Italian History
Italian History Research Guide

European History Guides
British History
French History
European History Research Guide
German History
Italian History
Portuguese History
Spanish History
History of Science/Science Studies
Medieval Studies
World War II
Cold War
Bibliografia Anual de História de Portugal
(Univ. of Coimbra)

Internet Resources
WWW Gateways
Resources by Region
Resources by Period
Discussion Lists

Reference Sources
Indexes and Abstracts
General Reference
Book Reviews
Histories & Chronologies
Newspapers
Library Catalogs

Electronic Publications
Books
Journals

Primary Sources
Archives and Manuscripts
Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library
Microform Collections and Full Text Databases
Yale Divinity School Library
Manuscripts and Archives Department, SML
Search the Library Web Site Library Hours Orbis, the Library Online Catalog Ask! A Librarian a Reference Question Contact Us YaleInfo Yale University

Periodicals: Indexes and Guides

A. Bibliographies

Selected subject headings:
Italian periodicals--Bibliography
Italian periodicals--Directories
[Topic]--Italy--Periodicals--Bibliography
Italy--Periodicals--Bibliography
Italy--Periodicals--Indexes
Istituto Nazionale per la Storia del Movimento di Liberazione in Italia. Catalogo della Stampa Periodica delle Biblioteche dell'Istituto Nazionale per la Storia del Movimento di Liberazione in Italia e degli Istituti associati, 1900-1975. A cura di Francesca Ferratini Tosi (et al.) Milano: [The Institute], 1977.
SML Reference Z6945 +I75 1977 (LC)
"A catalog of periodicals relating to antifascism and the Italian resistance. Locates files in some 23 Italian libraries." (Sheehy, DC399)
Majolo Molinari, Olga. La stampa periodica romana dal 1900 al 1926 : scienze morali, storiche e filologiche. Olga Majolo Molinari. -- Roma : Istituto di studi romani, 1977.
SML, Stacks Z6956;I8 M28;(LC)
"A comprehensive bibliography of some 1,700 Italian 19th-century periodicals with bibliographical details and descriptive annotations. Arranged alphabetically; chronological, subject, and name. Indexes." (Balay, AD127)
Majolo Molinari, Olga. La stampa periodica romana dell'Ottocento. Roma: Istituto di studi romani, 1963. 2v.
Periodici italiani 1886-1957. -- Roma : Istituto centrale per il catalogo unico delle Biblioteche italiane e per le informazione bibliografiche, 1980.
SML, Reference Z2345 +F561;(LC)
"A list of Italian periodicals extracted from the Catalogo cumulativo 1886-1957 del Bolletino delle pubblicazioni italiane of the Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale, Florence." (Balay, AD128)
Continued by:
Periodici italiani, 1968-81 / [a cura du Maria Barachino, Giovanna Merola, Carla Stocco]. Roma: Istituto centrale per il catalogo unico delle biblioteche e per le informazioni bibliografiche, 1983.
"A title listing with indexes of title changes, supplements, editors, and corporate bodies." (Balay, AD128)
Repertorio analitico della stampa italiana: quotidiana  e periodici, 1964-69. Milano: Messaggerie Italiane, 1963-69. 6v.
SML, Stacks Z6956;I8 R46;(LC)
Lists periodicals in a simplified Dewey Decimal Classification with title index. The main list gives title, frequency, and city of publication; the title index indicates subscription prices. An Indirizzi volume was published 1965 and 1966, listing the periodicals in alphabetical order with addresses.
Catalogo dei periodici italiani. 1981- -- Milano : Bibliografica; Ann Arbor, Mich. : Distributed by R.R. Bowker, c1980-
SML, Reference Z6956;I8 +C18 (LC)
"The 4th ed., current as of Dec. 1991, listst more than 10,000 titles of periodicals published in Italy. In four parts: title index, subject index. geographical index, and cessation list. Includes a section of tables presenting statistical data on periodical publishing in Italy. Individual entries note title, subtitle, editor's name, publisher's address, telephone and faxnumbers, frequency, subscription price, and ISSN." (Balay, AD130)
Annuario della Stampa Italiana. Ed. Europea. A cura della Federazione Nazionale della Stampa Italiana, 1954/55-59/60. Milano/Roma, Fratelli, Bocca, 1954-59. Irregular.
SML Stacks Z6956 I8;A6;(LC)
A continuation of the annual of the same title publ. 1916-42.
"Includes texts of laws of the press, professional organizations, material on journalism in Italy, and lists of periodicals and newspapers, Italian journalists, associations, etc." (Sheehy, AE109)
New Serial Titles. New York: R.R. Bowker Co., 1953- . Monthly with annual and quinquennial cumulations.
SML Reference Z6945 +N48 (LC)
Also: Catalog Reference Desk
A union list of serials which began publication in 1950 or later anywhere in the world, with holdings information for U.S. and Canadian libraries.
Union list of serials in the United States and Canada. New York: H.W. Wilson Co., 1965. 4v.
SML Catalog Reference Desk Z6945 +U53 1965 (LC)
Also: Bibliography
A union list of serials which began publication anywhere in the world before 1950, with holdings information for U.S. and Canadian libraries.
Guida ragionata ai periodici italiani. Milano: La Rivistiera, 1996.
SML,Z6956 I8 C17 (LC)+ Oversize
Continues Catalogo ragionato dei periodici italiani.
A useful dictionary of more than 4,000 current Italian periodicals. Includes indices of subjects and publishers.
Majolo Molinari, Olga.La Stampa periodica romana dell'Ottocento. Roma : Istituto di studi romani, 1963.
SML,Reference Z6956 I8 M35 (LC)
Majolo Molinari, Olga.La Stampa periodica romana dal 1900 al 1926.Roma : Istituto di studi romani, 1977.
SML Z6956 I8 M28 (LC)
La Stampa periodica romana durante il fascismo : 1927-1943.Roma : Istituto nazionale di studi romani, 1998.
SML PN5247 P4 S73 1998
Guida ragionata ai periodici italiani.Milano : La Rivisteria,
SML Z6956 I8 +C17 (LC)
I Periodici delle Accademie e degli Istituti Culturali Italiani.Roma : Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale, 1991.
SML Z6956 I8 P42x 1991+Oversize

B. Indexes and Abstracts

1. To periodicals of the period

Bibliographie der fremdsprachingen Zeitschriftenliteratur = Repertoire biliographique international des revues = International index to periodicals. Leipzig: F. Dietrich, 1911-64. 69v.
SML Reference AI9 B535 (LC)
This important work provides indexing for about 1,400 periodicals and general works in the principal non-German European languages,
including Italian among others.
Merged into:
Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitscriftenliteratur aus allen Gebieten des Wissens. International bibliography of
periodical literature covering all fields of knowledge. Bibliographie internationale de la litterature periodique dans tous les domaines de la connaissance. Osnabruck, F. Dietrich. Jahrg. 1- 1963/64-. Two numbers a year. (SML Reference AI9 I58 (LC); also
available since 1 994/95 as a CD-ROM database in the CD-ROM Reference Center)
Periodical contents index [computer file]. Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, 1994-.
SML CD-ROM Reference Center and through the Research Workstation (Experimental Projects)
Includes tables of contents indexing for almost 1,600 humanities and social sciences journals from the date of their first appearance (as
early as the late eighteenth century) through 1990/91, including journals published in North America, the United Kingdom, Ireland,
France, Germany, Italy, and Spain.
Available from Research Workstation; Databases.
Connect to Periodical contents index
2. To secondary literature

Historical abstracts. v. 1-16. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1955-1970.
SML Reference D1 +H48
Continued by:
Historical abstracts. Part A: Modern History Abstracts, 1450-1914. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1971-. v17-.
SML Reference D1 +H482
Historical abstracts, Part B: Twentieth Century Abstracts, 1914-. v. 17-. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1971-.
SML Reference D1 +H483
Supplemented by:
Historical abstracts [computer file]. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio.
SML CD-ROM Reference Center
Historical Association (Great Britain). Annual bulletin of historical literature. London: Historical Association, 1911-.
SML Reference Z6205 H57 (LC)
A narrative presentation of the year's work in all areas of history, presented primarily by century, with an emphasis on listing British
books and articles.
International bibliography of historical sciences. Internationale Bibliographie der Geschichtwissenschaften. Paris, Librairie Armand Colin. 1st- year; 1926-. Annual.
SML Reference Z6205 I58 (LC)
A classed bibliography (that is, arranged in subject groupings) of books and periodical articles published internationally covering the
history of the world from prehistoric times to 1945, arranged by broad subject areas or time periods.
 bottom quick links

© 2008 Yale University Library
This file last modified 11/07/07
Send comments to Susanne Roberts