Visual
History Archive
User Manual
Visual History
Archive User Manual
The Visual History Archive (VHA) Search and Viewing Tool
Requesting to Cache or Digitize Testimonies
Biographical Search By Experience Group
Select Categories
of Search Criteria
Hiding, Flight,
Resistance, Forced (death) Marches Search
Specifying the
Search Type and Segment Range
Integrating Searches Using Projects
In 1994 Survivors of the Shoah Visual History
Foundation was established by Steven Spielberg to videotape the testimonies of
Holocaust survivors and other witnesses.
To date, the Foundation has recorded and preserved the testimonies of nearly
52,000 Holocaust eyewitnesses in 56 countries and in 32 languages. The Shoah Foundation archive is unique in its
geographic scope and content, providing an invaluable educational resource for
researchers and scholars in many disciplines, educators from schools and
universities, curators from museums and institutions, documentary filmmakers,
and others—all from many countries throughout the world.
Today, the
The Shoah Foundation
archive includes testimonies from nine survivor and witness experience
groups. As the majority of interviews
were conducted with Jewish Holocaust survivors, that experience group is listed
first, followed by an alphabetical listing of the other experience groups.
Interviewees who were targeted for persecution
under laws and/or policies against the Jews.
Interviewees who were targeted for persecution
based on their homosexuality or suspected homosexuality.
Interviewees who were targeted for persecution
based on their religious convictions and/or expression of those convictions as
Jehovah’s Witnesses.
Liberators and Liberation Witnesses
Interviewees who participated in the liberation of concentration camps
and/or interviewees who entered concentration camps immediately after
liberation due to assignments in or around camps.
Interviewees who were targeted for persecution
based on their political convictions and/or expression of those convictions.
Interviewees who rescued those targeted for
persecution and/or interviewees who were involved with the planning and
implementation of aid programs during and after the war.
Interviewees who were targeted for persecution
under laws and/or policies against the Sinti and Roma (“Gypsies”).
Survivors of Eugenics Policies
Interviewees who were targeted for persecution under eugenics laws and/or policies.
War Crimes Trials Participants
Interviewees who were involved in war crimes
trials after the war.
The Shoah Foundation Visual
History Archive (VHA) is a software tool that allows users to search data and view
digital video in the Shoah Foundation archive.
The VHA provides a means for users to identify both whole testimonies of
relevance, as well as specific segments within testimonies that relate to their
area of interest.
Currently, the VHA provides
access to data and video for over 50,000 testimonies. Most of the testimonies in the archive have
been catalogued and indexed. The statistics
presented in the table below provide some insight into the access available to
testimonies at this time.
In the VHA, users will have different
levels of access to the information contained in the testimonies. Some testimonies will be fully accessible,
while others will be partially accessible.
The terms below describe the stages of making a testimony accessible in
the Visual History Archive.
Cataloguing refers to the
process of collecting and entering basic biographical information about
interviewees into biographical profiles that
can be searched by users. The
biographical information that is entered includes city and country of birth,
religious identity, places of incarceration, such as camps and ghettos, names
of family members and their fates, and so on.
Much of this biographical information was collected from the
interviewees in a Pre-Interview Questionnaire (PIQ); however, names and
experiential data are also updated and corroborated as the interviews are
viewed during the indexing process.
Brief biographical
information for almost all testimonies has been catalogued.
Indexing refers to the
process of associating keywords with segments of testimony, providing users
with access to segments of video. Indexing
at the Shoah Foundation, which is similar to the indexing of a book, uses
digital time codes instead of pages to identify and locate specific moments (segments)
in the videotaped testimony. A testimony
is watched from beginning to end and index terms and names of people are
associated to a particular time code when a topic or person is discussed in
some detail. For example, a mere
mentioning of the death camp Auschwitz II-Birkenau by the interviewee would not
be indexed. To match the content of the
interview discussions, keywords are selected from an evolving thesaurus of more
than 30,000 terms. Index terms include
cities, villages, and other geographical locations, such as “
About 49,000 testimonies in 26
languages have been indexed.
Digitization refers to the
process of transferring the interviews from the original Beta SP tapes to a 3
mbps MPEG-1 digital format that can be viewed in the Visual History Archive. A testimony must be digitized before it can
be viewed.
Almost all archival
testimonies have been digitized.
|
Catalogued |
Indexed |
Digitized |
|
+/- 51,000 |
+/- 49,000 |
+/- 51,000 |
Note: A
testimony may be digitized and catalogued, but not yet fully indexed.
When
you start the Visual History Archive application, the welcome screen shown
below will appear. Click Enter to proceed to the Logon screen.

Once
you enter the Visual History Archive, you will be directed to the Logon screen,
which is shown below.
On
the Logon screen, you must enter your Username and Password, and click
If you do not have a Username
and Password, you must create your own personal Username and Password. To
create your own Username and Password, click click here to register and fill in the appropriate
information. You should choose a Username
and Password that you will easily remember.
By registering, you will be able to access your saved search results,
called projects, at a later time.
Once
you successfully log on, the main Search
screen shown below will appear. You can
select from four types of searches on this screen: Quick
Search, People Search, Biographical Search by Experience Group, and Global Keywords
Search.

Quick Search allows you to search the
Shoah Foundation archive by entering one or more terms of interest in a free
text field. This search functions much
like an internet search engine. Valid
search terms can include personal names, indexing terms (and their synonyms), and
numbers representing interview codes. This
search provides testimony- and segment-level results from about 51,000
interviews.
People Search allows you to search for a specific name among
all names in the Shoah Foundation archive. The archive includes names of people
that were recorded in the Pre-Interview Questionnaires and names of people that
were mentioned during the interviews if the testimony was indexed. You can find a testimony for a specific
interviewee or a testimony that refers to a specific person. This search provides testimony-level results
from about 51,000 interviews.
Biographical Search by Experience Group allows
you to search basic biographical information, including city and country of
birth, religious identity, places of incarceration such as camps and ghettos,
and so on, for interviewees categorized within nine different Experience Groups. This search provides testimony-level results
from about 51,000 interviews.
Global Keywords
Search allows you
to search for segments of testimonies that discuss specific topics, using more
than 30,000 geographic and experiential keywords. Although the majority of the keywords are
related to geographic locations, a rich collection of keywords have been
assigned during indexing to identify important or common aspects of
interviewees’ diverse experiences.
Experiential keywords include keywords like “living conditions in the
camps,” “contact with loved ones, renewed,” and thousands of others. The Global Keywords Search provides segment-level
results from about 49,000 interviews.
Click Quick Search on the main Search screen, to advance to the Quick Search screen, which is shown
below.

Enter one or more search terms of interest in the
text box. Valid search terms can include personal names, indexing
terms (and their synonyms), and numbers representing interview codes.
Select the desired search type using the radio
buttons for with all of the words, with the exact phrase, or with at least one of the words. The search type defaults to with all of the words, so if you enter
more than one term, the VHA will search for individual testimonies whose
associated cataloguing and indexing data contain all the entered terms. In other words, selecting the search type with all of the words performs an AND
search between the entered terms.
If you select the search type with the exact phrase, the VHA will search for individual
testimonies whose associated cataloguing and indexing data contain the entered
phrase.
If you select the search type with at least one of the words, the VHA will search for individual
testimonies whose associated cataloguing and indexing data contain any of the
words. In other words, selecting the
search type with at least one of the
words performs an OR search between the entered terms.
Note: Depending on the terms you enter in the Quick Search, your search may return
more results than are easily managed; therefore, it is usually best to specify
a more limiting search type of with all
of the words or with the exact
phrase.
As an example, enter the search terms,
Note: The search is not case sensitive.

On the next page, the Language,
Gender, Project screen, you can
see in the Search History column
that the initial search retrieves 46 results.
On this page you have the option to limit your search by Language of Testimony, Gender of
Interviewee, or My Projects. For this example, limiting the search is not
necessary. For a full discussion of the Language, Gender, Project screen,
see Limiting
A Search on page 24.
Click next
to continue the search.
The Search
Results screen that displays next, as shown below, lists the first 5 results
of the 46 results found. Each of the
results displays a small photo of the interviewee, the Name
of the interviewee, the Language of
the interview, the Video Availability
status of the interview, the Experience
group of the interviewee, and a brief line of text that lists the first personal name, indexing term, or interview code that
matches one of the original search terms you entered.
Note: If the search
term matched a synonym of an indexing keyword, the preferred label for the
keyword will display as the text—not the synonym. Please see the FAQ under the Help Menu for
more information.

Sorting Search ResultsIf
you have many results, you can choose to sort the results list by Last Name,
First
Name, Video Availability, Language, or Experience.
To
sort the results, click the down arrow to the right of the Sort by list box,
and
select the desired sort criteria.
Digitized video for testimonies in
the VHA is available on your campus via a local cache. Testimonies that are
on your local cache can be viewed immediately; however, since your local cache
may only hold a few hundred digitized testimonies at once, most testimonies will
not be available immediately.
While video may not be available immediately
for every digitized testimony, data
for all 51,000+ catalogued and 48,000+
indexed testimonies is available
immediately.
As
explained below, the Video Availability
status on the Search Results screen will indicate one of three statuses for
each testimony: Viewable Now, Viewable w/i 48 Hrs., or
Not Yet Viewable.
The
status Viewable Now means that the
digitized video is available on your local cache and is ready for immediate
viewing.
To view
the testimony, click on the photo icon or the name of the desired interviewee.
The
status Viewable w/i 48 Hrs. means that a testimony has been digitized,
but the video is not loaded on your local cache. You can request to have the
testimony loaded from the Foundation's central digital video storage location
to your local cache on the viewing screen. It may take up to 48 hours to load
the requested testimony on your local cache.
To
proceed to the viewing screen, click on the photo icon or the name of the desired interviewee.
The
status Not Yet Viewable means that a
testimony has not been digitized and that the video is not yet available for
viewing. You will not see this status
frequently, because almost all testimonies have been digitized. Testimonies that are not digitized require
special requests. You can contact a USC
Shoah Foundation Institute staff member by email at vhi-acc@college.usc.edu, if
you want to request digitization of a testimony. Digitization requests may require several
weeks to fulfill.
To
proceed to the viewing screen, click on the photo icon or the name of the desired interviewee.
Note:
Even
if a testimony is not available for immediate viewing, you can still view the
associated cataloguing and indexing data for the testimony on the viewing
screen, as long as the testimony has been catalogued and indexed.
From the results screen, you can save the results
of your search to a project, so you can return to the saved results at a later
time.
To save the results for this example to a project,
click the save to project button.
When you click save
to project, you will be taken to a screen, as shown below, where you can
save the results in an existing project or in a new project. When you save testimony or segment results to
an existing project, they are appended to the existing file, they do not
replace it.

For this example, type in a name for the project
that identifies the search results, such as Quick Search –

To see the results that are saved in a project,
highlight the project, and click next. In this example, highlight the project we
just saved, Quick Search –

To view a testimony or segment listed in the
project, highlight the desired entry in the list box, and click next.
You will then advance to the
Viewing Screen for the desired testimony or segment.
You can sort the results list of a project by
clicking on any of the column headings: First
Name, Last Name, Language, Experience, Segment, Int Code, or Video Availability.
Also, to enter notes that describe the results
saved in your project, type your notes in the Notes text box in the middle of the screen, and click save.
To
continue the previous example, click on the photo icon or the name of Belah
Danan in the search results. You will be
taken to the main viewing screen, as shown below.

The main viewing screen has the same functionality
for all search modes. The main functions
available on the viewing screen are discussed below.
In this example, since this testimony is already
loaded in the local cache, the video automatically begins playing. The video will appear and play in the dark
area at the center of the screen.
Note: This specific testimony may not be loaded
in your local cache, since each Internet2 access site has a different cache
with different digitized testimonies already loaded.
To the left of the viewing screen are some
instructions that will help you change the size of the video, as well as the
volume of the audio. The audio volume
can also be adjusted by using the slider control next to the speaker symbol in
the gray box at the bottom of the viewing screen.

Below the viewing screen is a text box that displays
cataloguing or indexing data associated with the testimony being viewed. Click on the links to the left of the text
box, as illustrated at right here, to change the information presented.
The Biographical
Profile is displayed in the text box by default when doing a Quick Search, People Search, or Biographical Search by Experience Group. The Biographical
Profile contains basic biographical information about the interviewee that was collected from the interviewee in a
Pre-Interview Questionnaire before each interview, as well as from the actual
interview.
You
can scroll through the displayed data using the up and down arrows on the
scroll bar to the right of the text box.
Note: Each interview has a unique Interview Code,
shown at the top of the Biographical
Profile, to help identify the specific testimony; thus, if more than one
interviewee has the same name, the Interview Code helps distinguish them.
All
People in this TestimonyWhen you click on the All People in this Testimony link to the left of the text box on
the viewing screen, the names of all the people associated with the testimony,
and their relationship to the interviewee, will be displayed, as shown at
right.
The names that appear were taken from the
Pre-Interview Questionnaire or from the actual interview. The character, “*,” after a name indicates a
phonetic spelling.
When you click on the All People in this Segment link to the left of the text box on the
viewing screen, segment numbers will be displayed along with the names of
people discussed in those segments, as shown at right. If no people were discussed in a particular
segment, then the segment will be blank.
To view the segment of video where a particular
person is discussed during the interview, click on the segment number that
contains the person’s name. For example,
as shown to the right, clicking on Segment
#8 takes you
to the point in the interview where the
interviewee discusses
her mother and sister.
When you click on the All Keywords in this Segment link to the left of the text box on
the viewing screen, segment numbers will be displayed along with the keywords
associated with those segments, as shown at right. Some segments have no assigned keywords
because a topic may not have been discussed in sufficient detail, or, if the
discussion spans several segments, the relevant keywords were applied only once.
To view the segment of video where a particular
topic is discussed during the interview, click on the segment number that
contains the relevant keyword. For
example, as shown above to the right, clicking on Segment #113 takes you to the point in the interview where the
interviewee discusses a selection in a camp.
The text box, where data for Biographical Profile, All
People in this Testimony, All People
in this Segment, All Keywords in
this Segment, and Donor Recognition is
displayed, is normally quite small. You
can expand the text box to see more data at once by clicking on the Maximize/Minimize Data link, which
appears to the right of the text box.
Note: When you maximize the text box while a
video is playing, the video will automatically be paused.
Video
and Slide ShowWhen available, the Video and Slide Show
links to the right of the viewing screen allow you to toggle between viewing
the video and viewing a slide show of still images from the interview. If the Video
or Slide Show links are grayed out, then
the corresponding video or slide show for a testimony is not available.
Frequently, near the end of the interview,
interviewees presented family photographs, documents, and artifacts from the
prewar, wartime, and postwar periods to be videotaped. Images of these items are presented in the
slide show.
To view the slide show, click on the Slide Show link (when available).
To return to playing the video, click on the Video link (when available).
To move forward or backward in an interview, use
the slider control in the gray box at the bottom of the viewing screen. Click on the box and slide it forward or
backward. The forward and backward
buttons on the viewing screen are not operable; however, the pause, stop, and
play buttons function normally.
You can also move around in an interview using the
tape navigation list box, as shown at right, which is located on the right side
of the viewing screen. The videotapes
that were used to film the interviews had about a 30-minute capacity;
therefore, multiple tapes were often used to film one interview. For instance, the average interview length in
the archive is about 2.5 hours, which requires 5 tapes.
To navigate
to the beginning of a different tape, click the down arrow to the right of the
tape navigation list box, and select the desired tape number.

If a digitized testimony is not on your local
cache, you will see a message, as shown at right, on the left of the viewing
screen that explains how to request to load the testimony on the cache.
To download a testimony to your local cache, click
Request Video. Once you click Request Video, a pop-up
message will display that indicates your testimony has been requested and
should be available within the next 48 hours.
Click the back button on the
pop-up message to return to the main viewing screen.
When you check back later, you will know that the
video is available because the video will begin playing immediately on the
viewing screen. If it has been more than
48 hours and the video is not available, please email vhi-acc@college.usc.edu for assistance.
If a testimony has not been digitized, you will
see a message, as shown at right, on the left side of the viewing screen that
explains how to place a request to digitize a testimony.
To request digitization of a testimony, click the click here link and follow the instructions
on the pop-up message.
Click
People Search on the main Search
screen, to advance to the People Search
screen, which is shown below.

Enter
the name you want to search in the First
Name and Last Name text
boxes. You can search for first name
only and leave the last name blank, or vice versa.
Select
the desired search type using the radio buttons for starts with, exact match,
or contains. The search type defaults to starts with, so if you enter just the
first few characters of a name, such as “Got,” your search will yield names
like “Gotfryd” or “Gottfried.” In most
cases, it is best to select starts with
or contains as your search type.
Note: The Visual History
Archive does not use a soundex system, so when searching for a person, you may
need to try several different spellings of a name.
As
an example, in the First Name text box enter Jack, and in the Last Name search box enter Lewin. The search type defaults
to starts with. Click next
to begin the search.
The
initial search retrieves seven results and displays them in the Choices box, as shown below.
The
relationship type listed after each name indicates the relationship of each
person to the interviewee for a particular testimony. Therefore, the two Jack Lewins, whose
relationship type is listed as husband,
had wives who gave interviews. Note that
one of the names has the last name Louis because his name at birth was Lewin. When available, alternative names have been
entered for people in the Shoah Foundation database, such as maiden names,
nicknames, false names, etc. A People
Search searches all alternative names for matches, but only displays the
preferred name.

For
this example, highlight the four names with the relationship type Interviewee, and then click Add to add the names to the Selected Names box on the right.
Click
next to search for the testimonies
associated with the selected names.
As
expected, conducting the search yields four results, which can be seen in
the Search
History column of the Language, Gender, Project screen after clicking next.
For a full discussion of the Language, Gender, Project screen,
see Limiting
A Search on page 24.
For a full discussion of the results screen, see
the Search
Results section on
page 10.
For a full discussion of
viewing the results, see The
Viewing Screen section on page 14.
The
Biographical Search By Experience Group search allows users to search
basic biographical information for interviewees categorized within nine
different experience groups.
Click
Biographical Search By Experience Group on the main Search screen, to begin this search.
On
the first page, as shown below, select one of the nine experience groups (by
clicking the radio button next to the desired group or the group name itself) and
click next.
Note:
A search within
each experience group proceeds with a wizard-like interface. The search criteria for each group may vary,
but the layout of the screen and the functionality for each experience group
are consistent.

As
an example, choose Jewish Survivors
and click next.
On
the next screen, as shown on the following page, you can choose to search on nine
different categories of criteria relevant to Jewish survivors. You can select multiple criteria
simultaneously.
To
search specific categories of criteria, click on the check boxes next to the
desired categories or on the category names themselves, and click next.

As
an example, select Ghettos and Hiding, Flight, Resistance, Forced (death)
You
will advance to the search screen for the first category of search criteria
that you selected in the previous list.
In this example, you advance to the Ghettos
search screen, as shown below, which will enable you to find testimonies of
Jewish survivors who were incarcerated in specific ghettos.

On
the Ghettos search screen, you can
choose to search for ghettos in one of two ways:
You
can browse a complete list of ghettos by clicking next without highlighting any entry.
As
an example, to browse a list of ghettos in
Note:
Ghettos in the
verified lists have been corroborated in Holocaust scholarship by the Shoah
Foundation research team.
On
the next screen, the names of the verified ghettos in
To
search for specific ghettos, highlight one or more entries in the Keyword Choices box and click Add.

The
highlighted names will then be added to the Selected Keywords box. Click
next to continue the search.
Note: If you search for more than one
ghetto, an OR search is performed, which means that returned results will
include all testimonies whose interviewees were incarcerated in any of the
ghettos.
To
continue the example, highlight
When
you select multiple categories of search criteria in a Biographical Search
By Experience Group, you can specify an AND or OR search between
criteria searches.
In
our example, we chose to search on the criteria categories: Ghettos and Hiding, Flight, Resistance, Forced (death)

On
the left of the screen in the Search
History column, you can see that the search for testimonies of interviewees
who were confined in the
You
can also see an AND/OR choice box in
the left-hand column, where you can choose to do an AND or OR search between
multiple criteria. Click
the down arrow to the right of the AND/OR
choice box, and select AND or OR from the list. The choice box defaults to an AND search.
For
our example, leave the choice box set to AND. Thus, we will search for testimonies of
Jewish survivors who were both incarcerated in the
On
the Hiding, Flight, Resistance, Forced
(death) Marches search screen shown above, you have the option to search
for testimonies of Jewish survivors who Went
into hiding, who were Members of an
underground, resistance, or partisan group, who Fled from Nazi-controlled territory, or who were on Forced (death) marches.
Note: You can choose more than one of
these options if desired. A search with
more than one of these options selected will perform an AND search between the options.
For
this example, click on the down arrow next to the Went into hiding choice box, select Yes, and then click next. This will search for Jewish survivors who
went into hiding.
On
the left-hand side of the next screen in the Search History column, you can see that the search for testimonies
of interviewees who went into hiding yielded 19,984 results. The combined search results for testimonies
of interviewees who were both incarcerated in the
On
the Language, Gender, Projects
screen, you can limit your search by Language
of Testimony, Gender of Interviewee, or
My Project. For more information on
Projects, please see the Saving Results to a Project section on page 12.
To
limit your search, click on the down arrow to the right of the desired choice
box, select the desired language, gender, or project, and click next.

To
continue our example, limit the search to English language testimonies—select English for the Language of Testimony, and click next.
In the
Search History column of the Search Results screen, as shown below,
you can see that limiting the search to English language testimonies narrowed
the number of results from 92 to 57.
For a full discussion of the results screen, see the
Search
Results section on page 10.
For a full discussion of viewing the results, see the
The
Viewing Screen section on page 14.

Once
again, on the Search Results screen,
you can choose to save the results of your search to a project. You can then return to the saved results at a
later time.
To
save the results for this example to a project, click the save to project button.
When
you click save to project, you will
be taken to another screen, where you can save the results in an existing
project or in a new project. For more information on Projects, please see the Saving Results to a Project section on page 12.
For our example, type in a
name for the project that identifies the search results, such as Bio Search – Bedzin Ghetto & Hiding,
and then click save. The project Bio Search – Bedzin Ghetto & Hiding is then added to your list
of projects, which you can later access by clicking Projects on the menu bar at the top of any page.
Global Keywords Search allows users to search for
segments of testimonies that discuss specific topics, using more than 30,000
geographic and experiential keywords.
Click
Global Keywords Search on the main
Search screen to begin this search.

The
Global Keywords Search screen,
as shown above, offers several important features, as discussed in detail
below, which help users select one or more indexing keywords to use to search
for specific segments of testimony.
The
Keyword Choices box on the lower
left side of the screen, as shown above, presents a complete list of available indexing
keywords that are categorized under several broad topics.
To
browse for keywords of interest, click on a topic shown in bold red, and the
topic will open to show all keywords related to that topic.
As
shown in the example above, clicking on the topic economic life reveals numerous keywords, such as agricultural training, barter, blackmail, and so on.
The Keyword &
Definition box on the upper right side of the screen shows the keyword that
is highlighted in the Keyword Choices box and a brief definition or description of the keyword. Also, the number of testimonies in which the
keyword was indexed will be displayed next to the keyword. This number will help you estimate how many
results to expect before performing the actual search. If a keyword has been
indexed in a large number of testimonies, you may want to narrow your search by
combining multiple keywords using an AND search.
In the example
shown above, the keyword barter in the
camps is highlighted in the Keyword
Choices box, so the same keyword is shown in the Keyword & Definition box with a brief definition and the number
of testimonies in which barter in the
camps was indexed—in this case, 1519 testimonies.
Searching KeywordsInstead
of browsing for indexing keywords of interest, you may search for relevant
keywords using the keyword search feature in the upper left side of the Global Keywords Search screen, as shown
at right.
This
feature is especially useful in helping you find relevant indexing keywords
whose specific names and spellings you do not know.
To
search for relevant keywords, type a word or topic of interest in the text box;
select the desired search type using the radio buttons for starts with, exact match,
or contains; and click Search for Keywords. The search type defaults to starts with, so if you enter just the
first few characters of a word your search will yield all keywords that begin
with those characters. In most cases, it
is best to select starts with or contains as your search type.
As
an example, type in the word thirst
and click Search for Keywords. The search type will default to starts with. The VHA will then search for any keywords in
the list that begin with thirst.

After
a brief pause, the Found Keywords
pop-up window, as shown at right, will appear that lists all keywords that
begin with thirst. If you scroll down the list in the pop-up
window, you see that 10 unique keywords start with the word thirst.
When you find the keyword in the pop-up results on which you want to
search, click the desired keyword, and it will be highlighted in the Keyword Choices box. In addition, the keyword results pop-up
window will close automatically.
Note:
If you do not click
on a keyword in the Found Keywords
pop-up window, please close the pop-up window before proceeding.
You
can also use the keyword search feature to jump more quickly to a keyword that
you do know in the Keyword Choices list,
instead of manually browsing to the keyword.
Type the keyword in the search text box, and then click Search for Keywords. The search type will default to starts with, and the specified keyword
will quickly be highlighted in the Keyword
Choices list.
Once
you have located a keyword, either by browsing or searching, on which you want
to search and highlighted it in the Keyword
Choices list, you must then add the keyword to the Selected Keywords box. The
keywords that you add to the Selected
Keywords box become your search terms.
To
add a keyword to the Selected Keywords
box, highlight the keyword in the Keyword
Choices list, and then click Add.
As
an example, add the keywords thirst
during deportations and deportation
from Mátészalka (

If
you add only one keyword to the Selected
Keywords box, the Search Type
defaults to an OR search. If you add more than one keyword to Selected Keywords, you can choose to do
an OR or AND search between keywords.
To
select the Search Type, click the
radio button next to OR or AND, which appears near the bottom
center of the Global Keywords Search screen as shown above.
Note:
In most cases, it
is best to choose AND as the Search Type between multiple keywords;
otherwise, too many results may be returned.
To
continue our example, select AND as
the Search Type. Thus, we will search for testimonies in which
both the keywords, thirst during
deportations AND deportation from Mátészalka (
The AND search also permits you to chose a Segment
Range. You can search for all
Selected Keywords appearing in the Entire testimony, within 1 segment, 5 segments,
10 segments, or 15 segments consecutively, as shown at right.
To
select a
To
continue our example, select a
Once
you have selected the Search Type
and Segment Range, click next to conduct the search.
For
our example, conducting a search for the keywords, thirst during deportations AND
deportation from Mátészalka (Hungary :
Ghetto), yields 5 results, which can be seen in the Search
History column of the Language, Gender, Project screen after clicking next.
For a full discussion of the Language, Gender, Project screen,
see Limiting
A Search on page 24.
For a full discussion of the results screen, see the
Search
Results section on
page 10.
For a full discussion of viewing the results, see The
Viewing Screen section on page 14.
Note:
The Search Results
list will display segments in which one of your Selected Keywords
appeared first.
The
Projects feature of the VHA offers users
the capability to search within testimony or segment results that have been
saved from previous searches. Thus, you
could save the results of a Biographical
Search By Experience Group to a project, and then you could search for a
subset of those results, in which a specific keyword was indexed, using a Global Keywords Search. This is very helpful when you identify a
large set of testimonies on a possible subject, but you are only interested in
a particular subset.
For
a complete discussion of saving results to a project, see Saving Results to a Project on page 12.
To
view a list of your saved projects, click Projects
along the top of any screen. Once you
click Projects, the Projects list screen appears, similar
to the one shown below.

To
search the results within a saved project, highlight the desired project, and
click search within project. You will then advance to the main search
screen where you can choose to do a Quick
Search, People
Search, Biographical Search by
Experience Group, or Global Keywords Search within the saved results.
As
an example, we could search within the project we saved during the Biographical Search by Experience Group example.
The project, Bio Search – Jewish
Survivors – Bedzin Ghetto & Hiding, contains 57 testimonies, as
indicated in the project list shown above, of survivors who were both
incarcerated in the
Then,
click Global Keywords Search on the Advanced Search screen, and search for
the keyword customs and observances in
the camps, Jewish following the procedure outlined in the Global Keywords Search section
beginning on page 26. When you
advance to the Language, Gender, Projects screen, as shown below, notice that Bio Search – Jewish
Survivors – Bedzin Ghetto & Hiding
is already selected in the Project
list box, which means that your keyword search will search the testimonies within
that project only. Of course, you can
also narrow your search by language and gender.

To
continue our example, click next,
and you will see on the Search Results screen
that 4 segments match the search criteria.
You
can also search within the results of a saved project without starting on the Projects list screen. You can begin a People Search,
Biographical Search by Experience Group, or Global Keywords Search, and then limit your search
within a previously saved project on the Language, Gender, Projects screen.
This will save you the time of navigating to the Projects list screen first.