| 
When and how do I look for ... ? This guide
will lead you to the different types of resources used in historical research,
what they are used for and how you can go about locating and obtaining
primary and secondary sources.
Guide
to Using Primary Sources on the Web
Select
Networked and CD-ROM Databases for Americanists
If you need further assistance locating resources, visit the SML Reference
Desk. For help with specific research projects, contact Nancy
M. Godleski, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History and American
Studies.
Related Yale Library Research Workshops
The Yale University Library holds periodic workshops for researchers,
tailored either to general or specific needs. These links will take
you to online materials used in past workshops.
o United
States 20th Century
o Primary
Sources Research Colloquium
How to Locate Books
A book can be either a primary
or secondary source, depending upon factors like publication date and
viewpoint of the author.
The collections of the Yale
University Library are represented in multiple catalogs. Together, the
card catalog,
Orbis, Morris
(the Law Library catalog) and the Center
for Research Libraries (CRL) catalog constitute the Yale University
Library catalog.
Eureka
provides catalog records for books, journals, maps, sound recordings,
musical scores, films, archives, and computer files held in research,
corporate, and public libraries, as well as museums, archives and historical
societies.
Worldcat
contains over 39 million records from academic, public, special and
national libraries around the world.
TOP
How To Locate Scholarly Analysis
Scholarly analysis can usually be found either as a monograph or an
article. Here are the places to look along with the Yale catalogs:
Academic
Search provides access to journal articles in most academic areas
of study. It includes full-text coverage for over 1,530 journals from
1990 to the present and abstracts/indexing of nearly 3,000 journals
from 1984 to the present.
America:
History and Life is a bibliographic reference to the history
of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published
since 1964, the database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
All abstracts are written in English. AHL includes book and media
reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and
Canadian history and related fields. The database also includes citations
to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas.
Historical
Abstracts contains annotated references to books, aricles, and
dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present
(excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America:
History and Life).
Anthropological
Index Online indexes all branches of anthropology and archaeology.
All geographical regions are covered. The Index covers articles in
all languages, and provides English translations of citations from
non-Roman scripts and from smaller languages.
Anthropological
Literature is a bibliographic index to articles and essays on
anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics,
psychology, and religious studies. Printed volumes cover 1979-1984
and 1989 to the present. 1984-1988 are on microfiche in SML Main Reading
Room and at Kline. For citations to literature published before 1979,
see the Catalogue of the Library of the Peabody Museum of Archaeology
and Ethnology (no. 10).
Arts
and Humanities Search (1975-) is the online equivalent to the
printed Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The database indexes
articles from over 1,100 arts and humanities journals, plus relevant
articles from an additional 5,000 social science and science journals.
The database covers 1980 to the present.
AHA Guide to Historical Literature Ed. Mary Beth Norton,
Pamela Gerardi. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford UP, 1995. 2 v.
The product of over 400 historians. This edition of the Guide presents
and integrated, selective listing of books and articles that most
successfully introduce others to the study of key issues in history.
Works have been chosen for inclusion on the basis of (1) their function
as reliable syntheses or reference works that provide entry to a field;
(2) works that set the standard of excellence in various fields of
history; and (3) major alternative interpretations rpresented in current
scholarly debates. Contains nearly 27,000 annotated citations arranged
in 48 chapters. Each chapter includes a brief introductory essay summarizing
the history and development of that area of historical inquiry. With
author and subject indexes and a list of journals.
*LOCATION: SML, Reference Z6201 A55 1995. Also at the SML Reference
Desk and in CCL, Reference.
Digital
Dissertations
Digital Dissertations contains more than 1.6 million entries with
information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It is
the same database as Dissertation Abstracts, but with the significant
advantage that titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital
format and have 24 page previews available.
eHRAF
Collection of Ethnography is a unique cross-cultural database.
It contains more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive
information on the cultures of the world. These materials are relevant
to the various social science disciplines as well as the humanities
and health sciences.
TOP
How To Locate Magazine Articles
Indexes analyze the contents of periodicals. There are several indexes,
both in print and electronic formats. Below are the indexes that historians
find most helpful, arranged chronically.
20th Century
Academic
Search provides access to journal articles in most academic areas
of study. It includes full-text coverage for over 1,530 journals from
1990 to the present and abstracts/indexing of nearly 3,000 journals
from 1984 to the present.
Access: The Supplementary Index to Periodicals indexes magazines
not presently indexed in Reader's
Guide to Periodical Literature, including city and regional magazines.
*Located in SML, Reference, Index Case AI3 A23 (LC)
Alternative
Press Index (1969 - present) indexes roughly 250 alternative,
radical, and left publications. Many of these periodicals are not
indexed in the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature or the Social
Sciences Index. The online version begins with 1991.
Nation
Digital Archive contains every issue of The Nation from July 1865
through 1999.
Periodicals
Contents Index is an electronic index to the contents of thousands
of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first
issues to 1995. Every article is indexed. PCI Web currently indexes
over eleven million journal articles in 3,536 journals. The scope
is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian,
Spanish and other Western languages.
Readers'
Guide to Periodical Literature has indexes and abstracts of some
375 of the most popular general interest periodicals published in
the United States and Canada since 1890, plus the full text of over
120 of those periodicals from 1994 - present.
19th Century
American
Periodical Series
This full-text-/full-image database contains 1000 magazines published
between 1741 and 1900.
Harper's
Magazine Online provides access to the full-text Harper's Magazine.
It covers 1850 to the present.
HarpWeek:
The Civil War Era and Reconstruction is a searchable full-text
database of all the pages of Harper's Weekly (1857-1877).
The
Nineteenth Century Masterfile contains several electronic indexes
to pre-1920 periodical literature, including Pooles Index to
Periodical Literature (1802-1906). *The print version of Pooles
is located in SML, Reference, Index Case A13 P656 1963
Periodicals
Contents Index is an electronic index to the contents of thousands
of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first
issues to 1995. Every article is indexed. The scope is international,
including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and
other Western languages.
18th Century
American
Periodical Series
This full-text-/full-image database contains 1000 magazines published
between 1741 and 1900.
Periodicals
Contents Index is an electronic index to the contents of thousands
of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first
issues to 1995. Every article is indexed. The scope is international,
including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and
other Western languages.
TOP
How To Look For Newspapers
First determine the title and date of publication of the newspaper.
These guides will help:
Brigham, Clarence Saunders. History and Bibilography of American
Newspapers, 1690-1820. Worchester, MA: American Antiquarian Society,
1947. Many of the newspapers listed and discussed in this work are
availbable on microfilm in the Early American Newspapers Collection
shelved in the Microform Reading Room.
* Located in SML, Reference Z6951 +B75.
American Newspapers, 1821-1936: A Union List of Files Available
in the United States and Canada. Ed. Winifred Gregory. New York:
H.W. Wilson, 1967.
* Located in SML, Card Catalog Reference Shelf Z6945 A48 1967. Also
in SML, Andrews Study
Newspapers on Microform: United States, 1948-1983. Washington,
DC: Library or Congress, 1984.
*Located in SML, Catalog Reference Desk Z6951 +U469. Also in SML,
Reference, Microform Reading Room.
To determine if Yale University Libraries own a particular newspaper,
first check Orbis, the
online catalog. Then check this database:
Newspaper
Holdings of the Yale University Library is a record of Yale Library
holdings of newspapers in microform. This list does not include all
of the newspapers to be found in the original, in reprints, or in
fascimile in the SML stacks, in the Mudd Library, or in the Beinecke,
though it does contain some of this material. Neither does it include
all of the Underground Newspaper Collection (Film S618). It does include
bound newspapers with a delta classification.
If we do not have a particular newspaper, you may be able able borrow
it from another library via interlibrary loan. Check the Center
for Research Libraries (CRL), Eureka,
WorldCat, and/or Borrow
Direct.
Few newspapers have published indexes. Check Orbis
to determine what is available. Here are a few online newspaper indexes
and fulltext databases.
Early
American Newspapers
Early American Newspapers features cover-to-cover reproductions of
hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages
as fully text-searchable facsimile images. This collection is based
largely on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American
Newspapers, 1690-1820.
Historical
Newspapers Online
Contains the New York Times Index
*Print version of NYTI is located in SML, Reference, Index Case AI21
+N43 (1851-1945) and SML Microtext Center, AI21 +N43 (1946-present).
- Proquest Historical Newspapers contains:
- Chicago
Tribune
Los
Angeles Times
New
York Times (Historical)
Washington
Post
Academic
Universe is from the producers of Lexis-Nexis, a full-text news
and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines,
transcripts, business and legal information and much more.
Accesible
Archives provides a searchable collection of American newspapers
from the 18th &19th Centuries. Titles include the Pennsylvania
Gazette and African-American Newspapers: the 19th Century.
How to Locate Government Documents
When looking for government-related documents, databases and indexes
are useful. Below are some databases and websites that are particularly
helpful when looking for pre-1900s government documents.
Congressional
Universe
Congressional Universe is an online legislative and regulatory service.
It provides indexing and abstracting for congressional hearings, prints,
bills, reports and documents.
U.S.
Congressional Serial Set
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is comprised of the bound, sequentially
numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the
U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. This digitized version includes
Serial Set volumes 1-161 (15th-19th Congresses, 1817-1827).
Southern Oregon Digital Archives
(SOU)
A digital library primarily from the SOU Librarys rich collections
of federal, state, and county publications. The Library is concentrating
its efforts on two collections of regional materials pertaining to
the Southern Oregon Bioregion and the First Nations/ Tribal Collection.
AMDOCS:
Documents for the Study of American History
Full-text documents of many important historical and government texts.
Nineteenth Century
Documents Project (Furman)
Includes accurate transcriptions of many important and representative
primary texts from nineteenth century American history, with special
emphasis on those sources that shed light on sectional conflict and
transformations in regional identity.
Collection
Finder for the American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
Avalon Project
(Yale Law School)
The purpose of the Avalon Project is to present digital historical
documents relevant to the fields of law, economics, politics, diplomacy
and government on the World Wide Web.
Document Collections
of the Avalon Project (includes the UN)
TOP
How To Locate Manuscripts and Archives
Manuscript materials can be difficult to locate. Below are some
electronic resources that help locate materials. See also Manuscripts
& Archives on the Internet Resources page.
ArchivesUSA
integrates three resources: The National Union Catalog of Manuscript
Collections (NUCMUC), The Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories
in the US (DARMUS), and The National Inventory of Documentary Sources
in the United States (NIDS).
WorldCat
contains over 39 million records from academic, public, special and
national libraries around the world.
Archival
Resources integrates the portion of the Research Libraries Group's
RLIN database (Eureka) containing close to half a million descriptive
records of archival collections with a growing range of online finding
aids or detailed collection guides and inventories. Archival Resources
uses a modified form of the Eureka interface.
Yale
Finding Aids Project provides access to archival finding aids
in a platform-independent electronic format, using SGML (Standard
Generalized Markup Language) and HTML. Finding aids are inventories,
indexes, or guides that are created by archival and manuscript repositories
to provide information about specific collections. While the finding
aids created by repositories may vary somewhat in style, their common
purpose is to provide detailed description of the content and intellectual
organization of collections. Access to finding aids through the Internet
will assist scholars in determining whether collections contain material
relevant to their research.
Guides
to Microforms (in Lexis-Nexis Primary Sources in U.S. History)
provide a web-based finding aid for certain microform collections.
Instead of searching through several printed guides that accompany
microforms, you may search all the microform collections in the database
by keyword or browse the electronic versions of the printed guides
by title or subject. The end result will be a list of descriptions
of records you can find either in Yale University Library's microform
collections or through interlibrary loan.
History
Universe currently contains the guides for 125 of the microform
collections from University Publications of America (UPA), an imprint
of Congressional Information Service, Inc. (CIS). Coverage will expand
with some 50 more titles each year--including new titles, and widely-held
titles not published by UPA.
TOP
Where To Find Basic Biographical Information
and To Check Facts (online)
American
National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and
women -- from all eras and walks of life. The online edition is updated
quarterly, with hundreds of new entries each year and revisions of
previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency.
The ANB Online also features thousands of illustrations, more than
80,000 hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites.
Biography
and Genealogy Master Index is an index to nearly 12 million biographical
sketches in more than 2700 volumes and editions of current and retrospective
reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures
throughout the world.
Biography
Index is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material
appearing in more than 3,000 periodicals indexed in other Wilson databases
and additional selected periodicals, some 2,500 current books (annually)
of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical
material in otherwise non-biographical books.
Biography
Resource Center (BioRC) is a database of biographical information
throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and
subject areas.
Census
Statistics from American Indian and Alaskan Native Populations
contains statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau.
World
Biographical Index is a good first step for locating very basic
information about people from North and South America, Western and
Central Europe, Australia, New Zealand, and Oceania, through the beginning
of the 20th century. It is essentially an index to over 3000 biographical
reference works which have been microfilmed. Yale's microfiche sets
are housed in the SML, Starr Main Reference Room Annex.
General (online) Encyclopedias
Britannica
Online includes the complete, updated Encyclopædia Britannica,
selected articles from more than 70 of the world's top magazines--including
Newsweek, Discover, and The Economist, and a guide to the Web sites
Dictionary
of American History (third edition) is the first comprehensive
revision of the classic reference source originally published in 1940.
Entries from previous editions have been updated and revised in light
of historical developments and current scholarship, and over 800 entirely
new entries have been commissioned to cover recent events ("Bush
v. Gore") and topics neglected by previous editions ("Harlem
Renaissance"). For the first time, 1,500 illustrations and 300
maps have been incorporated into the main body of the work which includes
over 4,400 articles ranging in length from 100 to 8,000 words.
Keesing's
Record of World Events provides objective international news reports
and resources to communicate with leaders around the world since 1931.
Oxford
Reference (History) brings subject dictionaries and reference
works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable
resource. It is also possible to search each title in the collection
individually.
TOP | HOME
|
Native
American Studies
| Yale
University Library | Databases
& Article Searching | American
Ethnic Studies |
Send
questions or comments to Nancy
M. Godleski, Kaplanoff Librarian for American
History.
Web page maintained by Amy Shapiro. Last updated
December 13, 2004
. |