Main

Databases Archives

November 5, 2010

179 new albums added to Alexander Street's Classical Music Library

The albums are from Vox Music, Bridge Records, Cantolopera, Mode Records, Newport Classic, and more.

Example of new albums include:

* Young Brendel: The Vox Years
* Katie Zhukov: Six Profiles of Australian Women Composers
* Cowell: Dancing with Henry: New Discoveries in the Music of Henry Cowell
* Gerald Finley/Stephen Ralls: Songs of Travel
* Feldman: Late Works with Clarinet
* Laurence Lesser, Haesun Paik: Beethoven, The Complete Music for Piano and Cello

Classical Music Library now includes 4,298 albums and 65,701 tracks, and is growing regularly.

RIPM will add 7 new journals to its database in January 2011

The new additions will go live in January 2011 and will bring the total number of journals in the Archive to 76. This number will grow to 100 by January 2013.

American Musical Journal (New York, 1834-1835)
Gazzetta musicale di Milano (Milan, 1842-1862, first half)
Echo Muzyczne(Warsaw, 1879-1882)
Muzïkal’noye obozrenie [The Musical Review] (St. Petersburg, 1885-1888)
Musikalisches Wochenblatt (Berlin, 1791-1792)
L'Année musicale(Paris, 1911-1913)
Modern Music (New York, 1924-1946)

November 23, 2010

Alexander Street's Thanksgiving Playlist!

Check out this Thanksgiving playlist, mostly from the American Song collection. Listen to Vince Guaraldi’s Thanksgiving Theme from Charlie Brown’s Holiday Hits, a classic bango rendition of Turkey in the Straw from Rounder Records, Pete Seeger, Aaron Copland, and other fun stuff!

Click Here to listen to the playlist.

December 14, 2010

Alexander Street's Holiday Playlist!

Enjoy "A Very Jazzy Christmas" on Alexander Street Databases from "Christmas Time Is Here" performed by Vince Guaraldi to "Christmas In New Orleans" performed by Louis Armstrong or "Christmas Island" performed by Ella Fitzgerald. Click here to start listening...

December 21, 2010

Naxos Music Library to Release Android App on Dec. 27th

The Naxos Music Library Android App will be live and available in the Android Market on December 27th, 2010. The App allows you to browse, stream, and enjoy the entire NML - not just a specific track or playlist! More details are available here...

January 4, 2011

Alexander Street Releases Nearly 17,000 Albums on American Song and Contemporary World Music

The ever growing Alexander Street just released a large amount of new albums on American Song and Contemporary World Music. Albums on American Song come from a wide variety of labels including Daptone Records, JSP Records, Acrobat, GNP Crescendo, and many more. Newly released artists and ensembles include Otis Grand, Ike & Tina Turner, Eddie Dean, Bill Haley, Gene Autry, Rudy Vallee, Buddy Holly & The Crickets, Willie Nelson, Mahalia Jackson, John Denver, James Brown & The Famous Flames, The Highwaymen, and many more. On Contemporary World Music, Alexander Street rolled out 10,266 albums (132,667 tracks) from a wide variety of labels and genres, including reggae, acoustic folk, Afro-Cuban, belly dance, banda, dub, drinking songs, hip-hop, Italian folk, Indian classical, world beat, and many more.

Continue reading "Alexander Street Releases Nearly 17,000 Albums on American Song and Contemporary World Music" »

August 16, 2011

New Content Added to Opera in Video

30 hours of performances and documentaries to Opera in Video. The new content includes:
- Cardiff Singer of the World competition highlights from 1999 and 2001
- Recital of arias by Karita Mattila and Dmitri Hvorostovsky
- Welsh National Opera's performance of Monteverdi's Poppea
- Recital by Angela Gheorghiu at the Royal Opera House
- Lucia di Lammermoor (Vienna), featuring Katia Ricciarelli and Jose Carreras

Access the database here...

August 19, 2011

Naxos Adds EMI Classics to its Labels

The complete EMI Classics catalog will soon be available online to the Yale community. Naxos Music Library announced this morning that it started adding a vast catalog of recordings that includes EMI Classics, Virgin Classics, and Blue Note Records. Today, more than 225 albums are available in NML with the remainder of the 7200 album catalog available by the end of 2011. More details available here...

October 2, 2011

The Music Library Provides Trial Access to the Naxos Video Library

The library has a trial subscription to Naxos Video Library (NVL) until October 31st, 2011. The NVL contains more than 1290 full-length videos from 28 different publishing houses. The content includes classical music in large part (opera, ballet, theatre, jazz, concerts, competitions, documentaries, master classes, and lectures), but also includes feature films about religious figures and topics, an extensive series of films relating to geography and world monuments, Fine Arts, Musical Journeys (e.g., Beijing, Tuscany, Uzbekistan), and much more. Please let us know of your interest for this database at: musiclibrary@yale.edu

Naxos Video Library’s Trial Access via: http://yale.naxosvideolibrary.com/
(Use VPN from Off-Campus)

Continue reading "The Music Library Provides Trial Access to the Naxos Video Library" »

October 4, 2011

Blue Note Records catalog is now available on Naxos Music Library Jazz

Blue Note Records, established in New York by German-born record executive Alfred Lion and art director Francis Wolff in 1939, is a renowned jazz label that has produced a number of legendary albums including John Coltrane's "Blue Train" and other classic albums from iconic artists such as Herbie Hancock, Jackie McLean, Dexter Gordon, Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter and many others. The label is revered by jazz fans across the globe. Throughout the fifties and early sixties and continuing for the next five decades, Blue Note continues to discover and launch impressive talents to a new level.

Access the Naxos Music Library Jazz @ http://yale.naxosmusiclibrary.com/jazz/

October 25, 2011

Yale Libraries Offers Trial Access to Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online is a tool designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information quickly by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research. This fantastic resource contains substantial coverage for music. It is a good starting point for organizing a research plan, or for preparing a writing assignment or syllabus. The style and approach is accessible to students, but the depth of coverage makes it of great use to faculty as well. Access this trial by clicking here...

January 4, 2012

Classical Music Library :: New Albums

459 albums or 8,384 tracks were added into Classical Music Library from a wide variety of labels, including new releases from Haenssler Classics, Mode Records, Bridge, Vox, and Wirripang. New material includes compositions by Frank Bridge, Benjamin Britten, Arnold Bax, Gustav Mahler, Charles Koechlin, Wolfgang Rihm, Elliott Carter, Edvard Grieg, Morton Feldman, Aldo Clementi, Antonio Salieri, Lawrence Dillon, John Cage, Olivier Messiaen, Henry Fillmore, Morton Subotnick, Ursula Mamlok, Valentin Silvestrov, Giacinto Scelsi, Toru Takemitsu, and more.

Continue reading "Classical Music Library :: New Albums" »

January 9, 2012

Classical Music Library :: New Releases from EMI

Recordings by Bjorling, Perlman, Rostropovich, Taverner Choir, Callas, Jon Vickers, Melos Ensemble, Pinchas Zuckerman, Borodin Quartet, Christoph Eschenbach, Elly Ameling, Trio Sonnerie, Alban Berg Quartett, Chung Trio, John Ogdon, and more.

Continue reading "Classical Music Library :: New Releases from EMI" »

May 8, 2012

Naxos Music Library Reaches 1 Million Tracks!!

Naxos Music Library, the largest collection of streaming classical, jazz, wind band, choral, classic rock and world music, surpassed one million tracks in its online catalog. Currently, the catalog includes 425 labels. In addition to its collection of streaming music NML offers liner notes, cover artwork, tracklists, instrumentation, libretti and synopses. Access the database here...

July 2, 2012

Naxos Music Library adds Warner Classics, Teldec, and Erato labels

These catalogs include many great performances which have become the standard for their repertoire, such as the Barenboim Mozart Operas and Bayreuth Wagner Ring Cycle, the Harnoncourt Beethoven Symphonies and the José Serebrier Glazunov Symphonies and Concertos. On July 2nd, more than 1,000 albums from these catalogs will be available on the Naxos Music Library with the remaining albums in the catalogs and new releases appearing over the coming months.

Dozens of legendary artists have called these labels home including Chanticleer, Chloë Hanslip, Nicolai Lugansky, Beaux Arts Trio, José Carreras, Sharon Kam, Kent Nagano, Cecilia Bartoli, Charlie Siem, Boston Camerata, John Eliot Gardiner and Mstislav Rostropovich among many others. Their performances are now available to subscribers of Naxos Music Library.

Continue reading "Naxos Music Library adds Warner Classics, Teldec, and Erato labels" »

November 5, 2012

The RISM MassDataBase (MDB) is online

The database records around 40.000 settings of the Ordinary to range from the closing years of the 14th century up to the present day. In addition to general information on the works and fundamental biographic data, it also contains information on the source material and modern editions for every individual composition. It is now accessible on: www.mdb.uni-mainz.de

Continue reading "The RISM MassDataBase (MDB) is online" »

January 4, 2013

Available Online: Decca and Deutsche Grammophon recordings

Alexander Street Press has just added 647 albums (10,519 tracks) to Classical Music Library. Most notable is the addition of 316 albums from Decca and Deutsche Grammophon. Among the new content are: Beethoven’s Fidelio with Birgit Nilsson, Lorin Maazel and the Wiener Philharmoniker; Mozart Symphonies with the Academy of Ancient Music and Christopher Hogwood; Bellini’s Norma with Joan Sutherland, Richard Bonynge, and Marilyn Horne; Musicals, including Victor/Victoria, Jesus Christ Superstar, Tell Me on a Sunday, Mamma Mia, etc. Plus artists and ensembles such as the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Charles Dutoit, Carlos Kleiber, Cecilia Bartoli, Sumi Jo, Julie Andrews, Anna Netrebko, Christoph Eschenbach, Barbara Bonney, Lang Lang, and more. Tune in here...

January 10, 2013

Warner Jazz Joins Naxos Music Library-Jazz

In the coming weeks Naxos Music Library-Jazz will make available the catalog of Warner Jazz which, includes the recordings from Warner Bros., Atlantic, Elektra, and Reprise. More than 2,000 albums will become available. Check it out here...

February 13, 2013

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. II: TRIAL ACCESS

Through 8 March 2013, all students, faculty, and staff may access Ethnographic Video Online: Volume II by going directly to: http://anthtrial.alexanderstreet.com. You must be on campus or use VPN off-campus to view.

Ethnographic Video Online: Volume II contains 157 videos including archival and current material. Issues such as environmental crises, refugee migration, and endangered languages are well documented, and every sub-discipline of anthropology is be represented, including cultural, linguistic, applied, social, visual, urban, medical, and physical anthropologies, as well as archaeology.

The collection includes contemporary films from partners such as ZED, the BBC, and RAI, as well as targeted content from Documentary Educational Resources and key archives including the Grenada Centre of Anthropology at the University of Manchester.

May 21, 2013

Qualities and Characteristics of Five Major Music Periodical Indexes

A comparison and contrast of the relative strengths and weaknesses of RILM, RIPM, IIMP, the Music Index, and BMS Online illustrates the areas of research each is best suited for. Drawing upon the strengths of each database leads to quality contributions in the field of scholarship. Knowing the unique characters of each helps to make research more effective and efficient.

May 28, 2013

Ethnographic Video Online : Volume II Now Available

The Yale University Libraries now have electronic access to Volume II of Ethnographic Video Online via Alexander Street Press. The second volume of the Ethnographic Video Online collection “expands this database by adding 500 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries, field recordings, and previously unpublished footage from renowned anthropological archives such as the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI), as well as independent producers and distributors.

Continue reading "Ethnographic Video Online : Volume II Now Available" »

July 10, 2013

Carnegie Hall : Performance History Search

This exhaustively researched database contains records of 50,000 events, both musical and non-musical, that occurred in the public performance spaces of Carnegie Hall from its opening in 1891 to present. As of today, records spanning the period between 1891 and 1941 are now publicly available with more than 12,500 events covered. Additional data will be released on a regular basis. Try it here...

September 16, 2013

Naxos Music Library Now Provides Access to the SONY Classical Catalog

This catalog includes recordings that have become the standard for their repertoire and many great performances, such as Arthur Fieldler and the Boston Pops, Leonard Bernstein and the New York Philharmonic, Jascha Heifetz, Glenn Gould, Van Cliburn’s legendary recordings, and a number of original Broadway cast recordings.

September 18, 2013

Met Opera on Demand Now Available to Yale Faculty, Students, and Staff

Thanks to the generosity of Yale alumnus Frederick Iseman (Yale College '74), the Yale School of Music and the Gilmore Music Library now offer access to the spectacular Met Opera on Demand. Click here to give it a try...

Met Opera on Demand includes dozens of productions from the Met's award-winning "Live in HD" series of movie-theater transmissions, featuring opera superstars Natalie Dessay, Plácido Domingo, Renée Fleming, Juan Diego Flórez, Elīna Garanča, Anna Netrebko, Deborah Voigt, and many more. Classic Met telecasts from 1977-2001 including "Aida" starring Leontyne Price, "La Bohème" starring Luciano Pavarotti and Renata Scotto, Jon Vickers as Otello, and more. More than 300 radio broadcast performances dating back to 1936, representing nearly all of the most popular operas ever composed and many of the greatest singers in the Met's history including Björling, Callas, Corelli, Horne, Nilsson, Sutherland, Tebaldi, Te Kanawa, and Tucker. All Met Opera on Demand videos include English subtitles, and many recent performances also include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish. New operas are added every month, and the App provides an easy way to bookmark your Favorites and return to them anytime.

Happy viewing everybody!

September 26, 2013

Yale Music Library Now Provides Access to Oxford Music Bibliographies

Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. The editorial board includes stellar scholars such Bruce Gustafson, Tim Carter, Fred Maus, Kate van Orden, Bonnie Wade, and James L. Zychowicz. Of special interest is the contribution about Buxtehude by Yale professor Markus Rathey. Try it here...

More information on the team behind this work is available at: http://www.oxfordbibliographies.com/obo/page/music

December 20, 2013

Gilmore Music Library Now Provides Online Access to The Grove Dictionary of American Music

The Grove Dictionary of American Music, second edition is the largest, most comprehensive reference publication on American Music. Twenty-five years ago, the four volumes of the first edition of the dictionary initiated a great expansion in American music scholarship. This second edition reflects the growth in scholarship the first edition initiated. At eight volumes, it provides greatly expanded coverage, particularly in the areas of popular music, cities and regions, musical theater, opera, concert music, and music technology, as well as the musical traditions of many ethnic and cultural groups. Take a look at it here...

January 31, 2014

Naxos Music Library Introduces New Media Player

Created in HTML5, this new player sidesteps limitations of the old Flash player and makes room for further growth in the future. It affords more mobile accessibility and provides more track information. Read more about it here...

February 17, 2014

Chronicle of Higher Education and Chronicle of Philanthropy

The Yale library now subscribes to campus-wide access to Chronicle of Philanthropy online, and has added “domain access,” which includes an iPad app, to its Chronicle of Higher Education subscription.

Chronicle of Philanthropy can be accessed through its Orbis record, from the A-Z Online Journals list, and directly. The interface does not make it clear that we have an institutional subscription; some articles and resources show “lock” icons, but the content is all accessible.

Yale affiliates can use the “Log In” link at the top right of the screen to create an account, using a yale.edu e-mail address; that account allows access to the Yale institutional subscription from off-campus, without having to go through VPN or a proxy server. The Chronicle calls this “domain access.”

Our Chronicle of Higher Education institutional subscription has also been enhanced with domain access. An account created on Philanthropy does not work for Higher Education and vice versa. A user who wants off-campus to both resources has to create an account on each resource.

As with Philanthropy, the Chronicle of Higher Education’s interface also looks as if content is inaccessible, but the lock icons do not apply to our institutional subscription; we can access all of the content.

Finally, our Chronicle of Higher Education subscription now has an iPad app. Matt Regan, of the Instructional Technology Group in ITS, wrote a Mobile@Yale blog post that explains and provides instructions. My thanks to Matt, as well as Kristin Bogdan and Angela Sidman for making the connection with him.

Continue reading "Chronicle of Higher Education and Chronicle of Philanthropy" »

February 25, 2014

Digital Theatre Plus - New Library Subscription

This new library subscription provides access to complete, recently-filmed stage productions of plays, musicals, and operas from the Royal Shakespeare Company, the Young Vic, the Almeida Theatre, Menier Chocolate Factory, and other well-known British companies and venues. Click the "Productions" tab at the top of the screen to see the videos currently available through this database, including INTO THE WOODS, A DOLL'S HOUSE, KING LEAR, DON GIOVANNI, and LONG DAY'S JOURNEY INTO NIGHT, as well as more contemporary plays. New videos are being added regularly, the latest being the Sondheim musical MERRILY WE ROLL ALONG and THE SOAP MYTH, with Noel Coward's PRIVATE LIVES forthcoming. For Doctor Who fans, the production of MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING starring David Tennant as Benedick and Catherine Tate as Beatrice may be of special interest.
In addition to the performance videos, Digital Theatre Plus includes "Making Theatre" interviews with cast and crew on creative and technical production, as well as study guides for several of the works performed.

Access it here...

Continue reading "Digital Theatre Plus - New Library Subscription" »

RIPM e-Library of Music Periodicals

The Music Library now provides access to this addition to RIPM. The RIPM e-Library of Music Periodicals is a collection of rare full-text music journals not available together in one single library. It serves as a supplement to the RIPM Retrospective Index and the RIPM Online Archive.The first Installment consists of 25 searchable, Full-Text Music Journals (150,000 pages).

Periodicals deal with musical life in world capitals: Amsterdam, Barcelona, Berlin, Brussels, Budapest, Lisbon, Madrid, Milan, New York, Prague, Paris, St. Petersburg and Warsaw. The collection also contains several monumental journals including Musical America until 1922, Le Guide musical (Brussels, 1855-1918), the Neue Berliner Musikzeitung (Berlin 1847-1896) and several early musicology periodicals. Future titles will include those focusing on instruments, genres, musicology's early periodicals, music education and jazz, with others combining both musical and non-musical content. New titles will be added on a regular basis.

August 1, 2014

Cambridge History of Music

Did you know that Yale Library provides access to a number of Cambridge History of Music volumes from American Music to World Music. Here's a listing of all of them.

About Databases

This page contains an archive of all entries posted to Gilmore Music Library in the Databases category. They are listed from oldest to newest.

Digital Collections is the next category.

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.

Powered by
Movable Type 3.35