Guides to Theater Research
These published guides are similar to this Web Research Guide in Theater
Studies. Use these guides when you need an overview to methologies and
sources for conducting research in Theater Studies. Although some of
these sources are quite dated, they still contain much valuable information.
Bailey, Claudia Jean. A Guide to Reference and Bibliography for Theatre
Research. Columbus: Ohio State University Libraries, 1971.
SML Reference Z5781 +L79 (LC)
A descriptive guide to reference and bibliographic
resources for theater and drama. Authors and titles indexed. Best guide for
this field.
Baker, Blanch M. Theater and Allied Arts: A Guide to Books Dealing with
the History, Criticism, and Technic of the Drama and Theater and Related Arts
and Crafts. New York: Wilson, 1952.
SML Reference Z5781 B354 (LC)
Annotated entries often include table of contents.
Author and subject indexes. Complete and thorough but old.
Brockett, Oscar G., Samuel L. Becker and Donald C. Bryant. A Bibliographical
Guide to Research in Speech and Dramatic Art. Chicago: Scott, Foresman,
1963.
SML Z1002 B76 (LC)
Brief but excellent. Entries are annotated.
Shaland, Irene. American theater and drama research: an annotated guide to information sources, 1945-1990. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1991
SML Reference, Z1231 S53 1991
Sections cover general reference sources, American theater after 1945, aspects of theater, alternative theater, periodicals, databases, and organizations.
Simons, Linda Keir. The Performing Arts: A Guide to the Reference Literature.
Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1994.
SML Reference Z6935 S56X 1994 (LC)
An annotated list of many types of reference resources.
Whalon, Marion K. Performing Arts Research: A Guide to Information Sources.
Detroit: Gale Research, 1976.
SMl Reference Z6935 W5 (LC)
See in particular Part V: "Sources for Reviews of Plays
and Motion Pictures" and Part VI: "Bibliographies, Indexes and Abstracts."
Most of the subject librarians at Yale have created
Web-based guides to the collections in the Yale University Library.