decorative image
Social Science Libraries & Information  ServicesYale University Library
Research Tools Libraries and Collections Library Services Computers in SSL
Orbis Library Catalog / StatCat / Social Science Databases / Subject Guides / Online Journals & Newspapers /
Working Papers / General Reference Resources
Development Studies: Online Databases

AccessUN

AccessUN is a web-based database which provides bibliographic access to the Readex United Nations Documents and Publications microfiche collection. It provides access to United Nations documents and publications published from 1951 to present. Access is by subject, title, author, document number, document type, UN sales number, and country. Full text of the General Assembly, Security Council and Economic and Social Council resolutions are appended to the bibliographic citation. Document numbers provide links to the microfiche and paper collections housed in the Government Documents and Information Center.

Agricola

Agricola is a major database for identifying Agriculture research publications in the English language. Sources covered: 2000 journals, books, technical reports, and government reports (North American emphasis) Fields covered: agriculture, entomology, plant and water sciences, animal sciences, natural resources literature Please consult the list of covered journals, books, conference proceedings, etc. in order to become aware of the scope of this product. Please feel free to contact a librarian for further clarification or for identification of other information sources outside the scope of this resource. The most recent information appears with the stated delay after publication of the actual articles and/or books.

NOTE: There is a free Internet version of Agricola covering the years 1982 to the present. The free Internet version offers very limited search capabilities when compared with the Yale leased system. (No exact phrase searching, no sophisticated combining of search statements, etc.) The use of this electronic tool will not provide comprehensive coverage.

Columbia International Affairs Online

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material on a regular schedule.

EconLit

EconLit, produced by the American Economic Association, is an expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature. It contains bibliographic references and some abstracts for journal articles, books, articles in collective volumes and dissertations. It also contains the bibliographic database Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics, produced by Cambridge University Press.

EIU Country Reports

Country Reports analyse political and economic trends in nearly 200 countries. They show you exactly how national, regional and global events will affect your business in the short to medium term. Available in digital and print formats, each report examines and explains the issues shaping the countries in which you operate: the political scene, economic policy, the domestic economy and foreign trade and payments, and provides concise 18-24-month forecasts complementing the analysis.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

International Bibliography of Social Sciences, from the British Library of Political and Economic Science of the London School of Economics and Political Science, indexes the information contained in over 2,600 social sciences journals and 6,000 books each year. Coverage includes both core and specialized material from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Approximately 70% of the records are in English, and articles in other languages are displayed with both the original language title as well as with an English translation. The comprehensive coverage provided in the database, while based on the core disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, also reflects the increasingly interdisciplinary nature of the social sciences. About 100,000 citations are added to the database each year.

International Country Risk Data

The International Country Risk Data provides current political, economic and financial risk data as well as historical analysis (from 1984) for multiple countries. The CountryWire provides country-specific, comprehensive daily news from 12 international news services with a 12-month archive in a searchable database containing 180,000 stories.

International Political Science Abstracts

The International Political Science Association provided this database that abstracts political science articles published in scholarly journals and yearbooks worldwide. Topics include method and theory; political thinkers and ideas; political and administrative institutions; political processes (public opinion, attitudes, parties, forces, groups, and elections); international relations; and national and area studies. Approximately 95% of the records include abstracts, most in English.

ISI Emerging Markets

ISI Emerging Markets delivers news, company and financial data direct from more than 25 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America and Central and Eastern Europe. ISI Emerging Markets gives emerging market specialists worldwide one-stop Internet access to mission-critical information straight from the local markets.

Information is updated anywhere from continuously throughout the day to once annually depending on the type of information. For instance, BBC Worldwide Monitoring is updated 60-100 times per day, whereas certain macroeconomic figures may be updated once per quarter and privatization or topical reports may be updated once per year. Most information is published in English as well as the local language.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)

PAIS International covers the literature of public affairs including political, economic and social issues. It contains references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and publications of international agencies. Publications from more than 60 countries are included. Materials indexed are in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.

Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science)

The ISI Citation Databases collectively index more than 8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover, providing users with complete bibliographic data, full-length author abstracts, and cited references from the world's most influential research with online backfiles access now completely matching the print editions:

  • The Science Citation Index Expanded covers over 5,700 journals
  • The Social Sciences Citation Index covers over 1,700 journals
  • The Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers over 1,120 journals

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts features journal citations and abstracts; book, chapter, and association paper abstracts; and book, film, and software review citations. Entries cover sociological aspects of twenty-nine broad topics, including anthropology, business, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence.

SourceOECD

SourceOECD includes publications - monographs, periodicals, and statistical databases - issued by the OECD. Arranged in 3 sections: studies by theme, periodicals, and statistics, this resource contains monographs and serials on topics such as: agriculture & food; education & skills; emerging economics; employment; energy; enterprise, industry & trade; environment & sustainable development; finance & investment; general economics & future studies; governance; international development; nuclear energy; science & information technology; social issues & migration; statistics sources & methods; taxation; territorial economy; transition economics; transport and more.

United Nations Bibliographic Information System (UNBISnet)

UNBISnet is the primary index to United Nations documentation published since 1979, or earlier for selected documents. It also includes the catalogue of the collections of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. A special file provides detailed voting records of resolutions adopted by the General Assembly (38th session, 1983-) and Security Council (1946-). Another special file contains speech citations for the main United Nations organs, the General Assembly (38th session, 1983-), the Security Council (38th session, 1983-), the Economic and Social Council (1983-), and the Trusteeship Council (1982-). Some links to full text are currently available.

United Nations Development Programme

The Index to United Nations Development Programme Project Reports was produced by Readex, Inc. It provides access to a collection of reports from over 35 agencies that trace the economic development and technical cooperation in developing countries over the past 20 years. UNDP projects assist developing countries to better utilize their human and natural resources, expand productivity, improve living standards and contribute to a sustainable expansion of the global economy. The UNDP project report collection consists of evaluative, technical and terminal (final) reports for projects from 1972 through 1997. All of the documents indexed are available on microfiche at the Government Documents and Information Center. More recent reports are available online from United Nations Development Programme.

United Nations Human Rights

This compact disc is produced by the United Nations Library, Geneva, in cooperation with the Centre for Human Rights. The compact disc supplements the paper edition with coverage through October 15, 1994. The cd-rom contains citations for approximately 12,000 United Nations documents and publications issued since 1980 on subjects related to human rights. References are drawn from the United Nations Bibliographic Information system and the citations contain the United Nations documents symbol for referral to the text of the document. The pre-selection menu allows the user to search 11 subject categories from the Human Rights Classification Scheme and to select any of 13 types of materials. Types of materials include declarations, annual and session reports, draft source materials, United Nations resolutions and decisions, and reports and letters of the Secretary General. Boolean operators may be used within fields or between fields. Each citation includes title, imprint, notes, UN document number, UN issuing body and session number.

United Nations Official Documents System

The database comprises the full text of all United Nations parliamentary documents, including resolutions and decisions issued at United Nations Headquarters in New York and the United Nations Office at Geneva since 1993 (with selected earlier coverage), and at the United Nations Office at Vienna since 1997, as well as documents from the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific beginning in 1997. In addition to parliamentary documentation, all currently valid United Nations administrative issuances (ST/AI/-, ST/IC/- and ST/SGB/-) are included in the database. The official record version of United Nations resolutions and decisions adopted by the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards are stored separately on ODS in the “United Nations resolutions” database.

USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse

The Development Experience System (DEXS) is a family of bibliographic databases that contain records for about 100,000 Agency technical and program documents from 1942 to the present. Searches may be done on any of ten variables. Retrieval includes basic bibliographic information as well as pricing and ordering information.

World Bank e-Library

The World Bank e-library is one of the most comprehensive collections in the area of social and economic development. Resources include:

  • All current and recent World Bank titles, documents and papers in PDF and other user-friendly formats, available as soon as they appear in print.
  • Over 1,200 backlist titles
  • Access to information not available in print

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is a new database which merges ABC Pol Sci and Political Science Abstracts. It indexes and provides abstracts for 1000 journals; it will be updated monthly and the merged backfiles begin in 1975. The topics covered include political institutions, processes, and behavior; international law and politics; public policy; public administration; political theory; and political economics.

Search Library Web / Contact SSLIS / Statlab / Yale University Library / Yale University / YaleInfo
© 2002 Yale University Library
This file last modified 05/03/07
Send comments to Sandra Peterson