Yale University Library


Yale University Library News

Older Library News
News Feeds
University Library Awards Senior Essay Prizes

University Library Awards Prizes for Senior Essays

Yale University Library has awarded several prizes to exceptional senior essays that were written based on research in its collections.

Lauren Sonderegger, a History and Biology major, won this year's Beinecke Library Prize in Early Modern European Studies for her essay, "War and Bureaucracy in the Seventeenth-Century Mediterranean: Evidence from the Correspondence of a Papal Official." Sonderegger’s research drew on the Beinecke’s Spinelli Family Papers and in particular on the correspondence of the seventeenth-century Florentine official Giovanni Baldocci.

Manuscripts and Archives awarded prizes to Jennifer K. Lin and Kevin Michel. Lin was honored for her essay on Yale history, "From Chemical Terror to Clinical Trial: The Development of Chemotherapy at Yale in World War II." Michel’s essay “A Struggle Between Brothers: A Reexamination of the Idea of a Cohesive Conservative Movement Through the Intellectual Life and Personal Conflict Surrounding L. Brent Bozell," was based on research in the department’s manuscript collections. Prizes were generously underwritten by Donald F. Melhorn, Jr., class of 1957.

The Harvey M. Applebaum ’59 Award went to Lauren Harrison for her International Studies senior essay “Of Rice and Riots: The Effect of Food Price Increases on Political Stability in Sub-Saharan Africa.” Data from the Government Documents and Information Center’s Food and Agriculture Organization collection were critical to Harrison’s analysis. The Applebaum Award was established by the family of Harvey M. Applebaum, class of 1959, and first awarded in 2008.

This year’s Map Prize was awarded to Christopher Lewine for “Parental Valuation of School Quality in Connecticut.” Levine made extensive use of the resources of the Map Department and Geographic Information Systems Support Services to analyze the relationship between school quality and housing prices. The prize was established in 1949 with an endowment from Mrs. Arthur W. Butler.