The Archives of “An-Nahar” online give you access to the database of the An-Nahar Newspaper.
Databases for Near East Research
- Academic Search Premier
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database for many journals with indexing and abstracts for many more journals in the collection.
- Access NewspaperARCHIVE
Access NewspaperARCHIVE contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. It is your gateway to searching and reading historical newspapers online.
Indexing and some full text access to United Nations documents and publications published from 1944 to present, including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations.
- Arab Culture and Civilization
A resource for all who would develop a better understanding of the Arab world developed by the National Institute for Technology and Liberal Education.
- Arab-Israeli relations, 1917-1970
An overview of the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century.
- Beinecke Digital Images Database
Approximately 55,000 images of photographs, manuscripts, correspondence, artwork, objects, and illustrations and selected pages from printed works in the Beinecke's collections.
Economic, financial, political and social data for more than 140 countries.
- Encyclopaedia Iranica
A multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history and civilization.
- Encyclopaedia Islamica
An abridged and edited English translation of the Persian encyclopedia, Da抜rat al-Ma抋rif-i Buzurg-i Islami (Great Islamic Encyclopaedia)(Tehran, 1988/89- ).
- Encyclopedia of Islam, Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE
The Encyclopaedia of Islam presents the current state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion & history to politics & culture.
- Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
An encyclopedic dictionary of qur抋nic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis.
- Encyclopaedia of Women and Islamic Culture
An interdisciplinary, multi-cultural encyclopedia that covers gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.
- Gamal Abdel Nasser Collection
The collection includes huge number of digital documents and audio and video records.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
- Image Collections at Yale
Search for images being used in the classroom and for collections at Yale libraries, and obtain links to other general image resources.
- Index Islamicus
Index Islamicus, produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library, indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with some going back to 1906. The print edition extends coverage back to 1605.
- Iraq 1917-1974
Middle East Online: Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.
A project of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation for development of a digital library in support of the arts and sciences on the World Wide Web.
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
An index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.
- Mideast Wire
This site offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
- Multidata online
An Arab provider of online-based information services to organizations in such fields as politics, business, finance, education, health, environment and law.
- Near East - Click here for more resources
OACIS is a freely accessible, continuously updated union list of journals and serials on or about the Middle East, including those available in print, microform, and online.
- Orbis - Yale University Library catalog
Principal online public access catalog (OPAC) for Yale University containing records for over 10 million items located in 22 libraries on the Yale campus and at the Library Shelving Facility.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers access to titles covering the history and culture of Islam and provides full-text access to important Oxford reference and scholarly works.
WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center's (OCLC) online "union catalog"; that is, its database of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world.