Philosophy Resources at Yale Illustration from René Descartes' Principia Philosophiĉ, 1677 Philosophy Resources at Yale University Library spacer

Bibliographies Biographies Book Reviews Dictionaries Encyclopedias Reference Works
Full-text Online databases Locating Journal Articles Manuscripts and Archival sources

Guides and Handbooks

Bynagle, Hans E. Philosophy : a guide to the reference literature. Littleton, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1986.
Call number: SML, Reference, Z7125 B97 1986 (LC)
A bibliography and handbook, "compiled and written with a diversity of users in mind." (Preface) Less exhaustive than R. T. De George's Philosopher's Guide (see below) but covers much the same ground, containing lengthy annotations and citations to more recent works. Organized by resource type, with entries arranged alphabetically within each chapter. Core journals and professional societies are also listed. Emphasis is on English-language materials. Author/title and subject indices.
DeGeorge, Richard T. A guide to philosophical bibliography and research. New York: Appleton-Century-Crofts, 1971.
Call Number: SML, Reference, Z7125 D44 (LC)
A guide to material useful for research in philosophy, containing citations for general research tools and sources in related fields such as education and relation, as well as for material specifically of use to philosophers. The emphasis is on English-language sources, although a few tools in other languages are cited. Chapter 4 is especially useful for its citations of bibliographies of individual philosophers. Brief annotations.
Jasenas, Michael. A history of the bibliography of philosophy. Hildeschelm, 1973.
Call Number: SML, Reference, Z7125 J37 1973
The author's thesis is that bibliographical studies in the field reflect the state of philosophy at the time of their compilation, and to be most useful, must be examined in the light of the history of philosophy. Discussion is limited to bibliographies covering philosophy in general, rather than covering individual branches only, and to those published in Western languages.
Koren, Henry J. Research in philosophy; a bibliographical introduction to philosophy and a few suggestions for dissertations. Pittsburgh: Duquesne University Press, 1966.
Call Number: SML, Stacks, Yale Classification, Xk11 966K
Also: Divinity, Trowbridge Reading Room, Z7125 K65
Intended to introduce graduate students in philosophy to the bibliographical sources and research tools. Some chapters, those on books in general and on dissertations, are too basic; but others, on philosophical books, periodicals, and bibliographical tools, contain useful citations.
Matczak, Sebastian A. Research and composition in philosophy. New York: Humanities Press, 1968.
Call Number: SML, Reference, B52 M37
". . . presents some suggestions to the beginners who start to write on philosophical subjects . . . on both the graduate and undergraduate levels."(Preface) Of particular interest is chapter VI, "Bibliographical Sources of Philosophy," which discusses bibliographies, encyclopedias, biographies, histories of philosophy, and periodicals in the field.
Tice, Terrence N. Research guide to philosophy. Chicago:Amercian Library Association, 1983.
Call Number: SML, Reference, B52 T5 1983 (LC)
A collection of bibliographic essays on the history and in areas of philsophy, and a list of important reference works.
Varet, Gilbert. Manuel de bibliographie philosophique. Paris: Presses Universitaires de France, 1956. 2v. (vol. 1: Les philosophies classiques. vol. 2: Les sciences philosophiques).
Call Number: SML, Reference, Z7125 V3
Selective bibliography of books and articles. Volume 1, which covers works published up to 1954, is arranged by period with subdivisions under names of individual philospher in chronolgical order. Important editions and critical literature in all languages are listed. Covers ancient (including Eastern) and Christian philosophy (through Kant) and the influence of these on modern philosophers. Volume 2 is arranged systematically and covers modern philosophical schools and lists works published up to 1955. Book review references are given in footnotes. Author index.
Other Library Resources

 

 

SML Stack Directory       Philosophy Department       Selectors Directory        PROF: Faculty Orientation
spacer

Links to Library Pages

Yale University Library Research Guide in Philosophy
Comments and questions to Anne Oechtering
Prepared by David L. Eastman
Illustration from René Descartes' Principia Philosophiæ, 1677
©2007 Yale University Library

This file last modified: August 28, 2007
Search the Library Web Site Library Hours Orbis, the Online Catalog Live Reference Services Contact Library Staff YaleInfo Yale University