A-C
Academic Search
Academic Search provides full text for over 1,530 journals covering the social sciences,
humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, and education.
Access Science
McGraw-Hill's Online Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library is a database of full-text articles from the
journals and conference proceedings published by the Association for
Computing Machinery. Users may search by keywords or browse the
database by the title of the journal or conference. Contains some
information on artificial intelligence and linguistics.
African Health Anthology
African Health Anthology (AHA) is the premiere collection of bibliographic databases on African
health issues. AHA offers access to a unique collection of sources including many from Africa and
covering all aspects of African health issues.
Ageline-AARP Database
A searchable electronic database containing detailed summaries of publications about older adults and aging,
including books, journal and magazine articles, research reports, and videos.
AgeLine is produced by AARP. Its references come from the gerontology
collection of AARP's Research Information Center, as well as selected articles from 300
magazines and journals. All references include original abstracts which are copyrighted by AARP.
Subject keywords are assigned using the Thesaurus of Aging Terminology, published by AARP. AgeLine is
updated regularly and includes material from 1978 on, with selected coverage of the years 1966-1977.
The database covers English-language literature from many countries.
Australian Education Theses Database
A database of higher degrees theses accepted at Australian universities and colleges.
Biological Abstracts
Biosis, the online version of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts- Reports, Reviews,
Meetings contains literature references from all of the life sciences including: agriculture, cell
biology, nutrition, public health, botany, biochemistry, biophysics, genetics, zoology, psychology.
This is the premier database for coverage of botany research.
Chicano Database
The Chicano Database identifies all types of material on Mexican-American topics and about
Chicanos. Updated quarterly, the Chicano Database covers at least 1967 to the present, with
more than 48,000 records. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the
broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American
immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database,
covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.
CogNet
MIT CogNet is an electronic community for the cognitive and brain sciences. CogNet brings
together current and classic resources in the field and provides services and utilities to enhance
research, collaboration and teaching. Full texts of major references works include The MIT
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Sciences, The New Cognitive Neurosciences, Handbook of
Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience, and the Handbook of Brain Theory and Neural Networks.
Also included is 400 searchable full text books from MIT Press as well as full text of MIT Press
Journals in the field of cognitive and brain sciences. Also includes database access to
bibliographic and some abstract information for books, journals, reference works, conference
proceedings and grey literature in the field. Users from Yale IP addresses are automatically
identified as Yale Guests and have full access to CogNet resources. A user may choose to
register in order to create a Curriculum Vitae, bibliography, and notification settings. In the
CogNet Library, the full texts of all books and MIT journals are available. For journals not affiliated
with MIT, only the abstracts are available for free.
Current Contents
Current Contents provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic
data from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals and books in the
sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Cover-to-cover indexing of journal articles,
book reviews, meeting abstracts, editorials, etc., is provided for more than 8000 international
journals covering nearly 200 disciplines. Complete bibliographic information, including
English-language author abstracts (for approximately 85% of articles and reviews in the science
editions), author keywords, KeyWords Plus ®, and ISSNs are provided. Email alerts for articles
matching saved search strategies are available.
D-F
Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
ProQuest's Dissertation and Theses - Full Text contains more than 2 million entries with
information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It is the same
database as Dissertation Abstracts, but with the significant advantage that titles
published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
If there is no option to download the fulltext of a post-1997 dissertation,
this means that the author has refused to grant these rights.
Ebrary
Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books in a variety of subject areas,
including psychology and education. Full text
content can be viewed and searched online without charge after installing the ebrary Reader. The
ebrarian system charges a fee for the convenience of printing or copying information from titles
within ebrary’s collection. In order to print or copy, you will need to create an account and
deposit a small sum into your ebrary account (in increments as low as $5) using a credit card.
When you print pages or copy text, the charge will be deducted from these funds in your
account. You will always be prompted for confirmation before your account is debited.
ERIC online
ERIC documents are available on microfiche in the Sterling Memorial Library Microtext Center.
G-N
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement
instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding
schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the
health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information
science. HAPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators,
including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals,
client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts contains annotated references to books, articles, and dissertations on the
history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are
covered in America: History and Life).
Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts indexes over
2,000 journals published throughout the world. In addition to key historical journals from virtually
every major country, Historical Abstracts covers hundreds of journals in the social sciences
(including materials related to the history of psychology)
and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine
The History of Science and Technology file describes journal articles, conference proceedings,
books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science and technology and allied
historical fields. The file comprises four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History
of Science (HSS) (1975-Present), the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology
(Technology and Culture) (1987-Present), and the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and
Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Updated annually, HST contains
more than 119,000 records.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
JCR is a tool for journal evaluation, providing production and impact data drawn from over 8,400
scholarly and technical journals worldwide. It presents quantifiable statistical data allowing users
to determine the relative importance of journals within a field.
Lexis-Nexis Statistical
Provides access to U.S. Federal Government, international intergovernmental, state government
and privately publications which contain statistics (comparable to the American Statistics Index,
1974-present, the Index to International Statistics, 1983-present, and Statistical Reference
Index (1981-present)). Since the mid-1970's the Congressional Information Service has indexed
all U.S. Federal government publications which contain statistics. Each entry includes the SUDOC
number and/or microfiche number (most publications housed in the Government Documents and
Information Center), as well as a extensive abstract which provides access down to the table
level.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from
approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation
listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that
appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts LLC.
MEDLINE
MEDLINE ®, produced by the National Library of Medicine, provides extensive coverage of the
world's biomedical journal literature. MEDLINE covers more than 4000 journal titles and is
international in scope. Broad coverage includes basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences
since 1966 including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and
pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE also covers life sciences that are vital to biomedical practitioners,
researchers, and educators, including some aspects of biology, environmental science, marine
biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry. Increased coverage of life
sciences began in 2000.
O-S
Periodicals Content Index
PCI Web is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and
social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed. PCI Web currently indexes
over eleven million journal articles in 3,536 journals. Every year, it adds records for more than one
million new articles. It will grow to encompass over 5,000 journals and 20 million individual articles.
Recently the scope of new journals has been extended to 1995, and existing journals will be
updated in the near future.
PolicyFile
PolicyFile indexes research and publication abstracts of public policy think tanks, university
research programs, research organizations and publishers. It covers all public policy issues from
trade with Asia to health care reform, from telecommunications regulation to the European Union,
from terrorism to intelligence reform, from Bosnia to Superfund. It is updated weekly and at the
abstract level, Profile provides users with web links to contributing organization's home page,
electronic mail address, scholar biographies, and full text.
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES provides access to 42 full-text journals in basic, applied, clinical and theoretical
psychology published by the American Psychological Association. These articles are linked to all
Ovid databases (PsycINFO, MEDLINE, CINAHL, etc.) and the journals are searchable - cover to cover.
PsycINFO
The PsycINFO ® database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and
related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology,
physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references and
abstracts to over 1300 journals and dissertations in more than 30 languages, and to book
chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular
literature is excluded.
PubMed
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE,
PreMEDLINE, HealthSTAR, as well as Publisher-Supplied citations. In addition, for electronically
supplied journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, and include articles unrelated to
medicine or the life sciences, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that
are included in MEDLINE. It is expected that access to additional NLM databases will be added in
the future.
PubMed also provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases included in
NCBI's Entrez retrieval system. These databases contain DNA and protein sequences, 3-D protein
structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated
system.
Reader's Guide Abstracts/Full Text
Readers' Guide Abstracts Full Text is a database containing comprehensive indexing and
abstracting of more than 240 of the most popular general interest periodicals published in the
United States and Canada, plus the full text of over 120 of those periodicals. It covers news,
current events, and all subject areas, including business, fashion, politics, crafts, food,
education, sports, history, and science. The abstracts average 125 words in length. Two types of
abstracts are included. Informative abstracts convey the content, scope, and complexity of the
source article, and are the predominant form used. Indicative abstracts describe the subject of
the source article and are reserved for how to articles, humorous essays, personal accounts, and
recipes. Full-text coverage begins in January 1994 for most titles.
RehabData
NARIC, the National Rehabilitation Information Center
for Independence produces this suite of databases and directories including
citations and abstracts to physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities and rehabilitation literature.
Social Science Full Text
Social Science Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and
abstracts articles of at least one column in length from more than 415
English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere plus the full
text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields
covered in a broad array of social sciences journals. Subjects covered include:
addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, community health & medical care,
corrections, criminal justice, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics,
family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law,
minority studies, planning & public administration, policy sciences, political science,
psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology, urban studies.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts features journal citations and abstracts; book, chapter, and association
paper abstracts; and book, film, and software review citations. Entries cover sociological aspects
of twenty-nine broad topics, including anthropology, business, collective behavior, community
development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law
and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social
psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and
violence.
Sport Discus
Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC) was established in 1973 by the Coaching Association of
Canada to serve as a comprehensive reference library and bibliographic database for all aspects
of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. SIRC has bilateral information exchange
agreements with the following countries: Australia, Brazil, Bulgaria, China, Czechoslovakia,
Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland,
United States, Yugoslavia. Organizations representing these countries contribute indexed
references to research materials published in their own countries.
T-Z
Web of Science
The ISI Citation Databases collectively index more than 8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals
cover-to-cover, providing users with complete bibliographic data, full-length author abstracts,
and cited references from the world's most influential research with online backfiles access now
completely matching the print editions:
- The Science Citation Index Expanded covers over 5,700 journals
- The Social Sciences Citation Index covers over 1,700 journals
- The Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers over 1,120 journals
WorldCat
WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center's (OCLC) online "union catalog"; that is, its
database of over 50 million records of books and other materials held in thousands of academic,
public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of
Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.
WorldCat provides catalog records for books, maps, sound recordings, musical scores, films,
archives, and computer files held in research, corporate, and public libraries, as well as museums,
archives and historical societies. All searches may be easily printed, downloaded or e-mailed
directly to you.
YourJournals@Ovid
YourJournals@Ovid is a subset of the larger Journals@Ovid database and is limited to only the
journals to which Yale University subscribes. For a more complete search on your research topic
or of Yale's online resources, please consider using an appropriate database, such as
MEDLINE, or
the Library's electronic journals page.
Return to the Psychology Subject Guide