LOCATING AND
RESEARCHING REPRESENTATIONS
OF THE PASSION OF
CHRIST
a. keyword search, for
terms anywhere
k = (CHRIST OR
JESUS) AND (PASSION OR CRUCIFIXION) AND (REPRESENTATION? OR IMAGE?)
[the question mark
? is used as truncation, to search for image, images, etc.]
Study the
results: Are there any other terms you could
incorporate into the search string to broaden the search? Is there any information in the records
(remember to look at the long versions, too) which could lead you to more
material on your topic?
b. subject search, for Library of Congress subject headings
Notice the first title in list of retrieved hits of
your keyword search above:
In the record, under "Subjects (Library of
Congress)," see:
Jesus Christ—Crucifixion—Art
click on this line to see other items with the same
descriptor
Notice the second title in list of retrieved hits of
your keyword search above:
In the record, under "Subjects (Library of
Congress)," see:
Jesus Christ—Passion—Art
click on this line to see
other items with the same descriptor
The subject headings above are made up of an exact
subject heading (Jesus Christ), followed by subdivisions (preceded by a
dash -- ) to make the description more precise. Subject headings can be single terms (Jesus Christ), or modular,
built by combining two or more terms predetermined by the Library of
Congress. Therefore, the subject
headings Jesus Christ—Passion and Jesus Christ—Crucifixion are
also valid descriptors to use for broader searches. See the Library of Congress Subject
Headings (available in the Divinity Library Trowbridge Reading Room) for
other appropriate subdivisions to be used under the heading Jesus Christ.
NOTE: An item can
contain information on your topic without being wholly about your
topic, so the descriptive information in a catalog record might not tell you
precisely that there is information of interest to you in that book. Therefore, consider broader searches
if you need more material. For example,
search K =JESUS CHRIST AND ART AND (ASIA? OR AFRICA?) to locate materials which
may contain Asian or African depictions of the Passion of Christ (e.g. the
serial Image: Christ and Art in Asia).
II. Find secondary material for
supplementary information. Journal
articles are a good source of secondary information. Use periodical indexes, such as the ATLA Religion Databases (available from the Divinity Library Home Page, under
Indexing Tools) for articles and chapters:
To search the ATLA, use
similar strategies as used in Orbis, but ATLA uses its own list of subject
terms, as opposed to the LC subject headings in Orbis, which are referred to as
"Subjects" in the database records.
keyword search: jesus christ passion literature
Notice the title Four
Settings of the Passion, and look at the record to find the subjects Jesus
Christ in Literature and Jesus Christ Passion. Go to advanced search and do subject
searches for the terms Jesus Christ, literature, and passion
to narrow your list of hits.
Other sources for secondary
material:
· Religious and Theological Abstracts on CD ROM: via Divinity workstation: click on
"Start"; choose "Programs", then "Divinity Online
Resources", then "R&TA
· Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Research Workstation
· Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective via Research Workstation
· MLA Bibliography (for literature) via Research Workstation
· Old Testament Abstracts CD ROM: on reserve: CDD0015
· Academic Search (EBSCOhost) via Research Workstation
· WilsonWeb via Research Workstation
NOTE: Bibliographies can be an excellent way to locate both
primary and secondary sources.