D-F
Directory of Curriculum Materials Centers Online
The Directory of Curriculum Materials Centers Online lists and describes curriculum materials
centers or collections at over 200 institutions.
Information in this directory is self-reported by the institution
and is monitored by the Association of College and Research Libraries, Education and
Behavioral Science Section, The Curriculum Materials Centers Directory
Revision Ad Hoc Committee. Searchable fields include: type of institution, CMC material budget,
teacher education full-time equivalent enrollment as of fall 2000, and institution FTE enrollment as of fall 2000.
Please contact the Social Sciences Library reference desk for
identification code and password for entry into the directory.
Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
ProQuest's Dissertation and Theses - Full Text contains more than 2 million entries with
information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It is the same
database as Dissertation Abstracts, but with the significant advantage that titles published
since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
If there is no option to download the fulltext of a post-1997
dissertation, this means that the author has refused to grant these rights.
E-STAT for Education
E-STAT is Statistics Canada's dynamic interactive teaching and learning tool available on the
Internet. Using current CANSIM multidimensional tables, and the most recent census data, as well
as historical data, E-STAT lets you bring data to life by presenting them as colourful graphs and
maps. The CANSIM (Canadian Socio-economic Information Management System) provides
authoritative data on labour, manufacturing, investment, international trade; it enables users to
track trends in virtually every aspect of Canadian life.
Ebrary
Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full
text books in a variety of subject areas. Full text
content can be viewed and searched online and printed without
charge after installing the ebrary Reader. You can also bookmark
sections of the book, copy and paste text, and save sections for later
reading if you have a free Ebrary account. Ebrary contains books
from many academic and trade publishers in every subject.
EdResearch Online
Welcome to the EdResearch Online database of 14,314 online education research documents and articles.
These form a subset of the Australian Education Index. 71% of the documents
are linked to freely available full text documents. A further 29% can be purchased online for
AU$22 per article. There is no charge to search the database or access the free full text documents.
You will only incur a charge if you purchase one of the 4,405 articles with copyright protection,
as Yale University does not subscribe to the full database. If you are interested in using an indexed document that requires
purchase and is not available through our in-house collection or Online Journals, consider requesting the material via Yale University Library Interlibrary Loan.
More information on interlibrary loan can be found at http://www.library.yale.edu/ill.
Education
Full Text
Education Full Text, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a bibliographic database
that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from more than 400
English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere.
English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Subject
coverage includes: preschool, elementary, secondary, and higher education; special and
vocational education; comparative and multicultural education; adult and continuing education;
computer technology; teacher education, evaluation, and methods; school administration and
parent-teacher relations; and issues such as government funding and prayer in the schools.
Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words
and describe the content and scope of the source documents. Full-text coverage begins
in January 1996.
Educators Resource Directory
Educators Resource Directory provides access to a compilation of educational resources and
tables and charts of education statistics and rankings. Section I contains contact information for
resources that provide tools for classroom and career management. Section II contains tables
and charts in nine categories such as average teacher salaries, SAT/ACT scores, enrollment,
state regulations, revenues and expenditures, federal programs for education and learning
resources and technology concerning career development decisions, fiscal health and education scores.
ERIC Online (via FirstSearch)
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) Online provides over 800,000
references to thousands of educational topics. It includes journal articles,
books, theses, curruculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines.
Coverage is from 1966 to the present. Updated monthly. ERIC documents can
be found specifically for teachers, administrators, policymakers,
and other practitioners, but generally useful to the broad educational community
and are designed to provide an overview of information on a given topic,
plus references to items providing more detailed information.
G-N
GEM - The Gateway to Educational Materials
"The Gateway to Educational MaterialsSM is a Consortium effort to provide educators with
quick and easy access to thousands of educational resources found on various federal, state, university,
non-profit, and commercial Internet sites. GEM is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
Teachers, parents, administrators can search or browse The GatewaySM and find thousands of high quality
educational materials, including lesson plans, activities, and projects from over 320 of
the 518 GEM Consortium members." -GEM Webpage
GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender
across a broad spectrum of subject areas including business, education,
literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy,
sociology and contemporary culture, and gender and women's studies. Publications
include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters,
regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings,
and government, n-g-o and special reports.
Global Books In Print
Global Books in Print contains information
published in the following books in print sources:
- Books In Print (titles published in the U.S. & Canada)
- British Books In Print (formerly Whitaker's Books in Print)(English-language books published in the U.K., Ireland, and Europe)
- Forthcoming Books
- Books Out of Print
- Large Print Books in Print
- Paperbound Books in Print
- Children's Books in Print
- Bowker's Complete Video Directory
- Words on Cassette
- Australian Books in Print
- Canadian Books in Print (Canadian Telebook Agency files plus monthly updates from Canadian Books in Print published by the U. of Toronto)(English-language titles only)
- New Zealand Books in Print
It also provides access to Bowker's Publishers, Distributors, and Wholesalers of the U.S.
GradSearch
Peterson's GradSearch database contains the entire text of Peterson's Graduate and Professional
Programs database, the most comprehensive database on graduate study available. The database
covers 31,000 graduate academic departments at more than 1,600 degree-granting institutions
as well as information about Colleges and Universities, IT Channel, Adult/Distance Learning
Programs, Training and Executive Education, Private Schools, Summer Opportunities and Study Abroad.
HaPI Health/Psychosocial Instruments
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement
instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding
schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the
health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information
science. HAPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators,
including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals,
client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program
evaluation.
iCONN: Connecticut Digital Library
iCONN, Connecticut Digital Library provides access to a wide selection of information databases
and other electronic resources such as InfoTrac One File, General Reference Center GOLD,
Expanded Academic Index, Business & Company Resource Center, and Health & Wellness Resource
Center, to support the educational, cultural, personal and economic interests of Connecticut citizens.
iCONN Professional Collection
This database provided by iCONN offers full text from over 300 journals of interest to educators.
Subject coverage includes child development, sports, drug and alcohol abuse, education literature,
learning disabilities, school law and much more.
More information on database coverage may be found at http://www.iconn.org/prof_collection.html.
INNODATA: A Databank of Educational Innovation
The focus of the databank is on descriptions of educational innovations at
primary and secondary levels of schooling in the IBE's priority area:
the content of education. Most entries in the databank describe initiatives within the
formal education system, although some innovative nonformal education projects are included,
especially where these attempt to bridge the gap between the formal and nonformal sectors.
A broad definition has been given to the term "educational innovation" within the data selection process,
the emphasis being on initiatives which are new within a specific sub-regional, national,
local or institutional context, even if familiar in other settings.
Insight: Library Digital Collections
The Yale Library is implementing software developed by Luna Imaging, Inc.
for the creation of a suite of image databases, for image management, and presentation.
Several image collections are presently available over the Web using the browser
version of Insight, including the Visual Resources Collection.
A client version of the software is also available for use on the Yale Network.
Users of the Insight client can use its powerful cross-collection searching feature to
search collections totaling over 140,000 images. For more information on the client see
the Luna Insight Software page.
International Archive of Education
Data
The International Archive of Education Data (IAED) is a project sponsored
by the National Center for Education
Statistics, the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data
related to education in the United States and other nations. IAED's mission
is to acquire, process, document-out rates, test scores, job placements, life
histories, life assessments, etc.). The data stored in the Archive are intended
to support a wide variety of comparative and longitudinal research through
the preservation and sharing of data resources. The Archive seeks to serve
the needs of academics, policymakers, and researchers in the field of education.
International Bureau of Education (IBE)
In 1969, the IBE joined UNESCO as an integral, yet autonomous, institution with three main lines of action: organizing the sessions of the International Conference on
Education as an international forum for dialogue on educational policy; collecting, analyzing and disseminating educational documentation and information, in particular
on innovations concerning curricula and teaching methods; and undertaking surveys and studies in the field of comparative education.
While maintaining its original vocation, the IBE, over the last few years, has been concentrating its activities on the adaptation of educational content to the challenges
of the 21st century, focusing on strengthening capacity-building in the area of management of curriculum change. In this framework, its four main functions are now the
following: Observation, Promotion of dialogue on educational policy, Strengthening of capacity building, and Dissemination of information.
KCDL Online
The Kraus Curriculum Development Library Online, or kcdlonline, is a searchable database that
provides curriculum information and indexing on a variety of subjects covered in PreK-12 and
Adult Basic Education. With a growing database of nearly 5,000 curriculum documents, KCDL online
provides a direct link to the curricula and contact information on the agencies that issue the
curricula (5th edition materials). Older materials are indexed in the KCDL index. Additional
database contents include frameworks, and standards from all across the English-speaking world,
lessons and learning activities, educational objectives, educational content, instructional
strategies, and evaluative techniques. The Krauss Curriculum Development Library Online is
updated monthly and can be searched for specific curricula by subject, keywords, forms of
educational content, grades covered, and geographic locale. KCDL enables you to draw upon a wide
selection of developed curricula for use in improving your existing curricula or in creating new
frameworks and standards.
Lexis-Nexis Government Periodicals Index (GPI)
Lexis-Nexis Government Periodicals Index (formerly Government Periodicals
Universe) provides access to bibliographic information on the U.S. Federal
government's most important periodicals. GPI covers articles in approximately 170 current
Federal publications. It includes retrospective coverage through 1988 of over
70 additional Federal publications that have major research, reference, or general
interest value. The index provides detailed access by subject and author.
GPI is updated quarterly; with each update, the service adds approximately
2,500 articles that reflect the enormous diversity of Federal interest.
Lexis-Nexis Statistical
Searches, at the table level, U.S. Federal Government
(1974-present), international intergovernmental (1983-present),
state government and privately published documents (1981-present) that contain
statistics. Default screen searches the "Power Tables" (full text of the most
frequently requested statistics). A second method of retrieval is by searching
the abstracts. You can limit search by subject, title, agency, and author; and/or to a
particular collection, by geography, demography or commodity,and/or by date. Some of the publications
are available full text and you can limit your search to those.
Some of the tables are also available for exporting into a spreadsheet.
The Government Documents and Information Center's collection contain the full
text of most of the publications indexed in Statistical Universe on microfiche.
Multidata Online
MSI is an Arab provider of online-based information services to organizations in such fields as
politics, business, finance, education, health, environment and law. MSI provides services in the
field of information technology, documentation, indexing, data automation and research.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
This website offers information on finding and establishing Electronic Thesis and Dissertation
Programs, as well as recent research topics.
O-S
PAIS
International
PAIS International covers the literature of public
affairs including political, economic and social issues. It contains
references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories,
research reports, conference reports and publications of international
agencies. Publications from more than 60 countries are included.
Materials indexed are in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.
Periodicals Contents Index
PCI Web is an electronic index to the contents
of thousands of periodicals in the humanities
and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Every article is
indexed. PCI Web currently indexes over eleven million journal articles in
3,536 journals. Every year, it adds records for more than one million new
articles. It will grow to encompass over 5,000 journals and 20 million
individual articles. Recently the scope of new journals has been
extended to 1995, and existing journals will be updated in the near future.
Philosopher's Index
Philosopher's Index database contains 213,000 bibliographic citations with author abstracts
covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy with complete coverage of all major
articles from anthologies and books written in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French --
over 480 journals from 38 countries published since 1940. Topics include all major fields of
philosophy, including Aesthetics, Epistemology, Ethics, Logic (including mathematics),
Metaphysics (including philosophy of mind, existentialism, and phenomenology), Political
philosophy (including philosophy of law), Social philosophy, and the Philosophy of Education,
History, Language, Science and Religion.
PolicyFile
PolicyFile indexes research and publication abstracts of public policy think tanks, university
research programs, research organizations and publishers. It covers all public policy issues from
trade with Asia to health care reform, from telecommunications regulation to the European Union,
from terrorism to intelligence reform, from Bosnia to Superfund. It is updated weekly and at the
abstract level, Profile provides users with web links to contributing organization's home page,
electronic mail address, scholar biographies, and full text.
Project Muse
Project Muse provides online access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press's 40+
scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics in a searchable database.
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES provides access to 42 full-text journals in basic, applied, clinical and theoretical
psychology published by the American Psychological Association. These articles are linked to all
Ovid databases (PsycINFO, MEDLINE, CINAHL, etc.) and the journals are searchable - cover-to-cover.
PsycINFO
The PsycINFO ® database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and
related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology,
physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references and
abstracts to over 1300 journals and dissertations in more than 30 languages, and to book
chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular
literature is excluded.
Readers'
Guide Full Text
Readers' Guide Full Text and Readers' Guide Retrospective together
offer comprehensive indexing and abstracting of some 375 of the most
popular general interest periodicals published in the United States and
Canada since 1890, plus the full text of over 120 of those periodicals
from 1994 - present. They cover news, current events, and all subject areas,
including business, fashion, politics, crafts, food, education, sports,
history, and science. The abstracts average 125 words in length. Two types
of abstracts are included. Informative abstracts convey the content,
scope, and complexity of the source article, and are the predominant form
used. Indicative abstracts describe the subject of the source article
and are reserved for how to articles, humorous essays, personal accounts,
and recipes. Full-text coverage begins in January 1994 for most titles.
A more detailed description
is available on WilsonWeb.
RehabData
NARIC, the National Rehabilitation
Information Center for Independence produces this suite of databases and directories including
citations and abstracts to physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities and rehabilitation literature.
Social Science Full Text
Social Science Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles
of at least one column in length from more than 415 English-language periodicals published in the
United States and elsewhere plus the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes a wide
range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals. Subjects
covered include: addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, community health & medical care,
corrections, criminal justice, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies,
gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning &
public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare,
social work, sociology, urban studies.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts features journal citations and abstracts; book, chapter, and association
paper abstracts; and book, film, and software review citations. Entries cover sociological aspects
of twenty-nine broad topics, including anthropology, business, collective behavior, community
development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law
and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social
psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence.
SourceOECD
SourceOECD includes publications - monographs, periodicals, and statistical databases - issued by
the OECD. Arranged in 3 sections: studies by theme, periodicals, and statistics, this resource
contains monographs and serials on topics such as: agriculture & food; education & skills;
emerging economics; employment; energy; enterprise, industry & trade; environment &
sustainable development; finance & investment; general economics & future studies; governance;
international development; nuclear energy; science & information technology; social issues &
migration; statistics sources & methods; taxation; territorial economy; transition economics;
transport and more.
Sport Discus
Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC) was established in 1973 by the Coaching Association of
Canada to serve as a comprehensive reference library and bibliographic database for all aspects
of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. SIRC has bilateral information exchange
agreements with the following countries: Australia, Brazil, Bulgaria, China, Czechoslovakia,
Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland,
United States, Yugoslavia. Organizations representing these countries contribute indexed
references to research materials published in their own countries.
SRM (Social Research Methodology) Database
SRM Database contains references to literature on social and behavioral research methodology, statistical analysis, and computer software.
Over 100 international periodicals, as well as readers, research reports, congress proceedings,
and books from the social sciences are selected, screened 'cover to cover' and indexed with the help of a Thesaurus. A special classification-scheme
was designed and recorded in the Thesaurus of Social Research Methodology, (SRM-Thesaurus). With the help of this Thesaurus relevant publications have been selected
from the diverse social and behavioral sciences. The documentation is limited to the English, French, German and Dutch literature.
Abstracts are written by the SRM researchers for all records where adequate information is available. All references included,
are indexed with the help of the authorized terms (descriptors) of the SRM-Thesaurus.
T-Z
Theses Canada Portal
Through this website you can
access free of charge 46,000 full text electronic Canadian theses
and dissertations covering 1998-2002. You can also search over
220,000 Canadian theses held by the Library and Archives Canada.
United States Department of Education Cross-Site Index
The U.S. Department of Education's Cross-Site Indexing Project is an effort to
create a searchable index of the Department of Education-supported Internet information resources.
Virtual Reference Desk
Virtual Reference Desk (VRD) is a project whose goal
is to create mediated Internet-based information services.
The project is sponsored by the United States Department of Education.
Web of Science
The ISI Citation Databases collectively index more
than 8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover,
providing users with complete bibliographic data, full-length author abstracts,
and cited references from the world's most influential research with online
backfiles access now completely matching the print editions:
- The Science Citation Index Expanded covers over 5,700 journals
- The Social Sciences Citation Index covers over 1,700 journals
- The Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers over 1,120 journals
What Works Clearinghouse
"The What Works Clearinghouse was established by the U.S. Department of
Education’s Institute of Education Sciences to provide educators,
policymakers, and the public with a central, independent, and trusted
source of scientific evidence of what works in education. It is
administered by the Department through a contract to a joint venture of
the American Institutes for Research and the Campbell Collaboration."
As this Clearinghouse is new, topic coverage is in process.
World Education Encyclopedia
This country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories,
legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries. This updated
and expanded edition gives users up-to-date coverage of reorganized educational systems and
high-interest topics such as technological advances.
World of Learning
The World of Learning is the premier source of information on the international scholarly and
academic world. It provides contact names and numbers and brief information for learned
societies, research institutions, museums, libraries and archives, and institutions of higher
education and their affiliated institutes.
WorldCat
WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center's
(OCLC) online "union catalog"; that is, its database of over 50 million
records of books and other materials held in thousands of academic,
public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to
locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items
in specific libraries and research collections. WorldCat provides catalog
records for books, maps, sound recordings, musical scores, films, archives,
and computer files held in research, corporate, and public libraries,
as well as museums, archives and historical societies. All searches may
be easily printed, downloaded or e-mailed directly to you.
YourJournals@Ovid
YourJournals@Ovid is a subset of the larger Journals@Ovid database and is limited to only the
journals to which Yale University subscribes. For a more complete search on your research topic
or of Yale's online resources, please consider using an appropriate database, such as
MEDLINE, or
the Library's electronic journals page.
Return to the Education
Subject Guide