D-F
daai (Design and Applied Arts Index)
daai currently contains over 110,000 annotated
references from more than 450 art, design and craft
journals published between 1973-2001, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople,
studios, workshops, firms etc., making the largest database of its kind in the world.
Directory of Curriculum Materials Centers Online
The Directory of Curriculum Materials Centers Online
lists and describes curriculum materials centers or collections at
over 200 institutions. Information in this directory is self-reported
by the institution and is monitored by the Association of College and
Research Libraries, Education and Behavioral Science Section, The Curriculum
Materials Centers Directory Revision Ad Hoc Committee. Searchable fields include:
type of institution, CMC material budget, teacher education full-time equivalent
enrollment as of fall 2000, and institution FTE enrollment as of fall 2000.
DIRLINE: Directory of Health Information
DIRLINE (Directory of Information Resources
Online) is the National Library of Medicine's online
database containing location and descriptive information about a wide variety
of information resources including organizations, research resources,
projects, and databases concerned with health and biomedicine.
Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
ProQuest's Dissertation and Theses - Full Text contains more than 2 million entries with
information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It is the same database
as Dissertation Abstracts, but with the significant advantage that titles published
since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
If there is no option to download the fulltext of a post-1997 dissertation,
this means that the author has refused to grant these rights.
E-STAT for Education (Statistics Canada)
E-STAT is Statistics Canada's dynamic interactive teaching and learning tool
available on the Internet. Using current CANSIM multidimensional tables, and the
most recent census data, as well as historical data, E-STAT lets you bring
data to life by presenting them as colourful graphs and maps. The CANSIM (Canadian Socio-economic Information Management System)provides authoritative
data on labour, manufacturing, investment, international trade;
it enables users to track trends in virtually every aspect of Canadian life.
Ebrary
Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books in a variety of subject
areas. Full text content can be viewed and searched online and
printed without charge after installing the ebrary Reader. You can
also bookmark sections of the book, copy and paste text, and save
sections for later reading if you have a free Ebrary account. Ebrary contains
books from many academic and trade publishers in every subject.
Ebscohost Electronic Journals Service
Journals are available in full text
for those that have a Yale subscription to the print copy.
Access to some Full Text online journals, Tables of Contents and Abstracts with features:
- ARTICLESearch allows you to find articles of interest by
using simple keyword searches or advanced search techniques.
- JOURNALSearch allows you to find journals of interest by searching
on Journal Name, Content Description, ISSN, or Publisher.
- Browse Tables of Contents and Abstracts for the entire catalog of online
journals, or restrict browsing to your online journal subscriptions.
EconLit
EconLit, produced by the American
Economic Association, is an expanded version of the Journal
of Economic Literature. It contains bibliographic references and
some abstracts for journal articles, books, articles in collective volumes
and dissertations. It also contains the bibliographic database Abstracts
of Working Papers in Economics, produced by Cambridge University Press.
Education Full Text
Education Full Text, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is
a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles
of at least one column in length from more than 400 English-language
periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere.
English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later
are also indexed. Subject coverage includes: preschool, elementary,
secondary, and higher education; special and vocational education;
comparative and multicultural education; adult and continuing education;
computer technology; teacher education, evaluation, and methods;
school administration and parent-teacher relations; and issues such as
government funding and prayer in the schools. Abstracting coverage begins
with January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe
the content and scope of the source documents. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.
Educators Resource Directory
Educators Resource Directory provides access to a compilation of educational
resources and tables and charts of education statistics
and rankings. Section I contains contact information for resources that
provide tools for classroom and career management. Section II contains tables
and charts in nine categories such as average teacher salaries, SAT/ACT
scores, enrollment, state regulations, revenues and expenditures, federal
programs for education and learning resources and technology concerning
career development decisions, fiscal health and education scores.
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a unique cross-cultural database.
It contains more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the
cultures of the world. The full-text materials are subject-indexed at the
paragraph-level for precise retrieval of information on all aspects of cultural
and social life. These materials are relevant to the various social
science disciplines as well as the humanities and health sciences.
Encyclopaedia Iranica
The Encyclopaedia Iranica is the most extensive compendium ever conceived on the past and
present culture of the people who speak an Iranian language and their
contribution to the broader history of human civilization. It is the only
precise and reliable reference work on the lands, life, culture and history
of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
This is an online resource updated regularly. The print edition
of this encyclopedia was completed in late 2001 and is a
comprehensive and current encyclopedia for biology topics, although use of
other sources (see a reference librarian or the related guides linked above)
is advised for some of the related fields. In Encyclopedia of Life Sciences,
there are 3000 signed articles written by several thousand scientists.
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social, and Military History
From the Preface: “[This work was designed to be]
a reference of first resort for those seeking information
either on broad areas or specific topics relating to the Civil War in the United States.
More than 1,600 essays describe and explain a myriad of aspects that cover the
coming of the war, its conduct, and its consequences in a political, military,
and social context. In addition to full biographies of major and minor military,
political, diplomatic, and cultural figures, these essays include descriptions of
more than sixty major engagements as well as important skirmishes and their
role in the larger military setting. Broad subjects such as strategy and tactics,
social trends, and technological innovations are also included. Primary documents
are provided in a separate section, maps depict military aspects, and illustrations
furnish both portraiture and vivid scenes from the period. Appendices supply the executive
officers of both the United States and Confederate States, general officers of each army, a glossary of
terms unique to military usage or peculiar to the period, and an extensive bibliography."
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History
No previous attempt to provide a reference overview of the Vietnam
War is as comprehensive as this encyclopedia which treats
all aspects of the war (military, diplomatic, political, and socioeconomic).
ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online
Engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
ERIC Online
The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a
national information system designed to provide users
with ready access to an extensive body of education-related literature.
ERIC encompasses the world’s largest and most frequently searched education
database. It contains more than 1 million abstracts of documents and
journal articles on education research and practice. ERIC documents are
available on microfiche in the Sterling Memorial Library Microtext Center.
Essential Science Indicators
Essential Science Indicators (ESI) enables
researchers to conduct ongoing, quantitative analyses of
research performance and track trends in science. Covering a multidisciplinary
selection of 8,500 journals from around the world, this in-depth analytical
tool offers data for ranking authors, institutions, nations, and journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and
journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. The collection of articles,
editorials, columns, and reviews provide a broad diversity of perspectives
and viewpoints. Free text searching and complete indexing are available
in English and Spanish language. A history file goes as far back as the 1960's.
The general categories of ethnic groups represented in the Ethnic NewsWatch database are:
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Island
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Multi-ethnic
- Native Peoples
Eureka
EUREKA offers easy-to-use online access to a wide array of databases,
including the Research Libraries Group's RLIN bibliographic database of
more than 22 million titles. Use EUREKA to uncover a wealth of resources
in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and
research collections. EUREKA provides catalog records for books, journals, maps,
sound recordings, musical scores, films, archives, and computer files held in
research, corporate, and public libraries, as well as museums, archives and
historical societies. All searches may be easily printed, downloaded or
e-mailed directly to you. Use the REQUEST Button in Eureka to request
items that Yale does not own through Interlibrary Loan.
European Sources Online
European Sources Online (ESO) is an online database which provides
access to information on the institutions and activities
of the European Union, the countries, regions and other international organisations of
Europe, and on the issues of importance to European citizens and stakeholders.
Factiva (formerly Dow Jones Interactive)
Factiva contains nearly 8,000 sources from 118
countries and 22 languages, and 120 continuously updated newswires.
Coverage includes:
- Same-day and archival coverage of The Wall Street Journal,
Washington Post, The Globe and Mail, Financial Times, Handelsblatt, Les Echos,
South China Morning Post, Australian Financial Review, Sydney Morning Herald,
Straits Times, Yomiuri Shimbun, and local newspapers from every corner of the globe.
- Newswires include Dow Jones, Reuters, Associated Press, Asia Pulse, and over 120
other continuously updating industry, press release and local newswires.
- Transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, CNN, NPR and more.
FAOSTAT
FAOSTAT is an online and multilingual database currently containing over one million
time series records covering international statistics in the following areas:
production, trade, food balance sheets, food aid shipments, fertilizers and pesticides,
land area and irrigation, forest products, fishing products, population,
agricultural marketing. Large files may be downloaded for further statistical analysis.
FRANCIS
FRANCIS covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information
in the humanities (63%), social sciences (33%), and economics (4%).
FRANCIS is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis
on current trends in European and world literature. FRANCIS represents a wide range of
materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers,
French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports.
G-N
Gabriel
Gabriel - Gateway to Europe's National Libraries - is the World Wide
Web service for Europe's National Libraries represented in the Conference of
European National Librarians (CENL). There are currently 41 National Libraries
from 39 member states of the Council of Europe participating in CENL and Gabriel.
GaleNet
GaleNet is a collection of reference databases:
Associations Unlimited, Biography and Genealogy Master
Index, Biography Resource Center, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary
Criticism Select, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Health and Wellness
Resource Center and Alternative Health Module, and What Do I Read Next?
GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the
impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas
including business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history,
political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, and gender
and women's studies. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines,
newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets,
conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.
General Science Abstracts
Core coverage of most areas of science and some applied science areas.
Core journals, books, technical reports, and government reports. The use of this
electronic tool will not provide comprehensive coverage. The most recent information
appears with a three month delay after publication of the actual articles
and/or books. Please consult the list of covered journals, books, conference
proceedings, etc. in order to become aware of the scope of this product.
Please feel free to contact a librarian for further clarification or for
identification of other information sources outside the scope of this resource.
GeoRef
GeoRef is the major index covering the geological literature, with citations
and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and books.
Global Books in Print
Global Books in Print contains information
published in the following books in print sources:
- Books In Print (titles published in the U.S. & Canada)
- British Books In Print (formerly Whitaker's Books in Print)
(English-language books published in the U.K., Ireland, and Europe)
- Forthcoming Books
- Books Out of Print
- Large Print Books in Print
- Paperbound Books in Print
- Children's Books in Print
- Bowker's Complete Video Directory
- Words on Cassette
- Australian Books in Print
- Canadian Books in Print (Canadian Telebook Agency files plus monthly updates from
Canadian Books in Print published by the U. of Toronto)(English-language titles only)
- New Zealand Books in Print
Global Financial Data
The Global Financial Database is the most complete collection
of financial and economic data in the world. With more
than 6500 historical and current data series covering over 150 countries, this resource
includes an unparalleled set of long-term total return data on stocks, bonds and bills
from every major market in the world dating back to 1900. These proprietary series, covering
more than a century of information, are only available from Global Financial Data, Inc.
Global Forest Information Service
An Internet gateway to forest information resources from around the world, GFIS users can
locate maps, datasets, web resources, journal articles, books and
other resources relevant to their forest information needs. This access is
through a distributed network of databases. The databases cover the scientific,
technical, and social aspects of forestry. There are 47 information providers
found throughout the world presently linked through the GFIS search system.
GPO Access
GPO Access provides online access to full text congressional and executive
agency documentation, including the Congressional Record, the Federal Register,
congressional bills and resolutions, congressional documents and reports, the General
Accounting Office "blue books", and the Economic Indicators (Joint Economic Committee).
It also provides access to the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
and a connection to the Federal Bulletin Board files.
GradSearch
Peterson's GradSearch database contains the entire text of Peterson's Graduate and
Professional Programs database, the most comprehensive database on graduate study
available. The database covers 31,000 graduate academic departments at more
than 1,600 degree-granting institutions as well as information about
Colleges and Universities, IT Channel, Adult/Distance Learning Programs, Training and
Executive Education, Private Schools, Summer Opportunities and Study Abroad.
Guides to Microforms
Primary Sources in U.S. History comprises three full text
modules---Access to African American Studies,
Access to Presidential Studies, and Access to Women's Studies---and Guides to Microform
Collections. The subject specific modules provide a range of sources,
including autobiographies, manuscripts, government documents,
photographs and images, reference and scholarly articles, and speeches.
HaPI: Health/Psychosocial Instruments
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement
instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures,
coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios,
tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior,
and library and information science. HAPI assists researchers, practitioners,
educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify
measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment,
class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.
Hartford Courant
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events,
schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies,
state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Health Policy Tracking Service
Health Policy Tracking Service (HPTS) is produced by the National Conference on State
Legislatures and provides current information and analysis of state health care policy.
Yale University, courtesy of the Law Library, has access to the following HPTS products:
ISSUE BRIEFS
Issue Briefs bring together key trends and developments on the most
critical state legislative health care topics. To keep you informed, they contain: 50-state
baseline charts, definitions, pros & cons of an issue, and trend & impact analysis.
SNAPSHOTS
Snapshots are a thorough and comprehensive way to "get the big picture"
on trends and unique state actions in a given category over a two week period.
Hispanic American Periodicals
HAPI is the largest index of journal information from and about
Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United
States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of
current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American
arts and letters, HAPI contains complete bibliographic citations to articles,
book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials.
Historic Government Publications from World War II
A digital library project from Southern Methodist University to
catalog and provide online access to a collection of World War II
publications published by the U.S. government in support of the war effort.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts contains annotated references to books, articles, and dissertations on
the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States
and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Published since 1954,
Historical Abstracts indexes over 2,000 journals published throughout the world.
In addition to key historical journals from virtually every major country,
Historical Abstracts covers hundreds of journals in the social sciences
and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
All abstracts are written in English. Article citations carry abstracts of 75-120 words or
annotations of one or two sentences. Historical Abstracts on the Web also includes
in-process English-language article entries (those entries for which abstract,
subject terms, and chronologies are not yet available) prior to their inclusion
in the print and CD-ROM versions. In addition to articles, each year Historical
Abstracts includes approximately 3,000 citations to historical books and
abstracts of dissertations of particular interest for historical research.
Historical Los Angeles Times
The Historical Los Angeles Times (1881-1987) offers full page and article images
with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes
digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Major daily newspaper from Los Angeles. With the nation's largest editorial
department, it offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news.
Historical New York Times
Online access to articles from the New York Times,
currently covering from 1851 to the present.
Historical Newspapers Online
Historical Newspapers Online's index to The Times
(London) is based on Palmer's Index to the Times, which covers the period
from 1790 to 1905. Palmer's Full Text Online covers 1785-1870, providing
access to the full articles referenced in Palmer's Index to The Times.
Historical Washington Post
The Historical Washington Post (1877-1987) offers full page and article images with
searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital
reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Current coverage of national, international, and local news in the Washington
Post is renowned for its political reporting, editorials and columnists.
History Cooperative
The full text of current issues of the American Historical
Review, the Journal of American History, Law and History Review,
William and Mary Quarterly, The History Teacher, Western Historical Quarterly,
and the Booker T. Washington Papers which are designed to provide researchers
with access to thousands of pages comprising the 14-volume printed work.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine
The History of Science and Technology file describes journal articles,
conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of
science and technology and allied historical fields. The file
comprises four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History
of Science (HSS) (1975-Present), the Current Bibliography in the History of
Technology (Technology and Culture) (1987-Present), and the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia
della Scienza, and Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding
of Medicine. Updated annually, HST contains more than 119,000 records.
History Universe: Primary Sources in U.S. History
Primary Sources in U.S. History comprises three full text
modules---Access to African American Studies, Access to Presidential Studies,
and Access to Women's Studies---and Guides to Microform Collections. The subject specific
modules provide a range of sources, including autobiographies, manuscripts, government
documents, photographs and images, reference and scholarly articles, and speeches.
Hoover's
Hoover's, Inc. delivers comprehensive company, industry, and market intelligence that
drives business growth. Our database of 12 million companies, with in-depth
coverage of 25,000 of the world's top business enterprises, is at the core of our
business tools and services that customers find vital to their business operations.
The Yale subscription to Hoover’s is at
the “Pro Tools” level which includes the following features:
- Searchable by company name, industry keyword, ticker and executive name.
- Includes stock quotes, news and financial information
- Companies are browsable by name, location, industry and stock index.
- Business Boneyard includes records of thousands of companies that no longer exist
Humanities Abstracts Full Text
Humanities Abstracts Full Text, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company,
is a bibliographic database that cites articles from more than 350
English-language periodicals, plus the full text of over 95 of those periodicals.
It covers the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, folklore,
general scholarship, history, journalism and communications, language and literature,
literary and political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion
and theology. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly
journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
iCONN: Connecticut Digital Library
iCONN, Connecticut Digital Library provides access to a wide selection of information databases
and other electronic resources such as InfoTrac One File, General Reference Center GOLD,
Expanded Academic Index, Business & Company Resource Center, and Health & Wellness Resource
Center, to support the educational, cultural, personal and economic interests of Connecticut
citizens.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium of Political and Social Research)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR),
at the University of Michigan, is an integral part of the
infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a
vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers
training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Faculty,
students and staff on the Yale network may download data directly from ICPSR.
ICPSR Bibliography of Data-related Literature
This searchable database contains over 20,000 citations of known
published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in
the ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium of Political and Social Research) archive.
The bibliography represents over 40 years of scholarship in the quantitative social
sciences, extending from the inception of ICPSR in 1962 to the present. In most cases,
analyses of numeric data formed the foundation for the literature, although in some cases
the data played a less prominent role in supporting the research. The literature includes
journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working
papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, unpublished manuscripts,
and audiovisual materials. On the search results pages under each citation,
you will find a link to related data in the ICPSR archive. These are
the data collections used by the authors to generate their findings.
IEEE Xplore (IEEE Electronic Library)
Full text access to IEEE and IEE journals, conference proceedings, and IEEE Standards.
Images.MD
Images.MD compiles over 48,000 images from 90 collections,
ranging from allergy to cardiology to neurology to urology, each accompanied by
detailed and informative text contributed by more than 2000 medical experts.
Index Kewensis
This is the electronic edition of Index Kewensis whose print
publication began in 1895. Included in the electronic
Index Kewensis is Authors of Plant Names. This resource is useful for
identifying references to the original, naming, publications for seed-bearing
plants. Current Yale affiliates may request the cd-rom at the Kline
Science Library Circulation Desk and then proceed to Workstation #13.
Index to Legal Periodicals
Index to Legal Periodicals is a bibliographical database that
cites articles from more than 615 legal periodicals.
Coverage, in the online version beginning in 1981, includes law reviews,
bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes,
and government publications published in the United States, Puerto Rico,
Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. Periodicals
are indexed if they regularly publish legal articles of high quality and
permanent reference value. Index to Legal Periodicals covers all areas of
jurisprudence, including recent court decisions, new legislation, and original
scholarship. Articles must be at least five pages or two folio pages,
and case notes, bibliographies, biographies, and notes of legislation
at least two pages or one folio page in order to qualify for inclusion.
INSPEC
INSPEC is the leading English-language abstracting and indexing
service providing source information from the world's
literature on all aspects of physics, astronomy, electronics, engineering and
computing. INSPEC scans papers from approximately 4,200 journals, 1,000
conferences, and other publications, adding over 250,000 records each year.
Internal and External Trade of the EU
COMEXT (Internal and External Trade of the EU) provides data on Intra-EU
(trade between Member States), Extra-EU (trade between Member States
and third countries), Intra+Extra-EU (both), and third countries
trade. Software retrieves data from the trade grouping
based on 7 parameters: periods, reporting countries, partner countries,
products, units of measurement, statistical procedures and flows.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
International Bibliography of Social Sciences,
from the British Library of Political and Economic
Science of the London School of Economics and Political Science, indexes
the information contained in over 2,600 social sciences journals and 6,000
books each year. Coverage includes both core and specialized material from
over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Approximately 70% of the
records are in English, and articles in other languages are displayed with
both the original language title as well as with an English translation.
The comprehensive coverage provided in the database, while based on the core
disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology,
also reflects the increasingly interdisciplinary nature of the social
sciences. About 100,000 citations are added to the database each year.
International Financial Statistics (IFS)
The IFS is a statistical product of the International Monetary Fund
and corresponds to the printed International Financial Statistics
which is located in the Social Science Library and Information Services
Reference Section (HG 3881 I626). IFS contains time series of financial
and economic variables: exchange rates, fund accounts, international liquidity,
international banking, money, interest rates, prices, wages, production, employment,
international transactions, government finance, national accounts and population
are included for most members of the Fund. Consult the printed volume for
definitions of variables. This product is indexed by Lexis-Nexis Statistical.
International Index to Black Periodicals
IIBP indexes articles in 150 international scholarly and popular
Black studies periodicals. It covers humanities-related
disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health,
history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion,
and sociology. The full text of some recent articles are included.
International Index to the Performing Arts
IIPA Full Text draws its current content from more than
200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals,
and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical
profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews
and events. IIPA Full Text covers a broad spectrum of the arts and
entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater,
stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy,
storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. Every IIPA Full
Text record in the current file (1998 forward) contains an abstract.
International Medieval Bibliography
An online bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500) providing
the entire run of the print copy of the IMB from 1968-2000,
with articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings,
essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. The discipline areas to
which the IMB is relevant include Classics, English Language and Literature, History
and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and
Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music,
Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies.
International Political Science Abstracts
The International Political Science Association provided this database that
abstracts political science articles published in scholarly
journals and yearbooks worldwide. Topics include method and theory;
political thinkers and ideas; political and administrative institutions;
political processes (public opinion, attitudes, parties, forces,
groups, and elections); international relations; and national and area studies.
Approximately 95% of the records include abstracts, most in English.
iPOLL
iPOLL is a public opinion question database compiled by the Roper Center for
Public Opinion Research. It contains nearly 400,000 questions from most
of the major United States survey research organizations, including The Gallup
Organization, The Roper Organization, Louis Harris and Associates, the National Opinion
Research Center at the University of Chicago, ABC News, CBS News, NBC News,
the Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, USA Today, The Washington
Post and the Associated Press. For each item retrieved, iPOLL displays
the complete question text and the percentage of the public giving each
response. iPOLL also provides complete study level information, including
the name of the organization(s) that conducted the poll, the name of the
sponsoring organization(s) (when applicable), the dates when the poll was
conducted, the polling method used, and a full description of the sample.
ISI Emerging Markets
ISI Emerging Markets delivers news, company and financial
data direct from more than 25 emerging markets
in Asia, Latin America and Central and Eastern Europe. ISI Emerging
Markets gives emerging market specialists worldwide one-stop Internet
access to mission-critical information straight from the local markets.
KCDL Online
The Kraus Curriculum Development Library Online, or kcdlonline, is a
searchable database that provides curriculum information and
indexing on a variety of subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic
Education. With a growing database of nearly 5,000 curriculum documents,
kcdlonline provides a direct link to the curricula and contact information
on the agencies that issue the curricula (5th edition materials). Older materials are
indexed in the KCDL index. Additional database contents include frameworks, and standards
from all across the English-speaking world, lessons and learning activities, educational
objectives, educational content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques.
The Krauss Curriculum Development Library Online is updated
monthly and can be searched for specific curricula by subject, keywords,
forms of educational content, grades covered, and geographic locale.
Enables you to draw upon a wide selection of developed curricula for use
in improving your existing curricula or in creating new frameworks and standards.
Keesing's Record of World Events
Keesing's Online is the web-based version of Keesing's Record of World Events /
Keesing's Contemporary Archives. It is the authoritative
monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs.
Published continuously since 1931, Keesing's is the standard for thorough,
objective coverage of significant events for every country as well as the
major international organizations. Events that may have taken days or
weeks to unfold are presented in detailed yet concise reports.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
The Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan is based on Japan: An Illustrated
Encyclopedia (1993), and contains almost all 11,000 main-text
entries of that book, many updated. It has numerous hyperlinks,
but does not contain any illustrations, nor the bibliographies of the
earlier 9-volume Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, published in 1983.
It therefore does not completely supersede either of these works.
Left Index
A comprehensive guide to the literature on the left,
with a primary emphasis on political, economic, social and
culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news
and ideas. Topics covered include the labor movement, ecology &
environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art
& aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.
All citations produced since the first issue of
the Left Index (1982) are now included as database records.
Lexis-Nexis Congressional
Lexis-Nexis Congressional is an online legislative and regulatory service.
It provides indexing and abstracting for congressional
hearings, prints, bills, reports and documents. It provides full text access
to congressional bills and resolutions (from 1989), reports and documents,
provides bibliographic information to congressional hearings, and biographical and
voting information. Indexes historical publications, 1789-1969 and unpublished
hearings, 1823-1972. for members of Congress. It also provides full text
access to the Federal Register (from 1980), the Congressional Record (from 1985)
and the National Journal (from 1977). It is especially useful in providing
help screens and guides to the legislative and regulatory process.
Lexis-Nexis Government Periodicals Index (GPI)
Lexis-Nexis Government Periodicals Index (GPI) provides access to bibliographic
information on the U.S. Federal government's most important periodicals.
GPI covers articles in approximately 170 current Federal publications.
It includes retrospective coverage through 1988 of over 70 additional
Federal publications that have major research, reference, or general interest
value. The index provides detailed access by subject and author. GPI is
updated quarterly; with each update, the service adds approximately 2,500 articles
that reflect the enormous diversity of Federal interest.
Lexis-Nexis State Capital
Lexis-Nexis State Capital is an online service providing access to state government
information. It includes legislative information (status of bills,
full text of bills, legislative calendars), state statutes, full text of state
regulations, information about state legislators and their staffs, and news
sources for information on state issues for all 50 states. There are
links to other web sites with useful information about states and a "how do I"
section to find answers to commonly asked legislative research questions.
Lexis-Nexis Statistical
Searches, at the table level, U.S. Federal Government (1974-present),
international intergovernmental (1983-present),
state government and privately published documents (1981-present)
that contain statistics. Default screen searches the "Power Tables" (full
text of the most frequently requested statistics). A second method of
retrieval is by searching the abstracts. You can limit search by subject,
title, agency, and author; and/or to a particular collection, by geography,
demography or commodity, and/or by date. Some of the publications are available
full text and you can limit your search to those. Some of the
tables are also available for exporting into a spreadsheet. The Government
Documents and Information Center's collection contain the full text of most
of the publications indexed in Lexis-Nexis Statistical on microfiche.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
MEDLINE
MEDLINE ®, produced by the National Library of Medicine, provides extensive
coverage of the world's biomedical journal literature.
MEDLINE covers more than 4000 journal titles and is international
in scope. Broad coverage includes basic biomedical research
and the clinical sciences since 1966 including nursing, dentistry,
veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences.
MEDLINE also covers life sciences that are vital to biomedical
practitioners, researchers, and educators, including some aspects of biology,
environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as
biophysics and chemistry. Increased coverage of life sciences began in 2000.
Meteorological and Geophysical Abstracts
Meteorological and Geophysical Abstracts is a major index covering the geological literature, with
citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and books.
Multidata online
MSI is an Arab provider of online-based information services to
organizations in such fields as politics, business, finance,
education, health, environment and law. MSI provides services in the field of
information technology, documentation, indexing, data automation and research.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Database contains summaries of more than 150,000
criminal justice publications, including Federal, state, and
local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles,
and unpublished research. Whenever full-text documents are available
online from NCJRS, the abstract includes a live link to the full report.
National Technical Information Service
The NTIS Database provides full descriptive summaries of more than 2,000,000
titles NTIS has received from government agencies since 1964.
It offers unparalleled bibliographic coverage of U.S. government
and worldwide government-sponsored research in many areas including agriculture,
biotechnology, business, communication, energy, engineering, environment,
health and safety, medicine, research and development, science, space,
technology, and transportation. There are no other sources as complete
as NTIS for referencing past and current federally funded research.
NTIS is the standard in the industry for this type of information.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
Comprehensive, reliable and up-to-date, the Natural Medicines Database
answers your questions about thousands of natural medicines,
including herbs, dietary supplements, sports supplements, minerals, and vitamins. Each
monograph contains data on common and brand names, mechanism of action,
adverse effects, drug interactions, and safety and effectiveness ratings.
netLibrary
netLibrary provides access to two types of fulltext books.
The first group includes titles that the library has
purchased, generally scholarly monographs from university presses or other
academic publishers. The other set is a large group of titles in the public domain
(i.e.- out of copyright). You can search the fulltext of the books, print
selected pages, and copy and paste text directly from the online title.
Newspapers on Microform
Newspapers on microfilm are divided into two files:
U.S. Newspapers and Foreign Newspapers. Both databases also include
oversize hard copies of newspapers (Deltas). Materials are located in the Microform Reading Room
in Sterling Memorial Library and the remote Library Shelving Facility. The
web accessible databases are inventories of the newspaper back files that the Library holds;
they are not catalogs of full bibliographic records. They afford searching by
free text in title and city fields, and by date range of Yale holdings. The U.S.
Newspaper database is also searchable by state, while the Foreign
Newspaper database is also searchable by country. The U.S. Newspaper
database lists over 2,000 titles. The Foreign Newspaper database lists over 4000 titles.
Newspapers: Central and Regional Russian and CIS and Baltic
NLM Gateway
The NLM Gateway is a Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in
multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It allows
users of NLM services to initiate searches from one Web interface, providing
"one-stop searching" for many of NLM's information resources or databases, including
MEDLINE/PubMed and OldMEDLINE (journal citations from 1958 to 1965).
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral
Histories provides a unique and personal view of what
it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1840 and 1950. Composed of
contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews,
and other personal narratives, each unit in the series provides a
rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected
cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants.
The collection presents a broad, detailed, and immediate record of the experience of
immigration, including details describing work in restaurants, meat packing
plants, mines, railroads, and factories as well as immigrant schooling, social
life, domestic life, and community rituals. Users will find varied perspectives on
North America and on the immigrants' countries of origin: life under the Czar and
the various revolutionary governments in Russia; tales of famine and poverty in Ireland;
accounts of anti-Jewish pogroms in Eastern Europe; stories of persecution and fascism;
and detailed descriptions of life in rural communities and towns and cities.
The breadth of the database allows comparison of the perspectives of people from
various cultures as they experience America for the first time. Descriptions of
initial encounters with soda pop, chewing gum, and bananas jostle with reflections on
labor conditions, political groups, and the attitudes of the authorities.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial-1950
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (NAWLD) includes the immediate experiences of
107 women, as revealed in more than 9,000 pages of diaries and letters.
When complete the collection will include approximately 150,000
pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times
to 1950, plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more
than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs,
and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are
all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and
the not so famous. More than 1,500 biographies will enhance the use of the database.
O-S
OldMEDLINE
OldMEDLINE contains citations published in the 1953
through 1965 Cumulated Index Medicus and covers the fields
of medicine, preclinical sciences, and allied health sciences. Subject searching of
this file is available through key words (the original Medical Subject Headings, MeSH,
assigned back in 1960-65) and text phrases. Unlike MEDLINE, this file contains no
abstracts nor MeSH heading (MH) field data from NLM's current controlled vocabulary.
Orbis Library Catalog
Orbis is the principal online public access catalog (OPAC) for Yale University.
Other online catalogs at Yale include MORRIS (the catalog for the Lillian
Goldman Law Library) and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) catalog.
Orbis contains records for over 10 million
items located in 22 libraries on the Yale campus and at the Library
Shelving Facility. (See Libraries & Collections A - Z for a complete list of
Yale libraries and collections.) The catalog provides information about
the University's current holdings as well as library materials that are no longer held.
Original Sources (formerly American Reference Library)
The online Original Sources in their own words contains the full text of over 250 volumes,
including the Public Papers of the Presidents, as well as
1,000 landmark U.S. Supreme Court decisions from 1793 to 1998; 1,100
links to key documents of American History (1000 AD to the present);
all the National Party Platforms for each major party, 1840-1996;
17 classic political and economic writings including Plato's Republic,
Politics by Aristotle, and Adam Smith's The Wealth of Nations; Constitution Analysis
works such as the Federalist Papers, Elliot*s Debates, and Story's Familiar
Exposition of the Constitution; and similarly important works regarding the
U.S. Congress and the Founding Fathers. The Dictionary of American History
(Oxford/Blackwell Reference) has over 3,000 concise, fact-filled
definitions of the most important topics and terms of American history and
political science, including biographical sketches of key men and women,
institutions, movements, events, legislation, and Supreme Court cases. Public editions of
the Woodrow Wilson, Warren G. Harding, and Calvin Coolidge papers have not been published.
Ovid
Ovid Technologies offers a sophisticated and flexible search
interface that allows one to search a variety of databases
in a uniform way. Once familiar with the basic features of the
interface, searching skills can be applied to the many databases
offered through Ovid. Features of this software include: capability
of saving searches, an auto alert service (aka SDI),
ability to limit results to locally owned titles, links to full-text
articles, links to Evidence Based Medicine Reviews, and much more.
Oxford Reference Online
The Core Collection brings together over 100 language and subject dictionaries
and reference works published by Oxford University Press into a
single cross-searchable resource. Containing over 2 million dictionary
definitions, facts, figures, people, places, dates, and quotations, Oxford
Reference Online: The Core Collection is unique in offering integrated,
consistent content from general reference, language, humanities, social
sciences, medical, scientific, and professional one-volume works.
It’s also possible to search each title in the collection individually.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
PAIS International covers the literature of public affairs including
political, economic and social issues. It contains references
to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories,
research reports, conference reports and publications of international
agencies. Publications from more than 60 countries are included. Materials
indexed are in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.
Periodicals Contents Index
PCI Web is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals
in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995.
Every article is indexed. PCI Web currently indexes over eleven million journal
articles in 3,536 journals. Every year, it adds records for more than
one million new articles. It will grow to encompass over 5,000 journals
and 20 million individual articles. Recently the scope of new journals has been
extended to 1995, and existing journals will be updated in the near future.
Perseus Project
This innovative multimedia database contains interactive sources
and studies on Ancient Greece, including primary texts
such as Homer's Iliad and Odyssey, with an English translation by A.T.
Murray; Apollodorus, the Library, with an English translation by Sir James
George Frazer; and Aeschylus, with an English translation by Herbert Wier
Smyth. For visual texts, Perseus has a vast library of over 4,000 vase,
sculpture and coin images from collections such as the Agora Museum and
the Acropolis Museum in Athens; the Antikensammlungen in Munich; the British
Museum in London; and the Arthur S. Dewing Collection in Cambridge, Massachusetts.
There are two versions of the Perseus Project, one on CD-ROM and one on the Web.
The CD-ROM version in the CD-ROM Center in SML is more extensive than the Web version.
Policy Central
National Journal Group's Policy Central includes a number of resources at one site.
It includes National Journal, a leading journal on politics, policy and government; a full text searchable
story archive back to 1977 is available. It also includes AdSpotlight, an online guide
to political and issue ads from across the country, The Hotline, a daily publication
covering newspapers, magazines, web sites, press releases, insider tips,
radio and tv news programs; CongressDaily, twice daily coverage of key players,
behind the scenes deals, and political alliances and strategies; Technology Daily,
a twice daily resource which examines information technology politics and
policy at the state, national and international levels; and the Almanac of
American Politics, a resource covering members of Congress and their political
constituencies. Included also are Poll Track, Markup Reports, and the Daybook.
Policy.com
Policy.com showcases leading research, opinions, and events shaping
public policy on issues including education,
technology and healthcare. It is non-partisan and free to users.
Content providers include think tanks, advocacy groups, associations,
foundations, businesses, universities, the Federal government, foreign governments,
international organizations, and the media. Material is organized into
25 topical issues. These may be searched individually or as a group.
PolicyFile: Public Policy Research and Analysis
PolicyFile indexes research and publication abstracts of
public policy think tanks, university research programs,
research organizations and publishers. It covers all public policy
issues from trade with Asia to health care reform, from telecommunications
regulation to the European Union, from terrorism to intelligence reform,
from Bosnia to Superfund. It is updated weekly and at the abstract level,
Profile provides users with web links to contributing organization's
home page, electronic mail address, scholar biographies, and full text.
Polling the Nations
Polling the Nations, produced by ORS, is a database of polls taken on a
variety of subjects all over the world. The data are gathered
from professional polling organizations, television networks, universities,
newspapers, businesses and associations. Each record in the database
consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Records
are indexed by subject matter, publication year, general and specific
location, and survey method. Other information provided includes: source name
and contact information, sample size, and notes on the sample population.
Pollution and Toxicology Database (POLTOX)
POLTOX is a bibliographic database that covers published material in the field of
pollution and toxicology, including the detrimental effects of toxic
substances and environmental pollution on plants, animals, and humans.
The database comprises data from three different sources: a subset of the
National Library of Medicine's TOXLINE (TOX) database; several Cambridge
Scientific Abstracts (CSA) journals; and a subset of the International
Food Information Service's Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA).
PsycARTICLES (Ovid)
PsycARTICLES provides access to 42 full-text journals in
basic, applied, clinical and theoretical psychology published
by the American Psychological Association. These articles are linked to all Ovid databases
(PsycINFO, MEDLINE, CINAHL, etc.) and the journals are searchable - cover to cover.
PsycINFO
The PsycINFO ® database covers the professional and academic
literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine,
psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology,
linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references
and abstracts to over 1300 journals and dissertations in more than
30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language.
Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular literature is excluded.
PubMed
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily
from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, HealthSTAR, as well as Publisher-Supplied citations.
In addition, for electronically supplied journals that are indexed selectively
for MEDLINE, and include articles unrelated to medicine or the life sciences, PubMed
includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE.
It is expected that access to additional NLM databases will be added in the future.
RAMBI
RAMBI, Index of Articles on Jewish Studies,
is a selective bibliography of articles in the various
fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in
Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles -
in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the
Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish
people and Eretz Israel. The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography
is that the article be based on scientific research, or contain important
information for such research. Since the inception of this bibliographic
project in 1966, the editorial board has striven to include in it all of the
important articles published throughout the world in the field of Judaica.
Therefore, it includes offprints of articles from journals or collections
not on order to the Library. Rambi also lists articles from secondary sources.
In 1985, Rambi began listing articles electronically as one of the databases on the ALEPH
computer network of academic and research libraries in Israel, and in 2000,
Rambi became accessible on the Internet via the WWW. In 2001, Rambi published
its 50th volume and also completed a retrospective conversion project made
possible by a grant from The Lucius N. Littauer Foundation. With the availability of
the entire corpus of Rambi's 50 volumes in each of Rambi's computer databases
(telnet and WWW), publication of the printed volumes of Rambi was discontinued.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Full Text
Readers' Guide Full Text and Readers' Guide Retrospective together offer comprehensive
indexing and abstracting of some 375 of the most popular general interest
periodicals published in the United States and Canada since 1890,
plus the full text of over 120 of those periodicals from 1994 - present.
They cover news, current events, and all subject areas, including business,
fashion, politics, crafts, food, education, sports, history, and science.
The abstracts average 125 words in length. Two types of abstracts are included.
Informative abstracts convey the content, scope, and complexity of the source article,
and are the predominant form used. Indicative abstracts describe the subject of the
source article and are reserved for how to articles, humorous essays, personal
accounts, and recipes. Full-text coverage begins in January 1994 for most titles.
ReferenceUSA
Reference USA is an online database that provides information on over
ten million US businesses. Companies can be searched by name, location,
type of business, business size, or any combination of these features. Typical entries
contain addresses, phone numbers, number of employees, and annual sales.
Includes information on subsidiaries and branches as well as headquarters.
Repère
Références d'articles de périodiques
langue française (1980-présent) dont environ 5% en texte
intégral, et environ 2% sont les adresses d'articles en texte intégral
sur Internet. (References to periodical articles in French (1980-present), 5% of
which are in full text and 2% are addresses of full-text articles on the Internet.)
Reports of the Surgeon General
Reports of the Surgeon General are available
on HSTAT from 1966, you can limit your search to
these publications by checking the Limit your search to a specific
collection and then clicking on the Search for button, on the resulting
screen you can enter your search and select Reports of the Surgeon General.
The publications can also be accessed selecting View by Collection under the
Contents button, and using the blue arrow buttons to navigate. The National
Library of Medicine also maintains a helpful chronological listing of reports.
Reuters Business Insight
Reuters Business Insight (RBI) is the name of a series
of management reports which are produced in association
with Datamonitor, a leading international market research company with a
reputation for independent analysis of market and industrial sectors.
Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History
The RHS Bibliography is a comprehensive guide
to historical writing about the history of Britain, Ireland,
and the British overseas from 55BC to the present including books, book chapters, and
journal articles. It consolidates existing bibliographies and series published by the
Institute of Historical Research and the Royal Historical Society, including Writings
on British History, the Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History, and pre-1901
sources which appeared in the Bibliography of British History series.
Russian Legislation, Kodeks Database of
Russian Military and Security Periodicals
Russian Newspapers (Universal Database of Russian Newspapers)
East View Publications offers convenient and timely access to the latest
news within hours of publication in Moscow or St. Petersburg.
The full-text files of many Russian newspapers are accessible
for online for browsing, searching, and analyzing. The search mechanism enables
complex querying and global searching across all newspapers within the
database, as well as within individual titles and issues. There are daily additions
and new critical titles covering the following official developments:
- Presidential and Executive Branch Decrees
- Constitutional Court Documents
- National Legislation
- Treaties, Negotiations, Pacts and other Documents of the Ministry of
- Foreign Affairs
- Federation Council Documents
Russian Parliamentary Publications
Russian Publications, Online Database
Russian Universal Database of Social Sciences and Humanities