Indian Head Nickel American History and American Studies Research Guide Chief Thundercloud, the famous American Indian, believed to be the model for the nickel as well as the last five dollar gold piece  
spacer
spacerBeginning Research spacerSelf Help Tutorials spacerFinding Primary Sources   |  Off-Campus Access
spacer  
Databases spacerJournals  |  Online Books  |  Microfilm
     
spacer

Databases

Bibliographic Utilities / Library Catalogs  

I. Bibliographic Utilities / Library Catalogs

Orbis
Morris
Borrow Direct
CRL - Center for Research Libraries Catalog
WorldCat
Other Library Catalogs

TOP

II. Indexes and Abstracting Databases

Primary Sources

Alternative Press Index
Left Index
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (includes Poole's Index )
Nineteenth Century Index
Periodicals Index Online
Readers Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-present)

Secondary Sources and Genre Specific Indexes

Academic Search
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals
America: History and Life
Art Abstracts
Art Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science)
ATLA/ATLAS Religion Database
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography Index
Black Studies Database
Book Review Digest
Book Review Index
Books In Print/Out of Print
Chicano Database
Children's Literature Comprehensive Index
Current Contents
Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Essay and General Literature Index
FBIS Electronic Index (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)
FIAF (International FilmArchive Database)
Film Literature Index (1976-2001)
Government Information on the Internet
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
HeritageQuest Online
Historical Abstracts
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Humanities Abstracts
Index to Legal Periodicals
International Index of Black Periodicals
International Index to Music Periodicals
International Index to the Performing Arts
Jane's Online
Lexis-Nexis Congressional
MLA (literature)
Music Index
Oral History Online
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Philosopher's Index
PsycINFO
Sexual Diversity Studies: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Abstracts
Women's Resources International
World Biographical Index

TOP

III. Full Text Databases

REFERENCE (Dictionaries, Statistics, etc.)

American National Biography
American Religion Data Archive (ARDA)
Biography Resource Center
Britannica Online
Dictionary of American History
Directory of American Scholars
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Encyclopedia of American Religions
Encycl. of the American Civil War: A Political, Social, and Military History
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
Foundation Directory
Gale Literary Databases
Gale's Ready Reference Shelf
Grove Dictionary of Art Online
Grove Music Online
Keesing's Record of World Events
LexisNexis Statistical
Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford Reference Online
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
StatCat: Social Science Data Search
Statistical Abstract of the United States
STAT-USA (U.S. Bureau of the Census)

DOCUMENTS

American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I
American Civil War: Letters & Diaries
American Memory
American State Papers, 1789-1838
An American time capsule : three centuries of broadsides and other printed ephemera.
Avalon Project
By popular demand: Jackie Robinson and other baseball highlights 1860-1960
The capital and the bay : narratives of Washington and the Chesapeake Bay region, ca. 1600-1925 / general collections and Rare Book and Special Collections Division, Library of Congress.
From slavery to freedom: the African-American pamphlet collection, 1824-1909 / Rare Book and Special Collections Division, Library of Congress.
Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS)
GPO Access
Historic Government Publications from World War II
Lexis-Nexis Congressional
National Security Archive
Original Sources
Pioneering the Upper Midwest : books from Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin, ca. 1820-1910
Primary Sources in U.S. History
(Presidential, Women's & Af-Am Studies)
Slaves and the courts, 1740-1860 Law Library of Congress, Rare Book and Special Collections Division, and General Collections of the Library of Congress.
THOMAS
Trails to Utah and the Pacific: diaries and letters, 1846-1869 / Lee Library, Brigham Young University and Utah Academic Library Consortium.
U.S. Congressional Serials Set
Westward by sea : a maritime perspective on American expansion, 1820-1890 / Mystic Seaport.

SCHOLARLY JOURNALS, BOOKS, & DISSERTATIONS

ACLS History E-Book Project
Dissertations and Theses - Full Text

Directory of Open Access Journals
EbscoHost Electronic Journals Service
History Compass
History Cooperative
JSTOR (major history journals)
Legal Collection
Oxford University Press online journals
Project Muse (some history journals)

NEWSPAPERS and MAGAZINES

Academic Search
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Accessible Archives:
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
Godey's Ladys Book 1830-1880
The Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800
Alt-Press Watch
American Periodical Series, 1740-1900
Contemporary Women's Issues
Connecticut Newspaper Project
Early American Newspapers
Ethnic NewsWatch
GenderWatch
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction (1857-1877)
Harper's Magazine and Cumulative Index
Hartford Courant (1764 - 1922), (1991-)
Left Index
Times (London)
Proquest Historical Newspapers:
Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1925)
Boston Globe (1872 - 1922)
Chicago Defender (1905 - 1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1985)
Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 1992)
Hartford Courant (1764 - 1922)
Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1985)
The New York Times (1851 - 2002)
The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1988)
The Washington Post (1877 - 1989)
Nation Digital Archive (1865-1999)
Richmond Daily Dispatch
Times Literary Supplement (TLS) Centenary Archive
Vanderbilt University TV News Archive

TEXTS & IMAGES

20th Century African-American Poetry
20th Century American Poetry
Ad* Access Project
African-American Poetry (1750-1900)
American Civil War: Letters & Diaries
American Poetry Database
American Drama
American Film Scripts Online

American Poetry (1600-1900)
ARTstor
Associated Press Photo Archive
Bible In English
Black Studies Center
Black Thought and Culture
Database of African American Poetry
Early English Books Online
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1693-1800)
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Empire Online
House Divided, The Lincoln-Douglas Debates (Available online from Original Sources)
Image Collections at Yale
Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789 CD-ROM
Lexis-Nexis Primary Sources in U.S. History
Making of Modern Law
Making of the Modern Economy
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
North American Theatre Online
North American Women's Drama
North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial-1950s
Performing Arts in Colonial American Newspapers CD-ROM
Primary Sources in U.S. History
Twentieth Century North American Drama
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Wright American Fiction

TOP

IV. Archival Materials and Finding Aids

Archival Finding Aids
ArchivesUSA
ArchiveGrid
Primary Sources in U.S. History (Microfilm Guides)
Yale Library Finding Aid Database

V. Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States Colonial Times to 1970
Lexis-Nexis Statistical (Statistical Universe)
State & County QuickFacts
Statistical Abstract of the United States
STAT-USA (U.S. Bureau of the Census)

TOP

spacer
spacer spacer spacer  
spacer Yale American Studies Program | Yale History Department | Programs and Research Orientation for Faculty spacer  
   
spacer
links Search the Library Web Site Library Hours Orbis, the Library Online Catalog Ask! A Librarian a Reference Question Contact Us YaleInfo Yale University
spacer  
   
spacer © 2008 Yale University Library
Contact Gregory Eow, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History and American Studies,
Research Services and Collections, Sterling Memorial Library.
Yale University Library American History and American Studies Research Guide Updated February 5, 2008
spacer