contents Index (Chadwyck-Healey)
Connect to Periodicals Contents Index
online
- PCI Web is an electronic index
to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social
sciences, from their first issues to 1990/1991. Every item or title
on the table of contents pages is indexed. The scope is international,
including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and
other Western languages. PCI Web currently indexes over six million
articles in 1,595 journals. Every year, it adds records for more than
two million more articles. It will grow to encompass 3,500 journals
and fifteen million individual articles.
- Scientific Electronic Library Online
Connect to SciELO
online
-
SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online is a model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet. Especially conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries, it provides an efficient way to assure universal visibility and accessibility to their scientific literature, contributing to overcome the phenomena known as "lost science". In addition, the SciELO model comprises integrated procedures for the measurement of usage and impact of scientific journals.
- Web of
Science (Institute for Scientific Information Citation Databases)
Connect to Web of Science
-
The ISI Citation Databases collectively
index more than 8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover,
providing users with complete bibliographic data, full-length author
abstracts, and cited references from the world's most influential research:
-
* The Science Citation Index
Expanded covers over 5,300 journals (2000 more titles than the print
or CD-ROM version) and is updated with 16,000 new records every week.
* The Social Sciences Citation Index covers over 1,700 journals and
is updated by 2,800 new records every week.
* The Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers over 1,100 journals
and is updated by 2,200 new records every week.
Through the Web of Science, these multidisciplinary databases are available independently or in any combination. Users will be able to perform current
and retrospective searches (back to 1973) of the files using standard
graphical Web browsers such as Netscape.
|